We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rude Manager and poor Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude Manager and poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hotel Sleep inn in San Jose has a location with street beggers all around. The rooms were O.K. but very dust and smells of mold, my wife had a asthma attack becuse of that, and could not sleep all night. In the morning their were no cups for coffee, in fact we had to wait for several minutes to get them.
The cups were different shapes and chipped. Over all Poor quality breakfast with poor service.
The manager and his staff were rude and and not helpful at all. One of our friend came to visit us, and he was taking us for coffee, he was asked to remove his car from the parking lot. During this discussion the manager was very rude. We had booked four rooms and I told him that you are in service industry and you should talk to customers politely and I will write a review in trip advisor, he told me do what you need to do.The only good thing about the hotel was availabilty of internet facilities.
I would not recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
I am really sorry for yor experience you had at the hotel. We have some policy for the parking side. I ask to the receptionist and he explain everything about this situation. For the breakfast is one of the things that guest enjoy a lot. I invite you to come again. The customer service is improving a lot. The hotel was remodeled; so there is no dust any more. Everything is clean. I really hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    143
    41
    18
    9
See reviews for
42
113
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel Sleep Inn in San Jose has a good location, the rooms are ok, standarized to the US type of hotel, however, the service is not good. The people at the reception dont seem to want to help the guest, they are very unflexible and have no good way of letting you know the policies of the hotels. We send our friends to the hotel because we thought it was a good centric place to stay in San Jose, but at the end of the trip they were very rude when we ask to park our car in the parking lot to visit our friends that where staying at the hotel, we were going to have a drink there before they left. Probably it is the policy of the whole hotel, but even the manager was not helpfull and was actually rude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sr.

Thank you for your comments, I being investigating about your experience, our apologies because this situation but there is a reason because we can´t offer our parking to people who are not staying at the Sleep Inn, we hope to serve you again, if you need to be visit by someone who are not a hotel customer, please ask at the front desk and fill the document we ask for, and we can keep your friends car for a few hours without problem.

Regards,

Alejandro Saborío Montero
Marketing and Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Paseo Las Damas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located in the heart of San Jose's old town. Hotel is gated so is secure for you and your vehicle. Breakfast was reasonably good. Clean, comfortable rooms. There is a restaurant in a separate building on the same grounds - dinner was good and fair price. Handy location if you arrive late in the day from the airport, as we did.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

On a tour of Costa Rica our tour company booked us to stay at the sleep inn. Nice hotel but in a scuzzy area. The room was average but clean. We ate at the restaraunt next door in the casino which was very good however we had a window seat which had beggars playing music which made it uncomfortable until the waitress lowered the blinds. Also noticed many prostitutes on nearby streets. The hotel had a good sized free breakfast buffet although we never ate there. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again for hotel itself but may consider different cleaner area of town. Although if you want to be in the heart of San Jose this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGolamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet,safe,secure and a clean place to stay. Located in down town San Jose.Nice rooms,Very friendly staff. A great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit.Location it great with its own casino and restaurant.the food and service is very good.internet included ,front desk will book any side trips you want,will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1airboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
313 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first and last night of our tour of Costa Rica- both times we found the rooms very good, and also the breakfast. The location in downtown allows to actually to take a walk around San Jose's center. The was also good internet connection (also the hotel's computers with a printer- we used fo print our boarding pass)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, very helpful and courteous staff. The restaurant has really good food and superior service. Wine was over priced, but I hear that is common in Costa Rica. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our weeklong trip. Front desk gladly made arrangements for a taxi to the airport for us at 4:30am. Although the location is 25-30 min from airport I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when we return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kaartistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y San Jose | Costado Oeste del Parque Morazán, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing