We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced, helpful staff, clean rooms, safe neighborhood, and close to airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, helpful staff, clean rooms, safe neighborhood, and close to airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

As independent traveler's to Costa Rica, my husband and I had concerns about being taken advantage of, due to literature we read in advance. We are in our 50's-60's. Our arrival was smooth, made easier by the helpful instructions provided by hotel owner, prior to our arrival. We asked a number of questions of the owner, via e-mail, prior to our trip and received prompt and useful information.

We found our hotel room exceptionally adequate for our purposes of being on tour each day and returning to a comfortable room at night. Along with a table, two chairs, tv (with English-speaking channels) we had 2 queen sized beds in our room. It was a first-time pleasant novelty to have a bidet in our bathroom too! We met many travelers from around the world at the on-site restaurant where a sufficient breakfast (American or Costa Rican) was free every morning of our stay. An extra bonus was to not carry a laptop but rather use one of the hotel's 5 computers each day to check e-mail or surf the net. Sometimes we'd simply read a book off the hotel bookshelves, left by other travelers.

We made San Jose our base and took day trips utilizing tour operators suscribed by Adventure Inn. The tour company chosen to provide services for the hotel was a good one and gave us a nice cross-section of the country. The only drawback about making San Jose our base was the mountainous terrain we trekked each day for our tours.

Whether you stay at Adventure Inn for a day, weekend, or the whole of your visit, we recommend it without reservation. What is represented at their website is the experience we enjoyed during our visit.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champ1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    638
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
633
909
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed here with gf last night of our trip (we were flying 8am next day.(As an aside I will also recommend using Sansa Airlines. At approx. 2:30pm we were in Tambor and by 4pm we were showering in the Adventure Inn. It was $180 for the 2 of us one way, but it saved 5-6 hours of driving on a limted 1 week vacation). The hotel lived up to it's online personna. Very clean and modern. The receptionist (perhaps owner?), spoke fluent english. Rooms were very spacious, had good beds, bathroom, safe box, cable tv. They deducted $10 from our bill for the taxi ride from the airport (and they set us up with a free ride to SJO in the morning in a taxi). Deduct that from the $80 price and it's basically a $60 night. Bar/lounge in the hotel was very nice, although it depressed me heading home to watch Fox News on one channel in the bar and CNN in the other. All Americas in the hotel. If I had to stay in San Jose in business I'd definetly use this place, but I couldn't see any reason to stay in the area. I'll be here again next time I'm flying out of SJO airport, and highly recommend it .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We booked our stay at this hotel via the internet, and spen our first and last nights in Costa Rica at this place. E mail communication was very efficient with the owner, Mike. Both times when we checked in the ladies at reception were very helpful and polite. They confirmed our tour pick up time on the second day and also made restaurant reservations for us on out last night. The price of the taxi transfers from the hotel are deducted from the room bill, which is a nice touch. The hotel itself is simple, clean and straightforward. The small bar and restaurant that it has is good (the Beef Casado was excellent). The rooms we stayed in were both clean and spacious, but a little prone to noise pollution (nothing too bad however). For the price, very good value for money. We would definately stay here again on a return trip to Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Clean and well priced
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrSavP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day CR vacation in February, celebrating our 39th anniversary. We planned a driving tour of the country, and the Adventure Inn could not have been a better choice as the jumping off and returning points of our trip. Only minutes from the airport (SJO), an easy 5 minute walk to a convenience store and a very short drive to a nice casino. Besides the incredibly affordable rates (get the ACHR and cash discounts), this hotel is the essence of meticulous attention paid to guests and property. From the warm smile of Ana at the front desk, to hard working Randall and Jose at the door, you simply cannot find a friendlier or more accommodating staff. This property appears to have been very recently renovated, as everything about it is sparking clean and new. Large and airy rooms (smokers will have to step outside), with high ceilings and tiled floors. Comfortable beds and plenty of hot water (this will become an issue in other areas of CR) are a big plus. Hey, they have Coke in glass bottles! Not a big deal to many, but if you are from a state like Michigan, where glass beverage bottles are banned, this is a real treat for dedicated Coke drinkers.
It is a bit difficult to find, but owner Eric and his son Mike provide good directions as well as invaluable tips and insights regarding CR in general, included with your reservation confirmation. If you rent a car, and get the very highly recommended GPS device, you will have no problem. However, you may have to enter "Moonlight Hotel," depending on the map loaded into the GPS. I suspect that that was a previous name for this property, as it is the name of the bar & restaurant. A great free breakfast is included, and this is not some Howard Johnson's cold cereal and juice affair. You get a choice of several full hot breakfast meals, all very tasty. While the dinner menu is not extensive, the food is great and certainly adequate for a first and last night stay. Afterall, they don't pretend to be a final vacation destination, but they exceed all expectations of a great place to begin and end your Costa Rica adventure.
You just feel at home here, what more could you ask?

  • Liked — Bright, clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Small parking lot, no pool or sunning area.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gibby1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

I have been traveling to Costa Rica for 15 years, and always look for great places to recommend. The Adventure Inn is one of them and now my preferred Inn near the airport for my last night. It is convenient, transportation to the airport is included, it is reasonably priced, the breakfast is included and a full meal. The rooms are large and clean and well appointed, with air conditioning, cable TV, and wireless internet (I could SKYPE home on my PDA). There is a restaurant onsite with daily specials, but I did not get to sample the food this time. There are food stores nearby and the neighborhood is safe and well lit, right next to the main highway but no noise can be heard in the rooms. It is a great place and a real bargain. They give a 10% discount if you pay cash too.

The real plus is the staff. Courteous, friendly, helpful, smiling, great English and people I would want to hire if I ran the Inn. I have stayed in a lot of places, and without a doubt for the traveler who wants to get what they pay for and not have to pay a lot, this is a 5 Star place for me. Stay at the major resorts or big chains if you like, but you will not have a better experience or get to the airport more quickly than at the Adventure Inn. I will be returning several times in the next couple years and will update this if there are changes, but from what I saw I would expect only better things in the future from these people.

  • Liked — Location, service and staff
  • Disliked — There was nothing I did not like, a rare thing indeed
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riodesuenos_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

Our room had a bidet! That was cool. I saw on the website that they offer free transfers to the airport but we got charged $12 for our ride to the airport. Maybe there was a secret code that we missed.

Our room was directly across from the restaurant/bar and near the reception desk. It was definitely loud. The hotel is a short ride to the airport but there isn't anything good within walking distance if you want to eat or drink outside of the hotel. It was about 15 minutes in the opposite direction of the airport to get to San Jose.

  • Liked — bidet, guaro shots at the bar
  • Disliked — lots of noise in our specific room from the hallway
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel our first day and night, after arriving from an early flight. It was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant served good food. The only thing we missed was, it would have been nice to have someplace to hang out outside. But we relaxed int the very airy and comfortable lounge area with the computers. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank rubyred47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing