We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience- Do not stay here!”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
1 review
“Worst Experience- Do not stay here!”
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We booked this hotel just to have a place to sleep and nearby the airport on our first night in CR. We checked in at 1am and had an early 7am flight to Arenal the next morning. We let the receptionists know that we wanted to be there in time to make our flight and they assurred us repeatedly that we need to arrive only 10- 15 minutes before our flight. Long behold the next morning, we arrived at the airport as they said and the flight had already left and would not have another until the next day. A loss of $180 for the flights and $100 for the room, I would definitely not waste your money here. The room had the bare essentials and the "free breakfast" consisted of eggs and a couple pieces of fruit. Save your money and stress and stay somewhere else!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank gcd819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
I am sorry to hear you missed your flight. If you got to the airport and checked-in on time, yet your flight left early, the airline is at fault. However, anyone who thinks he can cut it so close and hope to arrive five or ten minutes before a scheduled flight is asking for trouble, why blame the hotel receptionists. When you purchased your plane ticket from the airline, you were told to arrive 45 minutes before the estimated time of departure.

You said our breakfast consists of eggs and a couple of pieces of fruit. What about the crisp bacon, the home fries, fresh-made fruit juice, toast, preserves, pancakes, French toast, cereal, milk and gallo pinto, Costa Rican coffee or tea?

You said our rooms had the bare essentials. This makes me question the legitimacy of this review. All rooms are quite modern and spacious with two orthopaedic double beds, A/C, a modern private tiled four piece bath (some with bidets), direct-dial phones, a large TV with sixty cable channels, an in-room safe, a writing table and chairs, WiFi, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, towels. linens, amenities; laundry, maid and room service; plus access to four guest computers, a new ten piece gym, and a Jacuzzi. Bare essentials, what are we missing?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    647
    123
    54
    21
See reviews for
646
920
294
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calirfonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The hotel was ok if you can find it. The directions that the hotel gives are very poor and you will waste a lot of time trying to find it. Look for the Los Arcos sign and then you will find the hotel. The hotel is on a stretch of freeway that doesn't allow you to go toward the airport without first traveling in the opposite direction. The staff was the only redeeming factor of the hotel. They were very hospitable and helpful. We left too early to check out the included breakfast. The room was clean and worked out just fine for a place to crash before going to the airport the next morning.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank californiantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments about our hospitable staff and nice room. I wish you had time to enjoy our full American breakfast.

The directions are a bit tricky which is why we fully explain them on our website, and when e-mailing people, we strongly advise they click on our website for directions if they haven't been here before. We are in the same neighborhood as the large Ramada Plaza and the larger Hilton Double Tree. Perhaps if the reviewer has spent more time with us, he would have had less problem navigating around. It is incorrect that coming from or going to the airport one needs to first travel in the opposite direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Adventure Inn is a very clean hotel close to the international airport. The rooms are large with cable TV (limited selection), bedside alarms, and free a la carte breakfast. The breakfast consisted of 2 eggs any style, 1 slice of toast, and coffee. The juice was not freshly squeezed. If you're a big eater, this probably won't do. They have free Internet access and a very small hot tub located in the lobby/hallway area -- kind of strange. If you pay cash, you get a discount. Mike, the owner (?) quickly and thoroughly responded to all my e-mail questions & was very helpful. You can walk along the road with no sidewalk to a pedestrian overpass that takes you to the mall, but other than that, there's nowhere to go or shop by the hotel. Very good transit point hotel at a good price.

  • Liked — Price, proximity to the airport
  • Disliked — Closed in feeling of the hotel grounds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My family stayed at Adventure Inn on two different days in December and January (2009), we had two rooms on both occassions. The rooms were very good and the traveler photos are accurate. They were also very clean and the ac worked just fine. On our first night we had two rooms in the back, #34 # and they were great. Very quiet and overlooked a grassy area. There was also a siting area outside these rooms that made a great place for us all to sit out and talk. This area was also totally quiet. On our return we had two rooms facing the parking lot. These were a little more nosier but with the ac running it was not too bad. We liked the restaurant and found all the staff to be very helpful. I would definitely stay there again but would request one of the "back" rooms, or if not available a room that does not face the parking lot. The professional photo of the hotel on the net is very old. The area is much more built up than the photo suggests, but again this is not any problem.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, helpful staff
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank workingtemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, WI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at the Adventure Inn for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica. The staff was generally nice and helpful. The first night they put us in a first floor room at the back of the hotel and there was near constant street noise during the night. The second night we were moved (at our request) to a second floor room, which was much quieter. The rooms were clean, with plenty of hot water. The second floor lounge area was comfortable and had a few internet terminals. The food in the restaurant was unremarkable at best, and the dining room is way too dark.

There were a couple of problems. Their website claims that they are in a gated community a short walk from a shopping mall, with access to a local water park included with the room. This was a big draw for my family. As it turns out, they are next to (but outside) the gate of a gated community, the short walk to the mall is a bit longer and along a busy road with no sidewalks, and we didn't see a water park nearby and were never offered any passes.

The strangest thing for me, though, was the behavior of the owners. Mind you, they were extremely helpful over the internet with reservations and quickly responded to my many email questions prior to our arrival. I actually looked forward to meeting them in person, but once we got there...nothing. It's not that they weren't there. They passed by me in the lobby several times, but never once offered any kind of greeting. I am an independent traveler and I don't really need a personal touch from anyone, and petty annoyances don't tend to bother me. However, I also run a small business, and when I come within eye contact of a customer I'll always thank them personally for their business. I know this may seem minor, but it does lend to the overall experience of a place.

I would also suggest that if you need a stay near the airport you look to the northern Alajuela area. The area is much quieter and just as close to the airport.

  • Liked — The front desk staff, internet service
  • Disliked — Noisy location, owner indifference
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mikestamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2009
Thank you for your review but I am afraid you are a bit confused. Though the hotel is in a nice upscale neighborhood and is very safe with 24 hour security, video surveillance, and a guard station a few meters from the front door, no where on our website, or any of our advertising does it say we are in a 'gated community'.

We advertise free admission into Waterland, a private water-theme park with pools and slides, etc., but you have to ask for your free tickets at the front desk, we don't know your plans. The website says Waterland is about 2 km away, and that we will pay for your taxi both directions if you wish, what could be more generous, free admission, free transportation, but you have to bring it to our attention this is what you want to do.

Our website also states it is a short hike to the Mall Cariari. In actual distance, it is just over a kilometer, I'd consider that a short hike though you may not. There are back roads through our beautiful Cariari neighborhood you can take without having to walk along the busy service road.

I appreciate the compliments for receiving a lot of information prior to arrival and how easy it was to make your reservation. I apologize for passing you in the lobby and not introducing myself or thanking you properly for staying at Adventure Inn. We have been very busy, especially over the Christmas holidays with 34 rooms, and sorry, there are a lot of people coming and going through the lobby to the restaurant, taking tours, renting cars, checking in and out, I really don't know who you are to introduce myself. It would have been far easier if you introduced yourself to me, I'd probably remember your name and we could go from there. If you require the personal touch of an owner standing there with a pot of coffee as you walk in the door, perhaps you should consider staying at a small six or eight room bed and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2009

My wife and I were on our way to a six star cruise ship. Adventure Inn and staff started our trip out right. No complaints at all. In fact the Lemon grilled chicken at the Moonglow restaurant rivaled any meal on the ship. Breakfast was very good as well. Great Staff and pleasant to be around. Very helpful indeed.

  • Liked — Very clean and friendly
  • Disliked — bed linens although adequate
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hotelwarrior509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
112 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed in this hotel from January 02nd to January 04th and enjoyed our stay very much. It was a family trip on a stop over in Costa Rica on the way to Los Angeles.
The girls at the front desk were very helpful and always ready to assist us in everthing we needed. We loved the way they treated us, always smiling and lovely. We are two Italians and three Brazilians and love warm hospitality, it was just great !!!
We five stayed in one room and the price was very good, it was US$ 25 each a day, as we paid in cash we got 10% discount plus US$ 10 dollars back for the taxi from the aiport to the hotel, they pay one way.
The room was great, there was an a/c, we had 03 comfortable beds. The shower was perfect. Down the stairs there was a nice jacuzzi, it just could be a bitter cooler.
The breakfast was nice with a good menu.
We booked a tour to Tabacon Hot Springs and Arenal with Adventure Inn, we paid US$ 110 dollars each, and it was amazing !!! We loved it.
We intend to come back to Costa Rica and stay at the same hotel in the near future !!!
We strongly reccommend this property !!!

  • Liked — The warm hospitality
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank San_Fior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing