We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economical place to stay in a nice part of San Jose...”
Review of Mi Casa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mi Casa Hostel
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I have stayed at Mi Casa a couple of times now, and you just can't beat the price, cleanliness and friendly service. It is the perfect place to stay if you are on a budget and prefer to spend your money on activities/ adventures instead of a luxe hotel room.
The staff are courteous, the business is obviously organized... the owners have clearly thought of 'the little things' and overall it appears that they care about your comfort and experience.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in a double room with a private bathroom, it was fairly quiet and a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrijolesLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a very homey hostel really close to a large, beautiful park (La Sabana, I think). Small kitchen, but it´s got a great yard in the middle where you can lounge in the sun or just rest in the shade. Stores for buying food are within walking distance, and there´s a great little living room area for chilling out. A good alternative if you want a peaceful stay in a nice, safe neighborhood.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
Thank Magin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Nice facility, great service, good breakfast.... I'll come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I've stayed here several times over the last couple of years and had a great experience each and every time. Now that the whole place has been remodeled, it's even better. Whether you're staying in San Jose for one day or an extended stay, this is a great option. You're bound to meet good people and I can't say enough good things about the staff. *I also stayed at their other location in Guanacaste. These guys are doing it right!

Room Tip: Call early. This place fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Mi Casa hostel is a very good place to be, friendly staff, very clean and good location!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturovn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

it is a good place, clean, quiet but the beds in the new rooms are falling apart, we stayed there 2 different times in may, the first room we got the bed was very close to break down, i had to get a tool to fix it, the sink didnt work either, the second time we got unfortunatelly the same room, same conditions after 3 weeks, bed had to be fixed again and sink still wasnt working, it seems to be a nice place but they should work on mantainence a bit as prices are not very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanartunduaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was one of our favorite hostels in Costa Rica. It is a great place to stay if you absolutely "have" to stay in San Jose because maybe your flight got in late at night like ours did. Only 15 minutes from the airport. Staff is very friendly, rooms are spotless clean and prices are amazing. You even get a great pancake breakfast! We took over a dormitory room with our 6 people and paid about $43 bucks/night. Highly recommend this place if you need a cheap, clean and safe place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troysellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 78 in San Jose
523 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 84 in San Jose
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#8 of 84 in San Jose
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#4 of 84 in San Jose
221 reviews
3 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 84 in San Jose
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Boutique Hostel
Capital Boutique Hostel
#7 of 84 in San Jose
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Hostel

Address: Sabana Norte | esquina oeste del ICE Sabana 175 metros norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: $36 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mi Casa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mi Casa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Hostal Hotel San Jose
Mi Casa Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing