We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in San Jose”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After 12 years of travelling back and forth to Costa Rica I recently discovered Adventure Inn and only regret not having found it earlier.

Excellent service by tenured staff, quality, location along with great breakfast, pool/hot tub, free international calls and transportation to airport all make it a GREAT place to stay either when starting or ending your trip to Costa Rica.

We stayed there 3 different times after spending 6 weeks travelling thru Costa Rica & Panama and found the same excellent quality each time we were there. Meeting several other guests who had stayed there before was also very telling. Great value combined with great staff / service make Adventure Inn a fantastic stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, probably the best deal around, the breakfast was delicious, the location was perfect, the rooms were really clean and quiet. We were very happy with our choice to stay here. Eric the owner is very accomodating and helpful also. It was a great place to stay while in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have vacationed in Costa Rica several times and were fortunate to find this place several years ago. The hotel is near the airport in a safe area of San Jose and a perfect place for us to start and end our vacation. The hotel and rooms are very clean. Included in the cost of the room is an awesome breakfast each morning (they will even offer to pack a breakfast for early departures), free wifi, free international calls, and airport pick up and drop off. The owners and staff are very courteous and go above and beyond to make your vacation as wonderful as possible. The hotel web site also offers tours and day trips that they set up with other reputable tour companies and the hotel owners are quick to answer any questions or concerns you might have. We have stayed at the Adventure Inn on three different vacations now and the service is consistently excellent!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpriest461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed a short night before my flight back home. It's close to the airport and it seemed a shame not to spend More time there. The reception staff was extremely helpful, you get free international calls and they gave me a little packed breakfast as I left before the restaurant opened in the morning.
The Room was clean and had everything you want. I can't really comment on the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I am from the USA and have traveled Costa Rica and San Jose many times over the past 15 years. I stayed with Adventure Inn with my Costa Rican girlfriend in February. Overall, the experience in terms of service is EXCELLENT. The owners and staff all work together to provide a service level that is much different than what you find in many parts of Central American. In addition to the great hotel and restaurant, they have a system and culture of providing "no hastle" information needed for a tourist.... especially, newbies. Their attention to detail is unique in Costa Rica. From the details in the documentation received when get confirmed, to the free international calling, taxi referrals, tour advice.... Great business model.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We only got to stay at the hotel one night before going on to another place in Costa Rica, but wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed everything about the hotel - the amenities, the staff who was available to help in any way, the good (free) breakfast and food for other meals, the good prices, the jacuzzi and pool, the cleanliness, the large room, access to computer, etc. Thank you for an enjoyable 24 hours! Thank you to everybody who made that one day special!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thanks135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just return from costa rica on Sept 10, 2013. We stayed in this hotel 7 days 6 nights. We love the Inn so much that the service personnel are really helpful, nice and other great values. We paid about $75- 80 a night because it's not peak season. 1. Transportations from airport to Adventure Inn is very good that we just fill out a form online. Interbus people pick us up right away when we arrive. 2. We appreciate the receptionists tried every effort to help me book tours i want. 3. There are truly free long distance calls we can use in rooms, i called to China, Hong Kong and U.S.( Of course you can call to other countries too). I don't need to pay a penny of it. My family know where i am and safe. 4. The TV has many channels, HBO, FOX, Chinese channel......... we watched it at nights and enjoyed it so much. 5. Air conditioning all days. ( We went to Tortuguero for one night, even we saw lots of wild life there, but that hotel has no A/C, we were freaking hot!) We missed Adventure Inn so much that night. 6. Breakfast is just what we want to warm my stomach. 7, The hotel has its own taxi service, so no need to worry about where to get a taxi. ( My friend went there before and stay at Four Season Hotel, he said it's hard to get a taxi, even he paid about $350 a night , he didn't get free long distance call and wifi in hotel.) 8. Adventure Inn has free Wifi everywhere. I can use the internet almost everywhere in the Inn. 9. The tours they offer through their website are great, we enjoy everyday in CR. We joined hot spring, canopy, Tortuguero, Calypso cruise and rescue ranch. We loved it so much. Their tours are so great!! No worries and so much fun! 10. Restaurant food are great (fresh cut french fries, shrimp alfredo......delicious!) 11. Adventure Inn taxi bring us back to airport at our last day. So convenient and totally no charge for us. (of course paid a tip). We paid a small tip when we got good service.
Of course we can't compare this Inn to a four or five stars hotels we can imagine/ ever been. We just compare it to how much we paid for. We just feel we got more than what we pay for. It gets reasonable size room, clean facility...) Maybe some people may think it's small. But everyone can pay more for what they want. Just think what can we get with this little money. Because this is not a resort, we can't ask for a beach front big room. We got great night sleep, comfortable beds and everything is clean. The Inn was very quiet, not like other people mentioned before. Maybe small ant, but no big flies. We appreciate Adventure Inn so much! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are bigger, nicer, get nicer TV and nicer bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
916 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $104 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing