We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
146
163
91
26
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
163
91
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini barcosta ricanational stadiumbig parksabana parkroom facingminutes walkingfree transportationrooms are comfortabledouble bedhotel is locatedrestaurants within walking distancevery nice hotelnice stayfree breakfast isnice roomtaxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 450 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Pros/Likes:
- Nice room with surprisingly one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in
- Bathroom was clean and of decent size
- Safe-deposit box
- In-room coffee maker with great Costa Rican coffee
- Free in-room wi-fi
- Great variety of Spanish and English TV channels
- Got a very good nightly room rate

Cons/Dislikes:
- Limited uncovered parking outside (not a parking lot but on the street)
- No pool
- Did not get hand towels every day
- Room was facing the inside patio where they have dining tables with umbrellas that they decided to rearrange very noisily at 8:00am one morning
- Continental Onepass miles never posted
- Checkout was a mess, including an incorrect higher room rate that was subsequently corrected when I pointed it out

Neutral:
- Hotel itself is medium size with regular decor that is neither trashy nor luxurious
- Hotel staff was nice as expected but no spectacular service
- Breakfast was free but it was just ok
- PCs with internet on the 2nd floor at a charge of $6 p/hour
- Some rooms have old TVs and others have flat-screen TVs (we had two rooms)
- Hotel is in a residential area with two nearby restaurants and nothing else

Miscellaneous:
- Hotel has a casino but I did not go
- Exercise room with cardio and free weights/machine

Impression:
Good for the price

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank MBWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, General Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment last year we changed all the mattresses for a premium model, We have not pool, but the neighboring hotel has an agreement with us and our clients can go and use their pool.

There was a delay with the laundry we apologize for the inconvenience. Please give us the data of your One pass card card to verify your stay and our report. In regards to the rate you had, please provide us more detail on the method you have used to make your reservation.

This year we will change the few that remain, finally We are across the street from La Sabana and 10 minutes from many centers and central offices.

We would like to have you as our customer the next time you might be visiting our country.

Thank you,



Daniel Navas Díaz.
Hotel Barcelo Palma Real
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was my 3rd time over the years at Palma Real but the first time I have written a review. I have really been pleased with this hotel and have recommended to friends as well. The location is great - only 20 minutes or so from the Int'l airport and a short 10 minute drive to Pavas, where Nature Air flies out of. It is on the North side of large Sabana Park, which is nice place to enjoy some peace in the hectic city. Also, there are a variety of eateries within a few minutes walk as well as a grocery store 5 minutes walking to the East. A huge plus is the excellent restaurant next door, L'Olivo, authentic Italian food.

The service at Palma Real was very good, especially the friendly bellhop. I had a corner room, #402, which was well sized with nice wood floors. A tv has a good selection of channels in English as well as other languages. Mini-bar, safe, hair-dryer, coffee maker, as well as a bathrobe, which is very much appreciated. They have a couple of computers on the 3rd floor which are free to use. Breakfast was included and had a wide variety of pastries, breads, eggs, etc. I booked using their website and got a discount for a 30-day advance booking, a very reasonable rate of $77.

I have been very satisfied with my stays at this hotel and will book again next time I am in San Jose. A very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Barcelo Palma Real was perfect for a quick stay near the National Stadium. Location was the main reason for my choice, and it turned out to be in a safe, attractive neighborhood. The park is a block away and there are plenty of restaurants and shops in walking distance. It is a short five to 10 minute walk from the hotel to the stadium where we were headed for a football match. The room at the Barcelo Palma Real was small but comfortable and well equipped, complete with table and chairs, mini-bar, and a solid selection of cable stations on the flat-screen TV. The staff was very helpful in providing me with some first aid materials and directing us around town. The attached casino had some games going on which was nice, but not a place we spent a lot of time. A little pricey, but comfortable, safe, and convenient, I would recommend the Barcelo Palma Real for business travelers and folks heading to the La Sabana Park or National Stadium.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprdan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, General Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

The location of our hotel, facilitates the movement of customers to your place of work, addition to the nearby air to exercise and rest, we did share your good comments and thank you for having included in this page.

Many Thanks,



Daniel Navas Díaz.
Hotel Barcelo Palma Real
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel, where we stayed one night at the beginning of our trip and where we made a second reservation at the end of our trip, has terrible service!

We made an reservation in the morning for the same night and they confirmed it on the phone, they said they had enough vacancy. When we came they said the hotel was full. It was dark and in the chaotic city of San Jose we had to find another hotel on a weekend. There was no help and the staff was extremely rude.

Don't go here!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nubia Romero made our stay wonderful, she is an excellent employee and should be rewarded for her kindness and services

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, General Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Nubia is one of the best employees we have, when we receive notices from customers mentioning how our service is and how our employees help in order to have a good staying, every month we make an activity in wich all we know in wich direction we are going and what do we want for the future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Navas Díaz.
Hotel Barcelo Palma Real
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews