We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Adventure Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adventure Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service, very nice people, a good dinner menu with very good food, Our rooms were large and the decor was very cool with hand painted nature scenes. There was computer access and a printer so that we could do our boarding passes and e-mail and call home. We spent two nights here, one on the way in and on the way out of San Jose airport. They arranged pickup for us at the airport and a cab on our departure at no cost. A very good value. Excellent management and that really cares about quality of service. This was our third trip to Costa Rica and we always travel on a budget on the way in and the way out. This was by far the best place we have ever stayed and we would gladly return there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaCR504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    582
    111
    52
    21
See reviews for
562
823
261
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you're on a budget, or you're just hubbing through San Jose for a night. The price is really good considering they will pay for your shuttle ride to or from the airport and you get a full breakfast. You can make free international phone calls, there is free wifi in your room and there is even a discount if you are paying cash. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel then this isn't it, but our room was clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been spending four to six weeks each year for the past 7 years at the Adventure Inn in Cariari, San Jose Costa Rica. It is my favorite hotel. It is secure, perfectly clean, has many great amenities, great location, great food, is a great value, and most of all has the nicest people working there I have met. My fiancé and I were guests at the Adventure Inn last November and we decided to get married. Costa Rica is much like Las Vegas in that it is simple for travelers to get married as there are no document or medical requirements, no waiting period, and the ceremonies can be performed by a lawyer. We asked Eric Robinson (the owner) if we could have the ceremony in the Moon Glow restaurant in the hotel and he graciously accommodated all of our needs including recommendations for an excellent Costa Rican lawyer to handle the legal matters and perform the ceremony. The Moon Glow was wonderfully decorated for the wedding and catered the ceremony with simply marvelous foods (more food than was consumed), champagne, and drinks. We invited all the employees and friends (about 40 people) to be our guests and two very special friends (Randall and Heidy) served as our witnesses. The hotel GAVE us the honeymoon suite for the evening which was decorated beautifully for our wedding. It was simply the most beautiful wedding we could have imagined. Then, we honeymooned at the hotel, swimming at the pool, having great meals, taking daytrips to the various places of interest in Costa Rica. I will not give the cost of the wedding except to say that for the cost of the AVERAGE USA wedding (estimated on the internet) we could have been married 25 times at the Adventure Inn. It is a day we will hold close in our hearts all of our lives. We give our sincere thanks to all of our friends at the Adventure Inn.

Ron and Sashka

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We would like to thank the management & staff at the Adventure Inn on the excellent service they provided us during our stay. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and the food was excellent. Your friendly staff made us feel welcome and at home. The hotel is close to the airport and we felt safe to walk around the area. We will recommend your hotel to our friends when they venture to San Jose................ Thank You,
Barry & Gaile
Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a budget airport hotel - it should not, to my mind, be the 2nd best hotel in san jose. If you are looking for a more luxury or moderate hotel to begin or end your trip, this is not it. However, as a budget hotel it was fine. Stayed for one night at the end of our trip. Eclectic jungle decorating motif. The whole place looked like it could use a good scrub down or some freshening up. Room was reasonably cleanish (cockroach in the shower), beds reasonably comfortable (mattress wasn't bad, but linens were scratchy and had some stains). The ac was loud, a dull roar. In some ways, this was good as it drowned out the drunken parties in the pool ( which our room overlooked). The worst thing was the window coverings, which did not block the bright outdoor lights.

Our wake up call and shuttle to the airport were timely and uneventful. The famed boxed breakfast looked nasty- we tossed it in the trash. I saw other travelers trying to give theirs away.

While hotel staff at first told me they could handle the departure tax, they later corrected themselves. The hotel cannot handle the departure tax for you, you will have to pay at the airport.

Location - you are about 15 minutes away from the airport by the hotel shuttle, but not in the heart of San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenGateTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am not sure why this person has a problem that a relatively inexpensive hotel rates second in San Jose? Value for your dollar is why people read TripAdvisor, anyone can pay $200 or $300 per night and know they are going to get a pretty nice hotel, so what? What separates us from others is a caring friendly staff, great location and bang for your buck. Free airport transfers before and after international flights, free international phone calls, a complimentary full buffet and sit down hot served breakfast, four guest computers, free WiFi, pre-arrival advice and planning of your vacation including low cost car rentals, tours and transfers throughout Costa Rica, plus a nice pool, Jacuzzi and small gym, and large fully equipped rooms with A/C, cable TV, full bath and interesting Mayan/Tico decore. If you leave before our 6 to 10 am breakfast, we will pack you a little take-away snack, a ham and cheese sandwich with packaged condiments on the side, fresh cut fruit and a juice box. Throw it away, why? Perhaps if this person stayed in another hotel that didn't offer this free service, nor the free early morning transfer to the airport, he would have nothing to complain about. As far as cleanliness, we have seven hard-working maids in a 34 room hotel, and it is one of the cleaner hotels you will stay in no matter how much you pay. We were built where a rainforest once stood, and with our open-concept, so we do get the occasional flying bug to pay us a visit, but we use non-toxic products to fumigate on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After our free pickup from the airport (courtesy of the Adventure Inn), we were warmly welcomed by the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and we slept well; just what we needed after a 13+ hour flight. Breakfast was good too. For a mid-price hotel, this place is great.

Now onto all of those little extras which make such a difference. The hotel staff are brilliant. Friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We used the Adventure Inn to get a hire car and they got us a good rate with Mapache. The staff were kind enough to give us lots of local information, directions and recommendation for our journey to La Fortuna. They were also really helpful when we returned the hire car to the hotel when they managed the handover back to Mapache as we had to get to the airport to get our flight home. We ate at the Moon Glow Bar before we left - it had a good & varied menu and once again, the staff were wonderful.

As a closing comment (and for UK readers), the customer service from the Adventure Inn is similar to shopping at John Lewis - for non-UK readers, it's simply the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Adventure Inn for the past two years.
We were there last week for two nights and both visits were exellent. From the front desk with Mary upon our arrival to leaving (sorry I can't remember his name--nice man with a ponytail) to the wait staff at the restaurant. I believe her name was Katia who looked after us. She even gave me some free Spanish lessons! Very sweet lady.
All the staff we met spoke Engish well which makes communicating so much easier until I learn Spanish.
I found the meals tasty and hot. The rooms were clean and the hot water in the shower was actually hot!
There's a gym and computers to use plus the ride to and from the airport is an awesome gift.
We will be back!

Deanne B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing