We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but the bed was falling apart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Rica Backpackers
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but the bed was falling apart!”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We arrived in Costa Rica after a long flight from the Uk and were pleased with the room - it was large, airy and clean. We stayed in the guesthouse as it was more private but with access to the backpackers amenities (swimming pool, breakfast, hammocks etc). Our only complaint was the bed - the base was basically a few planks of wood, which were not nailed down, so as soon as we lay down a couple of them fell through and the bed creaked badly. We were too tired to ask for a change of room so perhaps they would have fixed it if we`d asked. Fine for a basic stopover in San Jose though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    125
    92
    40
    34
See reviews for
12
90
109
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed at Costa Rica Backpackers for a few days before I left for Jaco and after I got back from Jaco a few nights before heading to Panama City, Panama. This place was great! There is a pool, free use of the internet ready computers and there is free wireless. There is a restaurant on location with plenty of Imperial Cerveza in stock! Since I am not picky, the food was fine with me. This place also has movie nights in the restaurant. There is a community area with flat screen TV. There is also a community kitchen. I left 2 PB&J sandwiches in there before my 20+ hour bus ride to Panama City 2 years ago. If they are still in there, anyone is more than welcomed to have 'em. The rooms were very basic. The first room stayed in had a bunk bed, which was cool for I have not stayed in a bunk bed since I was a child. The second room I stayed in had a twin sized bed in it. This place is roughly a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main area of San Jose (the cobble stone street) with all the shops. I walked to everywhere instead of cabbing it.
I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again if I ever return to San Jose again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherwin_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed at the guest house for two nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. The guest house is comfortable and clean. The airport shuttle service was fairly priced ($20 each way for 1-4 people), easy to spot, and on time. They offered good tours that were on time. The rooms and shared bathrooms were clean, the staff friendly, and the clientele respectable. We had full access to CR Backpackers directly across the street which had a relaxed atmosphere with a bar and game room, nice pool, hammocks, and a convenient, cheap, and good casual restaurant. The overall vibe was youthful but quiet and laid back. Not a party hostel. There were some middle-aged guests who seemed to be feeling as much at home as we were.

The only negative thing was, although the guesthouse offered a $2 breakfast, it was never available because they didn't have food. I think there was a small window each morning when you'd be lucky to get the $2 breakfast. One morning were were too early and the food wasn't delivered yet, and the next morning we were too late because they had run out of food. Regardless, breakfast at the backpackers restaurant right across the street was only about $3 or $4 total for two people.

Because of traffic, save 45 minutes to get to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFDStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

A nice place to stay while in San Jose. Great location-close to a lot of great attractions. A great atmosphere if you're looking to meet cool people and relax in a fun environment. A little noisy, but fun place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sss07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

the rooms are clean and simple, there are hammocks around the kitchen and pool area which is great for chilling out. they have a restaurant which serves decent food except for the thai curry that has no curry at all, and screens 3 movies a night. also has a huge flat screen tv equipped with many channels which is entertaining since san jose isn't safe at night. the only grouse would be how noisy the area is at night, trains, buses, talking, but once it's quiet, it's cool and comfortable for sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Stayed at the affiliated guesthouse just across the street which is very nice and you have the use of the main facilities as well. Guesthouse is very clean, and bright and has good bathrooms and free internet, coffe/toast.
Main hostel looks nothing from the outside but once inside its like an oasis in the middle of San Jose - which wasnt much too write home about to be fair. Good for meeting other travellers and swapping plans. Food from the bar is ok too if you cant be bothered to cook yourself.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dipdop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Reasonable hostel in a not very good area. (but that is SJ for you)

Nice pool and they have their own "restaurant" which is good as there did not seem to be any other option around...

Price is 12$ plus 4$ deposit for the keys.

BUT!!!!! At checkout they tell you that you only receive back your deposit if you give back the receipt you got checking in.

Of course I had no idea where it was, but was giving back the keys, which is the whole point of the deposit.

The girl at the counter said that I might as well keep the keys, she needs the receipt.

Luckily one of my roommates found the receipt on the floor, before I got more upset and/or loud....

So this is their trick to make a bit of extra money..... Does it really worth it?????

  • Liked — the en suite restaurant
  • Disliked — their scam
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adviceforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 83 in San Jose
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 83 in San Jose
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Property: Costa Rica Backpackers
Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers' favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories ! Catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing