We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Safe, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Safe, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is not your average Sleep Inn. This was one of the nicest Sleep Inn's I have ever stayed. They have a casino on site, as well as a nice restaurant with piano music. Good luck in the casino. Not very much winning going on in there. No pool. It is downtown San Jose, so as is everything else downtown, there are large gates and fences around the entire property with security. It does make you feel secure as downtown can be a little crazy at night.

Staff was all VERY helpful and nice. Their on site sports bar was closed our entire stay, but you could order wine over from the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast buffet was pretty good each morning.

We ate in the restaurant twice. It was very good. Not cheap, but not out of line for a nicer restaurant.

We tried our hand in the casino. Yeah, got wiped out very quickly on anything we played.

We used their concierge for a tour and car rental. The rental was a little on the high end price wise, but at least the car was delivered and all was hassle free. The tour was reasonable as it was a private tour of waterfalls, just for the two of us.

Rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.
I

Room Tip: No real good views from any of the rooms. If you get a taxi, make sure the driver knows some English...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunsandHosesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    134
    37
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
102
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good for the first night when you arrive. Location is very good. Standard 3 star hotel with clean but very standard rooms. Nothing special or beautiful, but ok. Can be noisy. Wifi only works in lobby, but only after some time. Feels safe. Receptionists and person who oversees breakfast is very attentive and nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonelyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

stayed here twice,both times i enjoyed my stay. have already booked a third stay.Free pick up and return to the airport and a really nice breakfast included every day.Clean rooms,friendly staff,secure parking,walking distance to shopping,museums,casino and good restaurant on site. free Wifi

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a1airboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clean place and great personnel w great brakfast. Close to all downtown museums and very secure w a casino on site. Alejandro the waiter very helpful and adrian in reception too. Always go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean, nice rooms with a great breakfast. Staff is nice. 3 internet stations. Easy walking distance to the parks, museums, shopping and downtown. Small and secure Casino on site. Secured area to park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

i just got back from coats rica and staid 2 days in this hotel
the location is central , the rooms are nice and clean , free wi -fi in the loby .
the food is good
all around a very nice hotel
the only downfall is the noisy air condition

Room Tip: i was in room 314 it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiri_hirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sleep Inn hotel on arrival and departure from San Jose and had a quite bad experience. Rooms are standard and clean, but on the second day we did not have running water at all and could not even take a shower before leaving for a long trip. When we asked the reception for some sort of compensation they just said "sorry, the manager is not here there is nothing we can do". We are not talking of lack of hot water, but complete shortage of water. The breakfast is very poor, luckily the waiter was very nice and kind. We asked reception a recommendation of restaurant for dinner and he suggested us to eat at the hotel since according to him there was not much else walking distance and my friend and I were quite tired. I strongly recommend not to eat there, the food was bad and the ambience even worse (in fact the restaurant is in a casino and due to the type of guests and area my friend and I - two girls - even felt uncomfortable sitting there ). I am not sure about alternatives options for San Jose but I would definitely explore them

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing