We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to land”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to land”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent for the price especially because it includes transport to and from the airport and breakfast! We spent a total of 3 nights there (2 when we arrived and 1 before taking off home). The 3 kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub while the adults enjoyed wine and beer by the pool. The Moon Glow restaurant was good and there was a good selection. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Devra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    638
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
632
909
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at Adventure Inn for one evening before flying out of Costa Rica. We arrived at the hotel in early afternoon after a long and hot journey. I couldn't have been happier to find a pool and hot tub to relax in. We spent the early evening sitting at the bar waiting for our friends to arrive before having dinner in the hotel restaurant. We had excellent service and the food was great! The hotel arranged for our ride to the airport, included in the price.
The only downside was the water temperature in the shower was difficult to control.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going through San Jose.

Room Tip: We had an room that faced the courtyard and we left the window open as it was cool enough we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Eric helped us get a rental car and wrote pages of informative material for traveling in Costa Rica.

We had our last night there. Very nice rooms, space, high ceilings, large beds. The breakfast had all sorts of exotic fruits, plus you could order eggs & such.

The rental car was taken away by the rental company right from the hotel. Very well done, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Before my friend and I even left for this trip, I knew we were in good hands. Eric assisted us with so many questions, travel plans, changes, etc. and really helped me to feel anxiety-free in the days leading up to the trip. We stayed a total of 4 nights, flanking an 11 day trip to Costa Rica and enjoyed a perfect welcome and send-off (equipped with roundtrip airport transportation as an included service).

The grounds of Adventure Inn are beautifully kept, our rooms were quaintly lovely, the Moonglow restaurant represented some of the best quality to cost ratio we experienced in the country, and the staff (shout out to Carla at reception, Mike at the bar, and the entire kitchen staff) was infinitely patient and doting. Carla helped me create our trip and transportation and was just such a delight to work with. Mike was exploding with personality and was the perfect companion no matter how energetic or dog-tired we were! The kitchen staff... incredible! From making breakfast for my friend and I long after breakfast was over to heating up a late night gallo pinto snack for me, they really went above and beyond for us. There are countless others who provided incredible service (doormen... especially the one who didn't judge me for raiding his fridge for way too many wee hours munchies, the sweet gentleman on front desk dayshift and the awesome lady with a beautiful smile who checked us out) THANK YOU!

Finally, from this one location we were able to experience white-water rafting, bungee jumping, travel to La Fortuna/Arenal area, awesome little shops/bars in San Jose, Tamarindo and all the way back from one location. They truly make it all too easy! Not only will we be returning to this exact spot in the future... I will now seek out any partners Adventure Inn may have abroad with the hope the service and value come close to this one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyg807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We flew into San Jose and stayed here overnight before heading off to Arenal, Monteverde and Manuel Antonio. They were very helpful. The free shuttle to hotel and the ability to get our rental car at the hotel were really great perks. Rooms were nice and clean, pool was fun and food good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to Panama. We were a party of six and "all" of us were extremely pleased. The front desk staff were all warm and inviting. They provided us with a wealth of knowledge regarding things to do in the near by vicinity considering our short stay. Our rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. On our return from Panama, we arrived at the hotel just as the complimentary breakfast ended. The front desk staff asked the kitchen staff if they would provide us with breakfast and much to our surpise, they did! It was absolutely fantastic! Many thanks to the entire staff! We would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were pleased with fellow Canadian Eric Robinson's Adventure Inn - he was very thorough and detailed about what to expect about our visit to Costa Rica... giving us great tips like getting Costa Rican Colones $ before arriving, and giving us an excellent hook-up with Mapache Car Rental service. Thanks, Eric!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing