We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure is the first priorty at Adventure Inn!”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Our experience at the Adventure Inn was ideal-- exactly what a hotel stay should be. The staff was hospitable and helpful, and the amenities they offered were great. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious, and most of all affordable. The restaurant was great as well. Delicious and affordable food, and our servers were very receptive and patient with us. (Muchas gracias Maria!) It was also very helpful to have free computer stations with high speed Internet to stay in touch while on vacation. Overall, staying at the Adventure Inn was a perfect way to both begin and end our vacation-- we will certainly be back next time we visit Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,441)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,441 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2009

There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our experience was with Adventure Inn. The rooms were great, very well decorated, with comfortable beds. The bath was large with all amenities (soap, shampoo, lotion, etc). The bar area was exceptional along with the bartenders. The front desk personnel were wonderful and very accommodating. We used the internet upstairs to check in with the airline, very easy. The food was very good with a large assortment to choose from at each meal. We would definitely stay at Adventure Inn again and do not hesitate to recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExecChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

There are lots of reasons to stay at Adventure Inn which are listed on their website and on the lengthy email their owner will send you when you book your stay. It is close to the airport. They’ll pick up your cab fare for your taxi ride back to the airport. There is a free breakfast which they gave us to go at 4am which was perfect as we had a 6am flight. They even have 4 computers to use. The rooms are nice too. I would stay here again.
However, "free admission to nearby WaterLand, Costa Rica's only private water theme park " as its stated on Adventure Inn's website is not a reason to stay at this hotel. It is truly difficult to believe they would offer this as a reason. When we checked in we were looking for something to do. There isn’t much to do within walking distance of the Adventure Inn. Wilmer, the gentleman working behind the desk suggested we go to the water park as there is no pool at the hotel. He also said the hotel would pick up the admission and cab rides which they did. However, WaterLand is a total joke of a park. There were about 6 people in the entire park which partially tells you just how bad it is. When the locals know its bad you know its bad. The water at the park was pretty gross so we avoided going in the water area. There are two small slides about 10’ in length and rest of the pool area looked more like a kiddie pool instead of something an adult may like. Anyway, we saw go-carts but those weren’t available as it looked like that has been shut down long ago. They did have Mini Golf. See my pictures for just how bad this really was. The entire place appeared to be 30 years old and void of maintenance and upkeep since opening. Yes, it was free and we were there for only one hour but my suggestion for the Adventure Inn is to not suggest free admission to WaterLand as reason to stay at the hotel. The park is old and disgusting. I am sure Adventure Inn gets a kickback for bringing people into the park but do not go if they recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wieds138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The staff at Adventure Inn made it easy for me, as a solo traveler, to arrive and depart from Costa Rica. It is close to the airport, and they pay for your taxi ride. There is not much to do near the hotel, but it is a cheap bus ride into downtown San Jose, no hassle. I stayed here my first and last night--some rooms have no outside windows, and some are right in the often noisy hallway. The staff was extremely helpful in all ways.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyBombera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I travelled here alone and with my children and found it to be a very comfortable, safe place to stay. It's close to the airport and outside of the downtown area. Great place to stop over. The staff is very helpful, friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella71phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Me and my friend stayed at The Adventure Inn near the airport to catch an early morning flight. From the website's description it is in the pictureaque mountains. It is next to the freeway behind a shopping center. The website says free airport transfers. I guess this is true. However, there is no shuttle service. They take the price of a cab off your room rate. No such thing going to the airport though. Oh well....
The staff was freindly and helpfull. The room was sort of yucky, but the beds were comfly. The restaurant had good fish, just a little pricey. I ran out of toothpast and they had a tube for sale. It was a 6 oz. tube si I could only use it once. Oh well.....

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

my family of five stayed at adventure inn on our first and last days of our trip the staff was great and very helpful the value was very good considering you get a free breakfast and one renbursment for each night youstay for your taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obsession5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
899 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,470 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $93 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing