We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first stay was all about the price. Now after the fourth visit there are a lot of other good reasons to return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first stay was all about the price. Now after the fourth visit there are a lot of other good reasons to return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Adventure Inn may not be the grandest hotel out there but it wins on important things like value and service (the receptionist paid my taxi without me asking), cleanliness, size of bedrooms, friendliness of staff and most importantly the water pressure of the shower in the en-suite bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank similar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    638
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
633
909
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brightwood Rain Forest, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Adventure Inn is an excellent place from which to see/visit San Jose, Costa Rica. The hotel glistens. It is beyond immaculate. The rooms are large and well appointed. The hot tub is spectacular. The Moon Glow Restaurant draws a diverse, hip crowd. There is a fine gym and a luxurious Internet suite. Wi-Fi is available in room.

The staff at Adventure is as exceptional as the facility. They are friendly, COMPETENT, and extremely helpful. I have rarely seen people work so hard. They are clearly proud of what they do and where they work.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

This gem of a hotel is conveniently close to all (airport, shopping, San Jose and San Antonio de Belen. The rooms are large and very clean, the staff is friendly and seek to please. The included breakfast, competitive internet rate, and reimbursement for a one-way taxi ride from the airport makes this place the best value in the area. I will definitely come again.

Nelson, California

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

This place is very strange, its very noisy from the highway 1 traffic and the physical setup with the windows facing an interior courtyard is noisy; it looks like it might have orginally been an apartment building. The internet pictures are deceptive. Its not a good value for the money: it should be like $40 a night. The Country Inn up the road is a much better deal. I guess if there is nothing else its okay for one night. The second floor internet lounge is good and the made to order free breakfast is tasty. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are somewhat modern with tile, etc. This is a pass.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theperfectplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I have traveled many places for many years. My stays at the Adventure Inn were always very pleasant. The staff has a way of making you feel like family. I have stayed there for pleasure and even during hard times when my husband passed away. The staff is always professional, kind and sensitive. The setting is very accommodating and well equip. The restaurant has great staff and food; the front desk staff is always professional and very sweet. The taxi being there and available at all times is not only very covenant but very efficient at a reasonable price. The day I had to fly out with my two dogs the taxi driver took me around town to get supplies and also had the staff fix my kennel for so I could use it for travel. It is also great that they welcomed my dogs and has a great place across the street to take them. The last vacation my husband and I took we stayed at the Adventure Inn and we made good memories together there. I stayed again after his death to prepare to travel back to the U.S. and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. I thank all of the staff there for their kind and professional attitudes. I was living in Puerto Viejo at the time and traveled to San Jose with friends who live there as well. They were as impressed as I was and the next time they need to stay in San Jose that’s where they will be staying. Thanks again to the Adventure Inn

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puravidajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel several times and it's always been a good experience.
They offer a free taxi from the San Jose airport which is about 10 minutes away. Just keep the receipt and the front desk will deduct it from your bill, which is a nice way to start your visit. The front desk staff are friendly and the rooms are modern, spacious and clean.
There is a complimentary full breakfast included, and the dinners I've had in the dining room have been good also. There are several computers available, offering high speed internet, which is very convenient when you're traveling. It's an easy walk to a shopping mall with a food fair, grocery store, pharmacy and theaters. I recommend this airport hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoqueteRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

We live in Costa Rica, but travel back and forth to the states frequently. After many stays in other hotel's and B&B's, we were happy to find the Adventure Inn so willing to accomodate us. We run a tour and real estate business in Southern Costa Rica and will recomend to our customers coming into the country that they stay at Adventure for the nights they are in the San Jose area. The staff is more than willing to help, we could get internet, they even let us leave our car in their lot for a week on our last trip to the US.Thank you Adventure Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing