We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good close to the city option..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Barbados
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good close to the city option..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

For a reasonable price I think Palma Real wasn't a bad option especially with all that was included for the price. There was a free airport transfer via another company but which was arranged through the hotel. I had a few minutes on the phone when I got there with reception before someone could give me details about the transfer.... never the less it was sorted out in the end.

Check-in process was smooth and very helpful with all the necessary info on breakfast and free wifi. Very spacious room on the second floor. I did have a request for a king bed and despite that, both times we checked in there we got rooms with 2 separate double beds. The hotel itself and rooms all seemed modern and very updated ... Major plus in my books !!

Buffet breakfast was good with adequate choices and seating areas.... hours run the typical 6 - 10 AM. A short walk from the hotel you also have a few other fast food options (Subway, Burger King etc).

The park and stadium are also within a short 5 minute walk along with the bus stop that would take you directly into San Jose in less than 15 minutes for less than $1

One last thing that was very good and helpful.... we went to another part of Costa Rica for a few days, so rather than lugging around our large checked luggage, they were able to store it at the hotel until we came back. That was a real time & money saver !!

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bajan300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review at Trip Advisor. I forward your comment to our staff, Be more than welcome to Barcelo Palma Real in your next trip to San Jose.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    136
    81
    20
    19
See reviews for
53
100
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was supposed to have complimentary transportation to and from the airport. When I arrived at 10:45 PM no one was there for me. After several phone call and promises and about an hour, I finally took a taxi. They did NOT have a room for me, refused to reimburse my taxi ($25 each way)...did find me another hotel but it took another hour. SO it was nearly 1 am before I was able to get settled in for the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciated your comment at TripAdvisor, please let me express our sincerely apologies for this inconveniences, Please contact me directly for your next trip to Costa Rica in order to help you personally in all the details.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for a week on business in a ground floor room - 108. This room is on the roadside in a residential - business area of San Jose. On several nights was woken by local (youths ?) returning with loud music, cars rev'ing and doors banging. Would have asked to move rooms though the hassle of repacking and unpacking wasn't worth it. The bed was large and comfortable with good pillows, the air con was good, the bathroom although perhaps getting a little tired and need of minor repair (towel rail loose, tiles cracked/broken) was very clean and functional. I ate a few times in the restaurant that was generally very quiet in the evenings - food only 'ok' - I had a burger and a club sandwich on the occasions I ate there - chips were cold and recooked, burger undercooked. Pity that the restaurant is where it is in the building as it doesnt get much natural light so is a bit gloomy in the morning. There is a small courtyard off the restaurant though in the morning doesn't seem to get any light. The hotel has a small bar area. The staff in the hotel are all very pleasant and helpful. Laundry service was quick and good quality.
Other than the location of the room I would probably return as the hotel was good value ($75) and served its purpose of being convenient on the edge of San Jose and near to my office. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby that are well worth a visit as the restaurant in the hotel didn't impress.

Room Tip: Avoid roadside rooms - 108 as an example - as you do get a lot of noise from the neighbouring reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comment in TripAdvisor, we really appreciated your note and we hope to serve you in the near future in your business or leisure trip to San Jose, Costa Rica.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife an I stayed here in the third week of December. We came to San Jose for a friends wedding and decided to make a little vacation out of it. The hotel was priced great and looked modern and in good condition. Turns out, it is exactly what it looked like. The rooms are perfectly clean and considering the price, are in excellent condition. The staff is super friendly (Buenas!!) and will provide you with anything you need. Breakfast is not just included, it's also really good and different every day. Hang out at the hotel bar if you have a "spare" evening, you may be surprised whom you meet. We got invited to Mexico by a couple who were also staying at the hotel. It was great.

The hotel is located in walking distance to the park, national stadium and several restaurants, which are mostly good. (review first!) The concierge and cab drivers (the way to get around in San Jose) are nice and very knowledgable - Just book day trips when you get to the hotel, we went on three and they were all great.

The hotel has a small gym in the top floor, the only thing missing is a pool, but you can use the pool from an apartment complex two doors down. If you're a workaholic like me :( you'll be glad to know, that the wifi is reliable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraSteffenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was nice. The breakfast was good. The service was very good. The people at the hotel were very helpful and helped us schedule activities. However, the bathrooms were dirty. There was black stains all over. Someone should inspect the cleaninless of the place. Security at the hotel was good. The hotel location was good to explore San Jose. There was WIFI which was important for our tweens. Maintenance needs improvement. The airconditioning did not work in one of our rooms and they did not fix it or change the room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K00lman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comment after your visit at Barcelo Palma Real in San Jose, Costa Rica, I already forward instructions to the house keeping in order to recheck the details in the bathroom. We will exten a very especial treatment during your next trip to our Hotel.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel a clean and modern hotel, perfectly comfortable, and the rate is decent. A nice thing about the location is its proximity to a large municipal park, good for walking or jogging. It's a long hike to the city center, however, and there are no decent restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The hotel restaurant seems way overpriced. Major gripe: on the second night of our stay, there was a loud party in the function room directly below our room, which kept me up well past my bedtime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Recepción at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment at Tripadvisor it is really important to us, we will recheck the alternative and prices in our restaurants.

Please let me inform you that we have a really good selection of restaurants next door of the Hotel as Italian, Liassses, Chinese and Japanese.

Be sure in your next visit we will try to recommend the best and try that all your expectations will be full it up.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am Doctor RIcks (Dr. Ricks)

This is my first time in Costa RIca and I am impressed!! I read that the people are very laid back and this is VERY TRUE!!! Upon entering the hotel...as a matter of fact PRIOR to getting out of the taxi...everyone was so helpful and nice! Practically everyone spoke English however ALL were very professional. While I was checking in, they brought me a drink totally free!!! That was great!!!

My room was 202 and I love the hard wood floors and super quiet air conditioner!!!

The check in process was quick and painless and the room was very large and well stocked with every amenity you would want including ROPE and Slippers. The Bathroom was stocked with so many toiletries, it was mind blowing. The hotel is located in a quiet area and is silent unless a party is going on at Casa De Espana!

Everything was great and I am happy to be here. For those of you who book a hotel Downtown, I hope you can get some sleep and feel safe...plus it is not appealing to the eyes at all!!!

Dr. Jil Ricks, EdD, Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology/
Adjunct Professor Psychology Lone Star College System

Room Tip: Ensure you book a hotel OUTSIDE of downtown because you won't feel comfortable and it is very sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from all the staff of Barceló Palma Real, thanks for your comment at Tripadvisor and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards and see you soon.



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#22 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
1.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Property: Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Palma Real Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing