We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great experience !!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The first thing you notice upon arrival is the friendliness of the staff.
The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated.
The hotel has a restaurant that is known for the variety of meals, every day they change their menu so that guests have a chance to try different flavors.
It is a safe hotel for its location and the access to shopping centers, public transport, offices is very easy. Always have taxi service available.
Importantly, free shuttle service to and from the airport.
Super recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Mr

Estimate Mr:

With this you greeting from Palma Real Hotel & Casino, hoping you are well.

In advance, we appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor, it is important for us and so feed back the expectations of our guests. For now, we will take into account the comments noted.

We hope to have another time in our facilities, we will be happy to fulfill your requests.

Sincerely,

Carlos Ruiz Ruiz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    144
    85
    22
    20
See reviews for
58
107
40
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The first thing you notice is the friendly staff that greets you from the minute you pull up to the front of the hotel. This is their best asset! That, factored in with very clean and comfortable rooms make it a delight to stay at this hotel. You feel like you're walking into your home. The restaurant was also excellent. The quality and variety of the food was just amazing.

I really liked the fact that it's so close to the big park and you can just go out for a walk without any issues. It's also really close to downtown San Jose, which proves to be helpful in case you want to go take in some of the museums or shops.

Definitely the place to stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfernandez666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mrs Fernandez

First let me thanks your note at TripAvisor, we are so happy to hear the good moments that you spend in our Hotel.

Looking forward to serve in the near future.

Best regards

Carlos Ruiz
GM
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
www.hotelpalmareal.com
#esencial #palmarealHotel"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are planning to visit Costa Rica then the Palma Real and Casino then this is the place to start! From the beautiful rooms to the fine restaurant and finally to the unparalleled professional, courteous, helpful and just great employees throughout this fine hotel, you wont find a more pleasurable experience at any hotel. From the moment you step out of your taxi at the forecourt and bellboy Javier greets you to assist you inside, you will be well taken care of. Excellent security, headed up be Mauricio, will also make you feel very comfortable throughout your stay. Next, the reception manger Christian and his fine staff of both English and Spanish languages will greet you with a refreshing drink and get you to your room. I enjoy the suites available and often eating in their restaurant where I am usually waited on by Mario and he keeps the good coffee flowing. I have stayed there exclusively since December 2010 and have enjoyed over 600 nights of comfort and security within their hotel. The owner is usually there also and he always takes time to stop and say hello and make sure that your stay is going well. I also have visited their casino and had fun putting some local colones in to the slots. Twice I have had the need for medical attention and the staff responded quickly calling in the paramedics who took care of my problem and there was no charge! The staff are always there to help you with directions, transportation, ideas of what to do or where to go whatever you may need. I know that I have mentioned a lot of names of employees there, but believe me it is because they have taken such good care of me during my stays they are all similar to family and I stay in touch with them. Try this hotel and you will be more than satisfied, from beginning to end!

Room Tip: any room is good but pick a second or third floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mss Rhonda

Thanks for you comment at TripAdvisor, At Palma Real Hotel & Casino we are so happy to hear from you. and please be more than welcome any time in your future trips to Costa Rica. I will forward your comments directly to Javier, Cristian, Mario and Mauricio.

Best regards and looking forward to serve you in the near future

Carlos Ruiz
Director
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hi, I had the opportunity to travel to Costa Rica for the first time this month with a group of friends and we stayed in 2 different hotels. I was able to compare both hotels in San Jose and by far Barcelo have the best service ever. Everyone at the hotel was willing to help with a big smile and tried to make the best of our stay.
Cristian Zuniga my contact in reservations worked so many hours to make sure my group was well attended and served.
Food- we as a big group requested a buffet style in a private room and the service food quality was amazing
Rooms- Rooms were clean with high quality beds and complementary breakfast.
Fun- the hotel prepare all the lobby for us to make sure we were happy and had fun
location- Barcelo is located close to everything easy access to must popular places in town and good transportation as well.
For the service i got from Christian and the team i will definetely come back and i will never stay in any other hotel than Barcelo Palma Real!! loved it. Best in town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Sra Luz

Muchas gracias por su nota en TripAdvisor, sus comentarios nos llenan de mucho entusiasmo.
Efectivamente el Hotel esta entrando en un proceso de reformas y se irán dando a lo largo del segundo semestre del 2013.

Esperamos poder atenderle de nuevo en esta su casa para su próxima visita a Costa Rica

Saludos y de nuevo mil gracias

Carlos Ruiz
Director
Palma Real Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is located in Alajuela, near a big park. The neighbourhood is quiet, not much to do around. I went to a congress at the nearby Crowne Plaza, so did not have time to move around.

I stayed here for 6 nights, in the 'Business Floor' and got a spacious, clean room with two queen-size beds, satellite TV, complimentary wi-fi (did not work for two days but, when it did, it was ok), big closet, safe, iron and ironing board, A/C, mini-bar, small table (no desk though), complimentary local newspaper (Spanish only). The view was nothing special but it was a quiet street, which was good to sleep well. The bed and pillows were really comfortable, linen was fresh, perfect for a good night's sleep. There is an alarm clock but I used the wake-up call service. The bathroom is large, with shower and tub. Bathroom ammenities were ok, towels were good, but it would be nice to have more light (putting on make-up can be tricky with such dim light!). There is a hair-dryer, but I would advise bringing your own. The first two nights I got complimentary Hershey kisses, but no more chocolates from the third night onwards!

The buffet breakfast was good, though the breakfast area is rather small so finding a free table might be a bit of a challenge. Waiters are somewhat rude, and if you wish to have tea instead of coffee they can keep you waiting for ages. There is 24-hour room service, which I did not use.

There is a gym but I did not use it.

Front desk staff are nice and ready to help. On my arrival, I got a complimentary fruit juice and a ticket for a free glass of rhum, which I did not use. There is only one lift, but big enough.

I was told the hotel will be refurbished by July.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palasatenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr Palastenea

Muchas gracias por su nota en TripAdvisor, sus comentarios nos llenan de mucho entusiasmo.
Efectivamente el Hotel esta entrando en un proceso de reformas y se irán dando a lo largo del segundo semestre del 2013.

Esperamos poder atenderle de nuevo en esta su casa para su próxima visita a Costa Rica

Saludos y de nuevo mil gracias

Carlos Ruiz
Director
Palma Real Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Initial reception was a bit 'íffy' with a delay of almost two hours before my room became available, other than that reception was always very helpful.
I did not like the bar, as the staff gave me the impression that unless you spoke fluent Spanish you should not have been there!
I had no problems with the rooms other than noise coming from the conference rooms one Saturday night when a wedding was being celebrated... but we were all young once!
Food was good.
The only 'down side' was that it was situated so far from anywhere ... there were no shops you could realistically walk to.

Room Tip: I don't know... only stayed in one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley G, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr

Thank you very much for your note on TripAdvisor, your comments fill us with enthusiasm.
Indeed the Hotel is entering a process of reforms and will give throughout the second half of 2013.

We hope to serve you again in this home for your next visit to Costa Rica

Cheers and again many thanks

Carlos Ruiz
Director
Palma Real Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Notables: Good A/C even if a bit loud. Spacious and spotless rooms with comfortable beds. Elevator to all four floors but sometimes out of service. Complimentary breakfast buffet.
Excellent location and within walking distance to about half a dozen restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Negatives: While the breakfast buffet was plentiful, some of the items (e.g. fried plantains) did not seem to be fresh but recycled from the day before. You could , however, order a freshly prepared omelet.
Another negative would have to be the bathroom. No face cloth (thankfully I brought my own). The lighting in the bathroom is totally inadequate. I checked and discovered one 15-watt bulb on each side of the mirror. Are they trying to save on their electricity bill?
The shower head is huge - at least 7 inches in diameter - but the water flowing through it is only a trickle. I have seen better showers in 2-star hotels.
The room also had a coffee maker and all the necessary items to brew a good cup of coffee. Only regular coffee and no decaf. That was on the first day of my stay. On all subsequent days I had to make a special request to the front desk for more coffee bags.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBaron42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your note with the positive points and with the details that we need to improve in our services. Be sure I will take care of your comments and look each one with the responsable at the restaurant and housekeeping department.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.0 mi away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#19 of 76 in San Jose
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Property: Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Palma Real Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing