We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Pangea
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Even thought the location is very central and the common area and restaurant is quite nice (rooftop bar, food was ok), I cant recommend this place. The dorm rooms are basic, smelly, loud, broken plugs, the pool is dirty, the downstairs common room is filthy, and above everything the staff is very unfriendly and unwelcoming. if you want a to stay at a decent hostel in san jose, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: I heard hostel Van Gogh was nice, you should check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neele987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    88
    113
    100
    131
See reviews for
9
122
130
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is alright, but we didn't sleep well because of all the noise. However, the rooms are clean and there are hot showers. They also have a lot of computers to use. But a WARNING: Don't count on the shuttle! We emailed them a day before arriving to confirm and tell them we needed a shuttle to the airport. They said it was no problem and they'd arrange the shuttle for us when we arrived. However, when we arrived they told us the shuttle was full. When I asked them why they hadn't booked us on it when we told them we wanted one, they simply said that it hadn't been full then. No sense of responsibility. We were really frustrated, but in the end it worked out because it just so happens that the public bus that goes directly to the airport is a 15 minute walk and is dirt cheap! Overall, an OK experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel is good for young people that want to have fun! they have a pool table, pool and a bar. The area of the hostel is not very safe so its recommended to always take a cab. If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep then this hostel is not the place for you..
Also if you want to party outside the hostel you can go to "la calle de la amargura" which is good on week ends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldConquistador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

$35 for a dull double room which was more like a prison cell, also had to share bathroom. We were really disappointed with the bar. It looks really cool but the wifi didn't work, really hard to get a bartender's attention and the drinks were expensive. Don't even bother with the food, we had a really long wait and then didn't get what we ordered. Both meals were overpriced and were pretty bad. Smokers beware. They have huge open air rooftop area but would not let me smoke there. Every time I wanted a cigarette I had to find my way down through this maze like hostel to the front door which they locked behind me leaving me smoking on a pretty dodgy street. I was really angry leaving here after paying so much for so little, worst hostel so far after 3 months travelling.
Ps. Their airport shuttle is a complete ripoff. You can get there by bus for about a dollar.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The majority of rooms do not have windows to outside, rather to the common hallways where you hear noises everywhere, and are all in ear-shot of the obnoxiously loud bar. You want a shower? Good luck getting water flow for more than 1 minute before it completely cuts out (we were here unfortunately for 6 nights... They had no refund policy... so only pay night to night or they will screw you over). The staff at the front counter and travel centre were friendly, but the night bar staff were rude. Drinks and food were overpriced. We had to change rooms one night, and did not get to check in until 4:00 pm, despite having to be out at 11 am, and regular check in being at 2 pm. They charge you for every last thing. Paid $9.00 for a small/medium load of laundry, and it wasn't even folded. The movie theatre projector had broken down too so that was off the table. Try somewhere else. Oh and the beds were the very worst I've experienced thus far in 5 weeks in Central America.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window to outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms are small but fairly clean and showers were reliably hot and bathrooms and communal areas were also clean. There are computers in the bar area but they rarely all worked and the wifi didn't work either (I was there on two separate occasions - not my choice - and it didn't work either time). We'd booked our second visit by telephone and on arrival they had messed it up. They tried to tell us that they only accept bookings in person or online so it was our fault, however they had a reservation in our name which they'd just ballsed up so that doesn't really make any sense.

Maybe if I'd been in the market for meeting people I'd have liked the busy bar area, but I was with a big tour group and really just wanted something hassle free with working wifi - I didn't get it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in this hostel three nights and we wouldn´t recommend anyone to stay there unless you don´t care about money. The staff at the front desk, tour desk or at the bar is neither helpful nor friendly and the prices are just a ripoff. A beer in their bar is $3 (in their Happy Hour between 9-11pm "only" $2,50), laundry is $9, and their airport shuttle bus is only cheap when you are travelling at least with two people otherwise it is as expensive as taken a taxi. I wanted to stay there after Check Out as I had a night bus that evening. Normally it is never a problem but this hostel wanted to make me pay for it and then you are only allowed to stay in their facilities not in the room (from 2-6pm its $5 and then it is getting even more when you want to stay longer). However it was clean and the security was good and the bar with the rooftop could be a cool place to meet other backpackers if it just wouldn´t be so expensive...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelleKamelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#41 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 86 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 69 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#18 of 69 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Property: Hostel Pangea
Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing