We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch pricing”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked thru hotels.com for one price at check in was same price but when I went to check out they charged me more and would not honor orignal price. full details of issue can be found at http://angrydolphin.us/SleepInn.htm , choice hotel would not respond to my inquiry requests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiRod_PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear guest,

My name is Alejandro Saborío and I am the Marketing and Sales Manager, I am really interest in your comments, its really strange because the only difference in the price could be the 13% of goverment taxes, so please let me know about the difference than our front desk staff charged to you during the check out, I´ll reimburse the difference, this must be a misunderstood, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    163
    49
    19
    10
See reviews for
48
129
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stay here all the time. I bring groups all the time to this hotel. Unfortunately, this past stay was and continues to be a disaster. I was charged for a "no show" reservation that was cancelled with a valid cancellation number. The hotel plays the "no comprende" attitude when you call them. I even had my Colombia office contact them in Spanish and nobody ever got back to us. Absolutely, NO customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your comments are of concern to us, please send to me the cancellation numbers you have and a copy of your invoice in order to refund your money, I assure you a refund in case of a cancellation with 24 hours or more prior to arrival, we appreciate your kindly attention and please receive our apologies if we did something wrong, please contact me to gerenciamercadeo@sleepinnsanjose.com, I appreciate your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here on our first night of our honeymoon, it was more of a stopover as we didn’t arrive until very late and were collected very early the next day (most people staying here were in the same situation). The hotel lobby is quite impressive with comfy seating next to reception, the staff are very friendly and helpful on reception. The rooms are ok, comfortable and clean – a bit like airport hotel rooms. Our toilet broke and we couldn’t flush it, I’m sure they would have fixed it but it was so late and we had been travelling a very long time and didn’t want to repack our stuff and change rooms. The breakfast wasn’t very good, poor selection of bread with jams, yogurt with some fruit. It’s fine as a place to just sleep whilst waiting to be transferred somewhere else but I wouldn’t recommend it for anything longer than a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadsterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on the last leg of an eight day road trip. This Sleep Inn is not like the Sleep Inns in the US. It is more upscale and the plaque at the door has 4 stars which might be stretching it by about a half star. The property is one of the newest hotels in San Jose with decent rooms. The breakfast is quite adequate and the staff friendly. The one thing that detracted from the experience was the very poor internet connectivity. The only wifi in the hotel is in the lobby. The connectivity in the rooms is via their in-house wired network and the bandwidth is so bad it is almost unusable. We got better internet service in a backpackers hostel in the mountains. That said the location of the hotel is an excellent spot from which to explore the city center with its culture and many museums which are all within a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the casino side. The other side of the hotel is quite close to a major street wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The only thing I have to add that is not in the other reviews is that while Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, every room seems to have a functional Ethernet jack under the desk. $7.00 per day is ridiculous rent for a $3.00 cable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed two nights. Cheaper & better location than Holiday Inn. Had good beds and ALL the standard American hotel amenities, except limited wi-fi. Complete American breakfast. But separate Magnolia restaurant had poor food and slow service. Avoid the smoke-filled casino.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDBAlbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least six times when in Costa Rica. It is clear now that this American Brand hotel does not want the business of the traveler indulging in the "Pura Vida" of Costa Rica. The hotel is now charging an unreasonable fee to bring a "guest" to your room. This trip, me and my buddy gladly checked out after one night and move to a guest friendly hotel, costing the Sleep Inn over $800 in room reservations for their $35 per guest fee. Your hotel is next to the most famous night spot in Costa Rica. You have no problem running a casino which is another legal activity. However, this "guest fee" is a reason that tourist wanting to stay near the night life find another hotel.

Yes, it is clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, conforms to American standards, but guys it will cost you an arm and leg to have any fun here. Stay elsewhere. The place still can not get free hotel wide wireless internet either.

Room Tip: If you love horn honking get a room with a odd number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank airdronepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMCR, Gerente at Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We hope you are well, its good to know that you like our hotel, thanks God we have an excellent product in the heart of the city, as you mentioned we have a $35 charge to take visitors to the rooms, this is a policy of the hotel in order to offer a safety place to all our guests, and nice enviroment for all our visitors, everybody are welcome to stay at our hotel, so we hope you change your mind about the cost, we are sure than our rates are excellent for an excellent product we offer, thank you for your kindly attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 85 in San Jose
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#16 of 85 in San Jose
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas

Property: Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Address: Avenida 3 entre calles 9 y 11 | Costado Este del Parque Morazan, San Jose 1655 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sleep Inn San Jose Down town is conveniently located in the heart of the city, only fifteen kilometers from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. It is only a short distance from tourist attractions like the Teatro Nacional, Museo de Jade, Museo de Oro, parks that are part of our national heritage, and many others.Our guests can start the day with a complimentary full American buffet breakfast, from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
San Jose Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn San Jose Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Costa Rica
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing