We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Pangea to your Saves list
Hostel Pangea
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The majority of rooms do not have windows to outside, rather to the common hallways where you hear noises everywhere, and are all in ear-shot of the obnoxiously loud bar. You want a shower? Good luck getting water flow for more than 1 minute before it completely cuts out (we were here unfortunately for 6 nights... They had no refund policy... so only pay night to night or they will screw you over). The staff at the front counter and travel centre were friendly, but the night bar staff were rude. Drinks and food were overpriced. We had to change rooms one night, and did not get to check in until 4:00 pm, despite having to be out at 11 am, and regular check in being at 2 pm. They charge you for every last thing. Paid $9.00 for a small/medium load of laundry, and it wasn't even folded. The movie theatre projector had broken down too so that was off the table. Try somewhere else. Oh and the beds were the very worst I've experienced thus far in 5 weeks in Central America.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window to outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    88
    113
    100
    130
See reviews for
9
122
129
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms are small but fairly clean and showers were reliably hot and bathrooms and communal areas were also clean. There are computers in the bar area but they rarely all worked and the wifi didn't work either (I was there on two separate occasions - not my choice - and it didn't work either time). We'd booked our second visit by telephone and on arrival they had messed it up. They tried to tell us that they only accept bookings in person or online so it was our fault, however they had a reservation in our name which they'd just ballsed up so that doesn't really make any sense.

Maybe if I'd been in the market for meeting people I'd have liked the busy bar area, but I was with a big tour group and really just wanted something hassle free with working wifi - I didn't get it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in this hostel three nights and we wouldn´t recommend anyone to stay there unless you don´t care about money. The staff at the front desk, tour desk or at the bar is neither helpful nor friendly and the prices are just a ripoff. A beer in their bar is $3 (in their Happy Hour between 9-11pm "only" $2,50), laundry is $9, and their airport shuttle bus is only cheap when you are travelling at least with two people otherwise it is as expensive as taken a taxi. I wanted to stay there after Check Out as I had a night bus that evening. Normally it is never a problem but this hostel wanted to make me pay for it and then you are only allowed to stay in their facilities not in the room (from 2-6pm its $5 and then it is getting even more when you want to stay longer). However it was clean and the security was good and the bar with the rooftop could be a cool place to meet other backpackers if it just wouldn´t be so expensive...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelleKamelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just one big money machine. 9$ loundry, 3$ beer, expensive food (10$ decent burger) and if you have a bus or a flight the day you check out, you have to pay extra 5$ after 2pm just to hang out in the commen area. Even more if you have to stay after 6pm. very unfriendly staff exept if you want to pay for something. not even the party hostel i hoped for, the bar is very nice and cool, but people thinks its too expensive to get more than a beer ot two.
If you are a backpacker on a budget. Dont go to this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaare2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's a cool place to meet those who are just stopping by for a night but I definitely wouldn't recommend staying here if you can avoid it. The rooms are so tiny, barely have anything in them and really are for those who don't need much. They don't maintain this place very well..except for the upstairs bar area. The computers, food and lounge are nice but that's about it. It's also safe and close to the shopping and food. But I'm sure there are nicer hostels out there. We had a drip outside our room that literally went all night..we were so excited to leave!

Room Tip: Any way to upgrade wold help, rooms are crappy.especially a standard one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you want access to a clean, modern bar and restaurant with decent looking food and drinks at typical USA prices AND NOTHING ELSE then you´ll be happy. Otherwise, avoid this place.

My experience with hostels is that they are catering for the budget crowd and do as much as possible to make you stay affordable. This place is the opposite. The double private rooms are the San Jose standard of $35 but expect to pay extra for towels (yes, towels), don´t expect a kitchen (I asked a guy about a kitchen and he scoffed at me, explaining that they have a restaurant as if I had asked an impertinent question, the microwave is only for staff use, and you are not allowed to bring outside food or drink into the restaurant-bar-computer area, which is the only real social space in the hostel when its raining (which is often during the half of the year). The staff are impersonal, barely friendly, and are constantly trying to sell guests services. The rooms are cell-like with nothing but a bed and waste basket, and have extremely loud doors. So, expect to get woken up any time your neighbors come or go. If you want a quiet night far from the bar (this is a PARTY hostel) then ask for a bottom floor room, especially rooms 47-49. Note that WIFI is only available in bar-restaurant and by the front desk, not in the rooms. The place is generally clean.

Sure, I´m not into the party travel scene, so this was not a good fit. But the lack of a kitchen and a friendly, helpful staff violated my basic standards for a good hostel experience.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Booked a couple nights here as a place to go on the start of a 5 month Central America trip. I knew nothing about backpacking or hostels, so this was my first step into that world. The hostel feels big and very impersonal. The staff is always tucked away behind desks in dark rooms. This place might be a good locale for meeting other travelers as there are lots who pass through here, however. The neighborhood isn't that great, but is a relatively easy walk to the central part of town where the big Mercado Central is located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 86 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 69 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#18 of 69 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Property: Hostel Pangea
Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing