We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, clean, but thin walled small rooms mean NOISEY!”
Review of Hostel Pangea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Pangea
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is an OK place to stay for your first or last night in San Jose - who needs to stay longer there anyway? It has a good roof top bar and cafe with reasonable prices and friendly staff. But the rooms are small and crammed together. This means that with all the comings and goings of guests, either late arrivals or early flights, you don't get much sleep.
However the place is clean, staff helpful, secure and the small pool a nice place to relax and make new friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 544 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

we booked this hostel before starting our trip to CR, and we chose it because of its shuttle service. but other than that, we were in for a surprise. the beds are worn out, it's quite loud, allthough clean the rooms are a bit shabby and stuffy (and that for that price!) - not fit to standard. some of the staff was quiet friendly, some couldn't have cared less. we chose to stay in alajuela upon our departure. can't say we recommend that location very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Really nice cheap place to stay in san jose. they have a pool, a really good bar and restaurant with great food. the rooms are nice, I stayed in a10 bed dorm, only issue with the room, no plugs in there. Not in the best neighborhood but very secure gate with security guard. whenever I stay in san jose I will stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

very nice hotel, nice roof with bar ,restaurant ,pool, tv, computers hammocks, very very clean rooms little bit tiny but very nice.the food is good and the people friendly, hot shower no ac no fan but you don t need there it 's quite cold!
very nice place !!
the place you must be when you have a small budget but want a clean room with comfortable bed!(because most of time in san josé the beds are no good or it s not clean or you have to put more than 60 $
here the rooms are 40$ (not every rooms but you have differents prices)
enjoy your trip in costa rica
romain et lea from france

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romain00782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we only booked it because of their "airport shuttle service"- only to find out afterwards that a normal cab would have been cheaper... on top the hostel cheated on the agreed price as once arrived at their place they wanted $10 more than agreed because it was after 8pm- which they knew all along...

the room was a dump, without a single window! and nothing in it besides a bed, not even hooks for a jacket...

the only good thing is their roof terrasse with a nice view over the city, but that's not worth going there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In january, I spend few days in Pangea.
Staff are so unfriendly, and so rude...First, few of us came 5 hours after our friends, who checked us in and taked room keys for us.
When we arrived to hostel, as we were alredy checked in, we tried to go to rooms, when some guy started to yell at as. We needed 15min to calm him down, just to tell him that we are already checked in, and then he allowed us to go.
2. hostel is like a prison, so staff act as a prison guards.
3. smoking is not allowed , y must go to the street, that is not problem for me, but, to kick girls to smoke on the street so they look like...
Btw. in their info pamflet, it is writen that smoking area is on terrace bar. We went there, smoking, and some guy started to yell. After I brought pamflet from reception, he told us that their own pamflet is not updated with new rules.
4. They dont have blankets in room, nor on the reception, so I had to take my jacket and pants on and sleep in it.
5. Their internet router have fixed number of IP adresses, so if hostel is full, u must have luck to conect. I tried to explain this to receptionist, but he told me that european devices maybe have problem with american router !!!
6. Drinks are too expensive.
Happy hour is a joke. Prices are 15-20% cheaper. From a 6-7 drinks on happy hour, only 4 were available.
Happy hour in hostel Pangea is ,as we called it, for same as usual price, but with a chance of smile from bartender.
7. No power outlets in room, so you must go to the bar to charge devices.
8. Except metal beds, with old ripped scarfs, nothing else in room to hang clothes, no desk... nothing.
9. Too loud music, even in 7am.
Worst place I ever been to.
like they want for us just to leave the money, and to leave.

Room Tip: Never go there. Im sure there are plenty of better places in San Jose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettoyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Travelling south and central america with 2 mates we arrived at hostel pangea to be greeted by an arrogant, rude reception staff. For the 4 nights we were there the staff continued to be rude and unfriendly in every way. The entire hostel is covered in signs saying how friendly and polite and apparently "good looking" the staff are, yet when we wanted a drink from the bar, or advice on san jose and what to do we were treated as if we were idiots by staff, constantly spoken to as if they were better than us, and given many rude looks and short blunt answers to our questions. It soon became obvious that this hostel is one huge money stealing scam. They will take your money wherever they can, they even charge you extra for fries or salad with your meals, thats a first in my life. There are no lockers in your rooms, check out is at 11, and every day the staff will come and open your door at 1045 to make sure you have checked out otherwise you will be charged for another night. If you have a big night be prepared to be woken up at 1045-11 by the staff opening your door, checking your room and then slamming the door as loud as possible with no regard for anyone who mite be asleep still. DO NOT FALL FOR THE SHUTTLE BUS, THIS IS A SCAM, IT DOES NOT PICK YOU UP FROM THE AIRPORT AND YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR MISSING IT EVEN THOUGH IT IS NOT THERE. They attenpt to play this off by saying "well look we will help you out and charge you $6 per person instead of $11 because you missed it", but it is not there so i urge any travellers firstly dont stay here but if you have to, get a taxi dont order the shuttle. They have signs in the hostel saying taxis will tell you the hostel is full and make fake calls to friends pretending to be managers to make you believe its full. This is a scam also however how should you know that when the signs are inside the hostel, you would have to go there in order to see this sign, it makes no sense and reflects the intelligence of the rude and obnoxious staff that work at Hostel Pangea. The most expensive place we ate or drank whilst in San Jose was Hostel Pangea. Happy hour is pathetic, a beer is usually $3 and happy hour is just 2 for $5, save 50c a beer thats not a happy hour and they are still $3 for 1 during happy hour. The pool is gross and full of crap. It is easy to see how people would be fooled by pictures but please be aware the hostel does not look like any of its pictures. The beds are average and hard, and clearly children size not fit for an adult.

I chose 1 out of 5 in my rankings for this hostel but I would choose 0 if it was an option.

Reception is by far the worst ive ever experienced, they will call girls to the front of a line of waiting guests purely because they want to flirt and are not discreet about this in any way. Girls if your in to roided up arrogant jerks then by all means the reception staff are your type of guys. They will still try to steal your money though.

The best day of our trip to Costa Rica was the day we left. Try book your flights near or before check out time otherwise you are out in the "tv room" aka holding cell to wait to leave, and they will only mind your bags for maximum 2 hours.

If the bar staff dont like you they hold grudges, doing things such as pouring half shots, changing the tv channel you are clearly watching and then acting as if they cant change the channel when the remotes are clearly sitting infront of them. This is a prime example of how the insult your intelligence and this they are superior to travellers. So watch them when theu pour your drinks, and i certainly would not trust the food or let them make me a drink without watching them.

I dont know what standards other countries expect but to any fellow Aistralians out there i urge you not to stay here as you will be treated as if your not worthy of travelling to Costa Rica.

I waited 2 weeks before i wrote this review so as to try and not be bias by anger.

At the end of the day all I want to get out there is a message to say please, do not stau here, I dont believe any human being should be treated the way these people treat you and when travelling there is nothing worse than losing lots of money to an unworthy cause.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#20 of 78 in San Jose
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#16 of 78 in San Jose
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#18 of 79 in San Jose
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 120 in San Jose Metro
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 79 in San Jose
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pangea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pangea

Address: Barrio Amon Ave 7 st. 3-3 bis, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 79 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: $10 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Pangea 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Pangea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pangea Hotel San Jose
Hostel Pangea Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing