We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service but Bathrooms not cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was nice. The breakfast was good. The service was very good. The people at the hotel were very helpful and helped us schedule activities. However, the bathrooms were dirty. There was black stains all over. Someone should inspect the cleaninless of the place. Security at the hotel was good. The hotel location was good to explore San Jose. There was WIFI which was important for our tweens. Maintenance needs improvement. The airconditioning did not work in one of our rooms and they did not fix it or change the room

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K00lman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comment after your visit at Barcelo Palma Real in San Jose, Costa Rica, I already forward instructions to the house keeping in order to recheck the details in the bathroom. We will exten a very especial treatment during your next trip to our Hotel.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 401 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel a clean and modern hotel, perfectly comfortable, and the rate is decent. A nice thing about the location is its proximity to a large municipal park, good for walking or jogging. It's a long hike to the city center, however, and there are no decent restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The hotel restaurant seems way overpriced. Major gripe: on the second night of our stay, there was a loud party in the function room directly below our room, which kept me up well past my bedtime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Recepción at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment at Tripadvisor it is really important to us, we will recheck the alternative and prices in our restaurants.

Please let me inform you that we have a really good selection of restaurants next door of the Hotel as Italian, Liassses, Chinese and Japanese.

Be sure in your next visit we will try to recommend the best and try that all your expectations will be full it up.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am Doctor RIcks (Dr. Ricks)

This is my first time in Costa RIca and I am impressed!! I read that the people are very laid back and this is VERY TRUE!!! Upon entering the hotel...as a matter of fact PRIOR to getting out of the taxi...everyone was so helpful and nice! Practically everyone spoke English however ALL were very professional. While I was checking in, they brought me a drink totally free!!! That was great!!!

My room was 202 and I love the hard wood floors and super quiet air conditioner!!!

The check in process was quick and painless and the room was very large and well stocked with every amenity you would want including ROPE and Slippers. The Bathroom was stocked with so many toiletries, it was mind blowing. The hotel is located in a quiet area and is silent unless a party is going on at Casa De Espana!

Everything was great and I am happy to be here. For those of you who book a hotel Downtown, I hope you can get some sleep and feel safe...plus it is not appealing to the eyes at all!!!

Dr. Jil Ricks, EdD, Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology/
Adjunct Professor Psychology Lone Star College System

Room Tip: Ensure you book a hotel OUTSIDE of downtown because you won't feel comfortable and it is very sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from all the staff of Barceló Palma Real, thanks for your comment at Tripadvisor and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards and see you soon.



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Traveled in October 2012. Picked this hotel because it was near the place we intended to visit and friends said it was a decent stay. When we arrived the staff could not be nicer. Took care of everything I needed, made sure I had everything to be comfortable. Restaurant's food was pretty good. Stayed for two nights; WIFI connection was free and excellent. Cable service was also great though I didn't have time to do much television viewing. Carpeting in the room needs to be replaced and the overall decor wasn't great, but everything was clean and neat. A practical hotel for a pretty good price if you travel using AA vacations to bundle your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsdeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review at Tripadvisor after your visit on last October 2012. I share your comment with all the hotel staff and we are really happy for you comment.

More than welcome any time at you home in San Jose Costa Rica.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived via their free shuttle from airport- took a cheap and fast Sansa flight from Nicoya Pennensula to San Jose. The staff greeted us with cocktails and smiles.We walked to nearby Chinese Restraunt for dinner which was actually great.the next day we left so early we missed the free breakfast, but free airport shuttle was great. friendly staff, clean rooms, great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U_wanadvice_from_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment at Trip Advisor and our team is really happy because full up your expectations during your visit in Costa Rica. You and your family are more than welcome any time to Barceló Palma Real, We hope to serve you in your next vacations.

Best regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed there one night before catching my plane home. They charged me for 2 nights. I spent 6 months and more money that the 100 dollars I was trying to get a credit on!!!! Carpet was stained and dirty. Had dinner in the dinning room. I threw it up with in 30 mintues of eating it! No one spoke English. Forget the taxi to the airport at 6am it does not exists even when you pay for it the night before! What a scam! Next time you are in San Jose Costa Rica stay at the Best Western Closer to the Airport. Not the one down town that is a rat hole complete with rats!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gshillaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for letting us the opportunity to share all your comments with the management team and we are sorry that our Hotel did not fulfill your expectations.

Best Regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a very good selection. The room was ok and clean but a little small. Might be somewhat overpriced. The free airport shuttle and free local calls along with in-room wifi were very much appreciated. Front desk staff arranged a taxi for us the next morning to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaClarita_CAJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director General at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very happy to hear that your stay with us full your expectations. You are more than welcome any time at your new home in San Jose, Costa Rica.

Our team will be pleased to serve you again.

Best Regards,



Carlos Ruiz
Director of Barceló Palma Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $70 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Palma Real Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing