We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place surprisingly met and exceeded expectations overall. For the price, you get a lot... esp if you just need to go to the airport the next day! Free taxi ride to the airport, free breakfast (didn't get the full one due to early flight, but a pretty nice to go box!), free international calls, a pool, a clean hotel, and free Wifi. Our only issues were going beyond those things.

1) The restaurant: Sloooooooooow service. This may be inconsistent as other tables came and went before we got our main dish, but for some reason, our waitress was very slow and forgetful. The bartender took our appetizer order and when it transferred to the waitress, she rolled her eyes and blamed him for not putting in the order. So then we asked her for a dish recommendation, ordered that, then watched her write down the apps and dish. 40 minutes later, we asked for our main dish (just the chicken casado!), and she said "oh, did you order?" Also, we were told some incorrect information before we decided to eat there that we could drink our own bottle of wine with no problems, so then an hour later when we sat down to eat, we were told they checked with the owner and now there was a $15 corkage fee (our bottle was only $12).... that's more than I pay in many US restaurants! We eventually worked it out somewhat but were disappointed. There are several restaurants that are about a 10 min walk away from the hotel, so those might be better options.
2) The only other negative thing is that when we went to check out, we paid with $40 worth of colones and a $100 US bill for our ~ $98 charge. Since we were in a rush to the airport, we did not check, but found out we were given only $20 worth in change. I can't say this was intentional, as perhaps with the mixed currency there was just confusion, but it was disappointing to say the least, esp when we got to the airport and had to pay $29 pp in taxes! So just make sure you check your change when paying with cash (to get your discount).

If you're not eating at the restaurant (unless you have a lot of time to kill), I would highly recommend this place. If not for those two things, Adventure Inn would have an excellent rating. Overall, this is probably the best value hotel I've been to in a while. Oh, and read the "rules" by the door inside the rooms.... quite interesting!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank distractinwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thanks for the review, yes, you should always count your change at the time, especially when you are paying your bill with two different currencies. We have a nice wine selection, and discourage anyone from bringing their own but only in an effort to appease these guests, we allowed them to come into our bar with their own wine. Whoever they claim said there would be no corkage fee was wrong, actually it started out at $10, not $15, then my staff dropped it to $5, and finally they just said forget it and charged nothing. Why were are still getting slammed by this person after giving in, I have no idea, I am guessing it was because of the mistake in ordering, we are all human. You don't expect to walk into a restaurant with your own steak then just order potatoes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the driver with the sign at SJO airport to our departure from the hotel, the staff was efficient and helpful; I cannot remember a more customer friendly place. These employees made the start and end to a foreign country easy!

The hotel was nice looking, clean, and comfortable; the restaurant made the stay 'self contained' which was welcome to a traveler like me who had been in the air for seven flight hours!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found this hotel thru Trip Advisor and decided to give a shot with all of the great reviews. We were not disappointed. After making our reservations, we received our confirmation and several pages of info on the hotel, it's location, and all of the great day trips available thru the hotel. They've got taxis and tours lined up to make your stay in San Jose a great one. The room was large and clean. The hotel had a great pool area, but was a bit too cool and windy for the kids the two days we were there. The restaurant was great from the free breakfast to the fabulous wings, and beyond. Some one needs to buy those kitchen guys/girls a cool one.
The only drawback for me was the 15 minute walk to the mall. Some areas of the walk didn't have a sidewalk or enough room on the side of the road to fell safe walking with two little ones. At times, there was a lot of traffic flying by....but that won't stop me from coming back when I'm in San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Manager at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Unfortunately the roads in Costa Rica tend to be poor. They make sidewalks for part of the way and not the rest, they are poorly painted, pot holes all over, without mentioning how the people actually drive. Between Adventure Inn and the nearby mall, there is one block where there is no sidewalk. For that reason, we recommend that people instead walk through the neighborhood and not on the main road. It isn't really much further either. Ask the front desk for a free local area map if you plan on walking.

And for those who would prefer to drive but don't have a car, we can arrange a taxi to bring you to the nearby mall any time of day for around $2-3.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I needed a place in San Jose to spend one night in transit and my son recommended Adventure Inn. It was perfect for my needs. The staff was helpful and friendly and they all spoke English. They provided a free cab to the airport in the morning. My flight left too early for me to enjoy the breakfast my son and daughter-in-law praised highly but I was given a boxed breakfast to take. Nothing spectacular (fresh fruit, juice box and a so-so sandwich) but I really appreciated the effort. The location was great, the rooms were large and clean, and the pool area was very pleasant. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyp952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Adventure Inn just before heading out to the Airport to leave Costa Rica. The staff was incredibly friendly, and packed up a breakfast that we could take with us to the airport in the morning because we had to leave before the hotel breakfast started.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molliken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the adventure inn. The location near the airport and the free shuttle were super convenient. It was also really convenient renting a car through the hotel. The car was deliverered to the hotel promptly and we didn't have to wait at the airport after a long day traveling. The restaurant had great food including tasty costa rican food, which was great to eat as we started our trip. The rooms were very clean and very quiet and we slept great both nights. Super friendly and helpful staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were here for our first night in Costa Rica. We were met at the airport by a gentleman carrying a placard with our name on it (courtesy of the hotel), and were ferried the short trip to the hotel. It is located in a suburban location near the airport. We were welcomed and provided with information, breakfast tickets, swim towels and keys. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the hotel itself had a small gym/weight room (with a bit older equipment), four internet-connected computers for guest use, and was wireless throughout. The restaurant had a fabulous offering of foods with the opportunity to sit indoors or out, and a great dinner menu with a variety of local and international dishes, and some wonderful wines/beer. The breakfast options were great, with a large variety of fruits, cheeses, cereals and breads at a buffet, and hot options including omelettes, rice and beans, and bacon and eggs. In the morning we were ferried back to the airport. I'd recommend this one again for a smooth and welcoming entrance to the country.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNarraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
916 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing