We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great starting spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great starting spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We flew into San Jose and stayed here overnight before heading off to Arenal, Monteverde and Manuel Antonio. They were very helpful. The free shuttle to hotel and the ability to get our rental car at the hotel were really great perks. Rooms were nice and clean, pool was fun and food good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    638
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
633
909
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to Panama. We were a party of six and "all" of us were extremely pleased. The front desk staff were all warm and inviting. They provided us with a wealth of knowledge regarding things to do in the near by vicinity considering our short stay. Our rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. On our return from Panama, we arrived at the hotel just as the complimentary breakfast ended. The front desk staff asked the kitchen staff if they would provide us with breakfast and much to our surpise, they did! It was absolutely fantastic! Many thanks to the entire staff! We would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were pleased with fellow Canadian Eric Robinson's Adventure Inn - he was very thorough and detailed about what to expect about our visit to Costa Rica... giving us great tips like getting Costa Rican Colones $ before arriving, and giving us an excellent hook-up with Mapache Car Rental service. Thanks, Eric!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight out from San Jose. The hotel is very outdated. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was not good. It did not taste fresh. Drinks were good. Bed was comfortable. For $100 a night i guess its not a bad value being that a lot of the hotels are so expensive in San Jose. I dont think we would stay there again. sorry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Actually Adventure Inn was built in three stages, 1996 the front half, 2001 was the back half and the beautiful outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were added in 2009, so to say we are outdated isn't exactly accurate. I think it is all the stone work and the wall paintings, the abundance of mature plants and the Mayan statues that give it the impression it has been around longer. Our food is pretty well always fresh, we have a good turnover in the restaurant which keeps fresh food coming in. Perhaps they got some overripe fruit on the breakfast buffet but I'll be talking to my staff about rotating the food, first in - first out, it's always a challenge to stay on top of everyone. I would encourage these people to stay at another San Jose hotel, people usually end up coming back because few offer the value we do, $25 or $30 each way between other San Jose hotels and the airport, where we offer free shuttles, free international phone calls where other hotels charge $1 or $2 per minute, four free high speed guest computers so there is never any waiting, a very extensive breakfast, large fully equipped rooms, a relatively safe, quiet, uncongested and unpolluted upscale neighbourhood, yet only a dollar and ten or fifteen minutes to central San Jose by a very frequent bus service, but mostly it is a truly caring staff that understands how valuable your vacation is to you. Adding it all up, most experienced visitors find us hard to beat for the price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The front deck was very helpful. My room was clean and the towels very fresh. The food as reasonable, the bartenders knowledgeable (new where Oregon is). The hot tub could have been hotter, but the pool very relaxing. The airport shuttle right on time. I really enjoyed talking to Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

After one has journeyed for 14 hours nothing can be better than landing and seeing your name on a placard as you exit the air terminal. This would be the airport shuttle arranged by the Adventure Inn. Then a pleasant and 'short' five minute drive to the Adventure Inn itself. At the desk you're so nicely welcomed with a reservation and I noted without a reservation as well. Given this was my fourth stay there I've learned to ask for a pool-side room for ground floor physical convenience. I found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and the two queen beds to be very comfortable and attired. Yes...its an older hotel and the rooms have an old fashioned historical elegance to them. As does the entire hotel...the lobby, the restaurant and the bar. One could almost imagine a Hemingway to be sitting at the bar. The restaurant staff do their level best to provide a menu which will be accommodating with North American eating habits. Sometimes it not quite what we would expect from 'back in our world' but I found everything to be tasty and with best efforts. And the prices when compared to the rest of the country are more than fair.

As my complimentary taxi to the airport needed to be rather early (prior to 6:00 am) they substituted my free breakfast ticket for a boxed lunch waiting for me at the reception desk. Yes...it could have been refrigerated but it was more adequate for a 'boxed lunch'. Without it...it would have been a long long await for food at the airport.

The hotel will arrange absolutely any further transient service or tour service imaginable including bus or shuttle service to your next in-country destination. As well...they will give you good advice as to what kind of day trip or multiple day trip would be best for you.

The Adventure Inn is more than reasonable in their pricing and it suits my needs more than adequately. After four occasions now I would feel lost without them. I so appreciate their extraordinary service and efforts.

Stan Wegner
Near Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: All rooms were very adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanW601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose Adventure Inn based on the 1000+ positive reviews. They all sounded too good to be true but honestly I too have nothing but GREAT things to say about our stay at Adventure Inn. Right from the start Eric was awesome in responding to my emails and helping me plan our family vacation. Our famly of 5 used Adventure Inn as our home base for a week. We had family members coming in on 2 different flights and the complimentary shuttles to and from the airport at different times went very smoothly. The staff was very friendly and helpful and often anticipated our needs. All the tours that Eric set up for us were on time and exceeded our expectations. Eric took care of getting us a rental car and that too was seamless. When we left the hotel on 2 separate nights to stay overnight elsewhere (overnight rafting tour and an evening near Arenal volcano) we took day packs and Adventure Inn kept our luggage for us. The food was very good and the complimentary breakfasts were made to order and hearty enough to fill my 3 grown sons. Rooms were clean, very spacious, and the hotel was quiet at night. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Costa Rica was a trip of a lifetime for my family and we are very grateful for all the help and service Adventure Inn provided us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriE205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing