We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriend not allowed in because she was wearing shorts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Girlfriend not allowed in because she was wearing shorts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stay at this hotel before it is average hotel.Good things maids are greating at keep your room clean.Front desk can speak English.Bad thing if your on street side you will hear the bus and motorcycles roaring buy all night.I have a local girl friend.The manager Freedy would not let her in because she was wearing shorts.If like to wear shorts in a tropical climate do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, our appologies because any inconvenience we may cause, this policy is in order to keep the best environment at the hotel to receive families, honeymooners and seniors as we use to do, but to avoid this kind of situations you can make your reservations for a double room and register your girlfriend as a guest, this way the front desk won´t give you any problem.

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you next time.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío M.
Marketing and Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    136
    39
    18
    9
See reviews for
42
107
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice - once upon arriving in Costa Rica and again on our way out of town. Both times we found the rooms to be very neat and serviceable. The staff was very helpful, especially the gentleman who waited on us during breakfast. In fact, during our second stay, I ignorantly put a piece of bread into the toaster that was too large (I had neglected to read the helpful sign posted above that said "Toast only"); a lot of black smoke began to issue from the device and then there were flames! The gentleman was nothing but professional as he turned the machine off and waited for the fire to subside so he could dislodge the blackened crumb. He even brought me new food and was very kind throughout the rest of breakfast, even though I was very ashamed! Also, the breakfast is pretty good and it features gallo pinto, fresh fruit, and good coffee which makes me a fan.

The location of this hotel is within walking distance of a lot of things! I only wish it didn't get dark so early and we could have seen more. We were encouraged to not walk around a lot at night, so I can say for sure how safe or unsafe this area may be, but it didn't seem to be too 'rough'. We got some snacks at the Am/Pm store down the street and had a hotel picnic one night. I also bought my coffee (for gifts) there which is MUCH cheaper than in tourist shops. This hotel has a casino attached with a restaurant, though we weren't compelled to spend too much money there. On our last night there, we noticed a lot of activity involving older gentleman and young women in fancy clothes checking into rooms at the Sleep Inn....it didn't ruffle our feathers (who are we to judge what goes on in another country?), but some people may want know...

Overall, I would stay there again because the staff was so nice and everything was very clean and just fine. They have wi-fi, hot showers, and good breakfast. I think it was A-Ok!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyoung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, its good to know you like our hotel and our service, our staff will be always ready to offer the best service, Alejandro from the breakfast staff will know than you appreciate his work.

About the area, it is really safe, as almost all the world you must be carefull at nigth, not wearing expensive devices or jewels in order to avoid problems, but you can walk all around with no fear, the city is safe and also the area.

Hope to see you soon at the hotel, thank you and have a nice day.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío M.
Marketing and Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is Americanized. It is clean, safe and the rooms were very large. In order to enter the hotel, there is a gate with an attendant 24/7. The rooms include breakfast.
the breakfast was included in the charge of the room and included fruit. juices, rice and pinto beans which are served with all meals.
There were pastries, eggs and waffles. The lobby is small but nice. There is always someone at the front desk.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter123477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr.

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you like our hotel, we hope to see you next time you visit Costa Rica.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing & Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I tarpon fish in Costa Rica twice each year, and upon arrival, I have to lay over in SJ for one night, and I always stay at the Sleep Inn. No real pluses, just a clean, quiet, reasonable place to stay, and it feels quite safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RVNJarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is nice to know than our efforts to offer a clean and nice hotel for our customers are well received, thank you for your preference and hope to see you every year.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero.
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

American chain, newer, american quality 3.5 so there 4.5? I have stayed there 10? times past few years. One of the few, the few that is quiet in SJ. Many SJ hotels are plagued by street noise starting at dawn. Old construction, most not originally hotels, too close to the street, This one is solid construction with thick windows on a huge gated property set off the street except for the north side. Great free BK, free computers downstairs. Wifi in your room but bring your wifi cable--they will rent you one of theirs for $7, about the only bad thing I can say about the place. Very modern bathrooms, nice big towels, coffee makers, iron/boards, free digital safe. Free secure gated parking. Great location, centro biz district. CAb it to alot of good restaurants for $2--and at night cab it--SJ centro at night can be iffy and cabs are cheap and who wants to walk anyway. Negotiate with the cabbie before hand. Show him a red one ($1000 colones bill which equalls $2, he'll take it if not wait for the next guy. don't let the door man get you acab--you'll have a hard time getting the guy to take $2 in that situation. Just walk out the gates. A million cabs in SJ. I usually can get booked for about $80 . Free shuttle from the airport and back, back trip limited times. Bring their tel # and conf #. If they aren't at the airport to get you, call, they will tell you to take a cab and they'll pay. One time I forgot my computer charger and checked out. Called them, housekeeping had it, the mgr put it in a box and put in on the bus to the beach town I was in. Nice touch. Avoid the north side rooms and the south side corner rooms--you will be too close to the street. Best rooms are third floor center facing south. Love this place. You can spend alot more at a few other American chains and they maybe a little better, fancier, but why do it--this place is just about pefect.

Room Tip: Third floor facing south in the center of the hotel, not on the corner, and not any on the north sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr.

Thank you for your kindly comments, we are proud to be over the average chain hotels, this is the reason because our hotel has 4 prizes as the Best Quality Assurance Review for Latin America and the Caribbean.

I am happy to tell you than now the internet cable rent is free, and we are offering a 12 megas Wi/Fi connection for free.

As you mentioned, the hotel is a modern building, and has a renovation last January in order to keep being a good looking hotel, with excellent services.

Thank you for your time, it is nice to have good comments to motivate our people.

Best regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

good option if you are looking to be in the center of everything in san jose, i asked for a room away from elevator and they gave me exactly the nearest to it.
beds and room was fine, shuttle for the airport super! breadfast including srambled eggs and local gallo pinto, gym, and lively nightlife outside, when in the room i diidnt hear any noise at all.
people at front desk try to be kind but somehow failed. after all its a good option for my next visit

Room Tip: i was close to the elevator and i didnt hear any noize, ask for a room on the 3 floor whit a view, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I apologies for this inconvenient you had. Next time you will have the room what you want far away from the elevator. I really hope to see you soon at the Sleep Inn Hotel.
You will see you will not have any inconvenient.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

In the past seven years, I have stayed at the hotel about 25 times. Every visit has been for 12 to 18 days.

I have been totally satisfied with the service and hospitality provided to me. Most importantly, the management team,
Front desk people, cleaning ladies, maintenance men and security guards have been very friendly and professional. I look
Forward each visit to seeing everyone.

The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport, and they offer free transportation to and from the airport. This is a great benefit.
You will be in a very convenient location to tour the city of San Jose or venture out to other tourist destinations.

I think the hotel is the perfect size. It is modern, clean, quiet, and very safe. It has first class security. There is a restaurant, casino, sports bar, and gym located on the hotel property. Also, there is a nice dining area to eat your free breakfast buffet. It has cable TV and a mini-refrigerator in each room. There is access to the internet from three different computers near the lobby area.

I would highly recommend the Downtown Sleep Inn to anyone visiting the city of San Jose or needs a location to travel Costa Rica.

Florida Resident

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Drake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest
We make the best effort to satisfy all the guest in our hotel. The hotel is improving every single days the custumer service. We really appreaciate all your good comments. If you have eny request, please let us now immediately. I really hope and want to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#14 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing