We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a group”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thomasville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for a group”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Adventure Inn with our church Youth Group after a week of mission work in Costa Rica. Prior to the trip I had many questions. Eric, the owner/operator, promptly responded to my emails and answered all my questions. We arrived well before check in time, and one of our rooms was ready. We were permitted to check in and store our luggage. We were invited to use the hotel amenities. We ate dinner and breakfast at the Adventure Inn. The meals were very good and the service was excellent. They even asked for our breakfast order the night before our departure so they could be sure it was ready in a timely manner. The Adventure Inn was the perfect place to stay with our group of 22 students and adults. We could gather on the couches and visit. After a week of traveling, we enjoyed internet access and free calls home. The rooms were clean and large. The staff is very friendly and they were eager to make sure we were comfortable. With the complimentary shuttle to the airport, I did not have to worry about arranging transportation for our large group. The Adventure Inn was the perfect place for us to relax and unwind prior to heading home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda27360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    647
    123
    54
    21
See reviews for
646
920
294
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Adventure Inn is a great base from which to explore Costa Rica! In our case, we spent our first and last night in CR here and it was a great fit for us. The staff was friendly and welcoming, every portion of the hotel is spotless, and the restaurant cooks up great food so when you are feeling weary from travel you don't have to go searching for grub.

We were two families traveling together, each with an infant, and the staff were so very accommodating of us. We were able to check in early and the pack and plays were all set up for us.

We also used their rental car service and found everything to be easy and straightforward. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the front of the hotel - it was perfect for families, because after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GringaAlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We used this hotel as our home base when passing through San Jose. It was exactly what we needed.

The rooms were clean, pretty large and all the facilities worked well. The staff at the counter was extremely friendly and helpful. Especially Rosie! Even though we missed the cut off time for laundry, she took our two HUGE bags of laundry and did them on her own within a few hours. She even folded and delivered them to us!

We checked out the bar a few times, too. The bartenders (Janet, Iris and Miguel?) were very friendly and fun to talk to. We even got some free drinks at times. The food was nothing too special, but it did the trick when we needed a late night snack.

Lastly, the communication/email was excellent. Eric (owner) was very fast and informative with his emails. He gave lots of great recommendation. We even booked a rental car through this hotel and were very pleased with the service.

Overall we were very happy with our stay here. And the price ($90 cash) wasn't bad at all. We even got upgraded to a suite for free - just because they wanted to be nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quantumcosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I travel to San Jose once a month and have stay in the capital for business and personal affairs. We have been in the travel industry for 19 years and do it now with a 2 year old baby and furthermore found this place ideal for both Business and Relaxation. For my business is its close to San Jose and the main airport (free airport shuttle); furthermore the staff is what make this place the place to stay. The always remember our personal needs and our names! You cannot find a better deal with a sincere smile in San Jose!!!! We now have all our friends, family and even business clients staying here!!!
WE WILL ALWAYS RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Handicap room for when our family comes from the USA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNOTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our flight from the US arrived too late for us to get to the Osa Peninsula on the same day. So, we spent the night at the Adventure Inn. It looked to be a great alternative to the American hotel chains near the airport, and that was precisely the case. The hotel is a short 7 minute drive from SJO with a free shuttle service to the hotel. Our room was large and comfortable. Moreover, it wasn't the cookie-cutter room that the chain hotels would have provided (it actually felt like we were in Costa Rica as opposed to Akron!). There is a nice pool as well as several restaurants and a very nice grocery store within walking distance, and it is in a very safe area. That said, the restaurant in the hotel is really good, and both dinner and breakfast were terrific. In the morning we took a shuttle ($12) to the Sansa terminal to catch our flight to Puerto Jiminez. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing a place to stay before or after a flight for sure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful. The restaurant was really good too (had the fajitas). The free shuttle service offered from the airport was a great perk! This is a great place to stay! I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport. We planned to stay here one night and then drive on to the Pacific Coast. The manager at the hotel arranged a free shuttle to pick us up at the airport, and we found the driver immediately as we exited the baggage claim. The next morning they arranged for a rental car to be delivered to the hotel. The agent stayed long enough to thoroughly explain the features of the car and to give us good directions for the beginning of our drive. Having the car delivered to the hotel saved us time, money and stress. I would highly recommend it.

The hotel was well-decorated, and the staff were very helpful. The room was large and had a coffee maker and a nice ceiling fan. In the morning we had a delicious free breakfast.

I am very glad we made this choice as our first stop in Costa Rica. We exchanged several emails with Eric beforehand, and he responded quickly and was very helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyvet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing