We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilo Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
3
11
11
6
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
11
11
6
19
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

i have been going there for a long time, in 10 years i have stayed 14 times, i went to other hostels, but i keep coming back to tranquilo, its friendly, clean and safe, free internet and breakfast, and very close to everything, and very afordable. also the people are very nice..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was in Costa Rica for four months on two seperate trips during 2010 and 2011 and went to Tranquilo Backpackers every time I was in San Jose and had nothing but good experiences on my eight or so stays there. It was cheap, had free internet, free calls to anywhere in the world (phone was linked to Skype), free breakfast, free coffee and tea all day, and clean bathrooms and showers. The music, incense and multiple hammocks added very nicely to the already amazing atmosphere and very much tranquilo vibe. San Jose is not the safest city in the world, but the part of it that Tranquilo is in was definitely one of the safer parts, though I would still advise not going out alone at night. There are lockers in the private rooms and one per bed in the dorms, and I would definitely suggest you bring a pad lock. Drinks sold at the front desk were reasonably priced, and there was a small market place a short walk away that sold a full liter of either of the local beers for around three USD and a pizza place also a short walk away that sold giant slice of pizza for a little over one USD that even someone from NYC would admit being pretty good. If you are used to five star resorts, this place may not be perfect for you, but this is the perfect place for everyone else. I would strongly advise anyone visiting San Jose stay there to see it for themselves, and write their own reviews online.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hostel seemed really nice at first good location and all that but that was until I woke up at 4am in agony from bed bugs! Went on here and noticed all the reports of bed bugs ranging from as long back as last year so it's pretty disgraceful they haven't even tried to do anything about it!!

I have bites all over and now in going to have to wash all my stuff just to make sure I don't bring them with me so stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have arrived in tranquilo hostel by chance
because lonely planet has accidentally removed it from the 2011 guide
on the bus to santa teresa a few people proposed me to go with them there
i was 22, most of people there were about as me

the hostel has a strong character, little room and hammock outside were people stay in the evening
in the summer 2011 part of the hostel was in restoration
i apreciated the free internet point a lot

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have been there in nov '11 and in feb '12 and can only recommend it!
Of course, not everything is perfect. The breakfast for example is ok, but not really good. I don't want to complain becuase actucally I think it's nice that they offer breakfast at all, but this pancake just tastes like nothing. The dormitories are ok, but quite small for 8 persons. The water in the shower has no pressure and sometimes changes from hot to cold even if you don't move the buttons. But at least hot water is free, and that's unusual. The rooms could maybe be a bit cleaner, but it's a hostel and no luxury hotel, so what do you expect?
What I think was positive, were the receptionists. They were very nice and helpful and could answer all my questions to the city, bus terminals etc. Also, this hostel is situated quite well: Very near the main street, but not directly. You have to take a taxi to get there from most of the bus terminals, but since there are a lot of different terminals in San José, this would always be the case. You just can't be near all of them. Coffee, tea and Internet is free all day long, and you have your own locker in your room (bring your own lock!).
For this price, it offers a lot! I already paid the same for much less! I am going to go there every time I need to spend the night in San José!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews