We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel like at home!!”
Review of Mi Casa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mi Casa Hostel
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Mi Casa hostel is a very good place to be, friendly staff, very clean and good location!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturovn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

it is a good place, clean, quiet but the beds in the new rooms are falling apart, we stayed there 2 different times in may, the first room we got the bed was very close to break down, i had to get a tool to fix it, the sink didnt work either, the second time we got unfortunatelly the same room, same conditions after 3 weeks, bed had to be fixed again and sink still wasnt working, it seems to be a nice place but they should work on mantainence a bit as prices are not very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanartunduaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was one of our favorite hostels in Costa Rica. It is a great place to stay if you absolutely "have" to stay in San Jose because maybe your flight got in late at night like ours did. Only 15 minutes from the airport. Staff is very friendly, rooms are spotless clean and prices are amazing. You even get a great pancake breakfast! We took over a dormitory room with our 6 people and paid about $43 bucks/night. Highly recommend this place if you need a cheap, clean and safe place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troysellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Great place to start!!! Really felt like home and the staff was very helpful. Clean rooms, nice back yard, safe location and near from what i needed. For sure i'll come back, thanks Roberto!!!!:)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I came to visit Costa Rica and decided to stay at Mi Casa Hostel because of its location near buses and the local area I was told was safe, however it rains alot in San Jose Costa Rica. I came in the dorm room after being out and there was water all over the floor from as roof leak was not very pleasant and happy to see water all over the floor near by bed. The communal kitchen is big, however the cookware is very old and could be replaced. I was unable to much the TV one night because the staff at the front desk was playing loud music and didnt seem to care. The other nice thing was a free little cook yourself egg and bread breakfast, although the morning I was leaving at 6am and ask if I could have breakfast and was told we dont put it out until 7am. Could have been a little better

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Rooms
Thank jmdavis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

the sheets were threadbare & not very clean & when I went to bed to sleep there was the sound of rats or mice running around in the roofspace above my room- not good!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

great hostel, very clean and friendly, definately will return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomintroll1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.1 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 82 in San Jose
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#8 of 82 in San Jose
49 reviews
3 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 82 in San Jose
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#32 of 82 in San Jose
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Ridgway Hostel
Casa Ridgway Hostel
#20 of 82 in San Jose
49 reviews
1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Casa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Hostel

Address: Sabana Norte | esquina oeste del ICE Sabana 175 metros norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: $37 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mi Casa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Hostal Hotel San Jose
Mi Casa Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing