We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had been traveling for seven months and that was the biggest hostel we have been to, COUNTLESS people. 24 hour reception is very helpful. Very nice garden with swimming pool. Big enough facilities for all these people...

Free wifi, nice restaurant.

Unfortunately we were in a really stinky 8 person dorm, obviously because of the people, can't really blame it on the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aciverson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

Across the street from the Backpackers Hostel, is a hidden gem for a slightly more upscale and quiet accommodation called the Costa Rica Guesthouse, owned by the same company. This old mansion that has been converted to a small hotel with spacious rooms and baths. Don't be fooled by the exterior appearance -- It has been refurbished simply to provide a quiet, zen-like quality. Staff was friendly and helpful - spoke English.
Choose a room to the back side for less street noise. Within walking distance of museums and parks in East San Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Pros:
1. 24-hour receptionist was there to help us even though we arrived late and left early morning
2. there was a security guard on duty during the night
3. free internet, great courtyard with swimming pool and tables
4. no one stole our stuff
5. hot shower

Cons:
1. room was smaller than a prison cell with windows that open to the hallway
2. bed was as comfortable as a sack of green potatoes
3. extremely noisy throughout the night
4. dirty bathroom
5. we didn't stick around but didn't look like the best neighborhood
6. fan in the room did not work and I got electrocuted when I tried to plug it into another outlet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ficklefreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We arrived in Costa Rica after a long flight from the Uk and were pleased with the room - it was large, airy and clean. We stayed in the guesthouse as it was more private but with access to the backpackers amenities (swimming pool, breakfast, hammocks etc). Our only complaint was the bed - the base was basically a few planks of wood, which were not nailed down, so as soon as we lay down a couple of them fell through and the bed creaked badly. We were too tired to ask for a change of room so perhaps they would have fixed it if we`d asked. Fine for a basic stopover in San Jose though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed at Costa Rica Backpackers for a few days before I left for Jaco and after I got back from Jaco a few nights before heading to Panama City, Panama. This place was great! There is a pool, free use of the internet ready computers and there is free wireless. There is a restaurant on location with plenty of Imperial Cerveza in stock! Since I am not picky, the food was fine with me. This place also has movie nights in the restaurant. There is a community area with flat screen TV. There is also a community kitchen. I left 2 PB&J sandwiches in there before my 20+ hour bus ride to Panama City 2 years ago. If they are still in there, anyone is more than welcomed to have 'em. The rooms were very basic. The first room stayed in had a bunk bed, which was cool for I have not stayed in a bunk bed since I was a child. The second room I stayed in had a twin sized bed in it. This place is roughly a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main area of San Jose (the cobble stone street) with all the shops. I walked to everywhere instead of cabbing it.
I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again if I ever return to San Jose again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherwin_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed at the guest house for two nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. The guest house is comfortable and clean. The airport shuttle service was fairly priced ($20 each way for 1-4 people), easy to spot, and on time. They offered good tours that were on time. The rooms and shared bathrooms were clean, the staff friendly, and the clientele respectable. We had full access to CR Backpackers directly across the street which had a relaxed atmosphere with a bar and game room, nice pool, hammocks, and a convenient, cheap, and good casual restaurant. The overall vibe was youthful but quiet and laid back. Not a party hostel. There were some middle-aged guests who seemed to be feeling as much at home as we were.

The only negative thing was, although the guesthouse offered a $2 breakfast, it was never available because they didn't have food. I think there was a small window each morning when you'd be lucky to get the $2 breakfast. One morning were were too early and the food wasn't delivered yet, and the next morning we were too late because they had run out of food. Regardless, breakfast at the backpackers restaurant right across the street was only about $3 or $4 total for two people.

Because of traffic, save 45 minutes to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFDStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

A nice place to stay while in San Jose. Great location-close to a lot of great attractions. A great atmosphere if you're looking to meet cool people and relax in a fun environment. A little noisy, but fun place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sss07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 84 in San Jose
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#4 of 84 in San Jose
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 84 in San Jose
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#8 of 84 in San Jose
51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Capital Boutique Hostel
Capital Boutique Hostel
#7 of 84 in San Jose
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing