We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport, great for the price”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport, great for the price”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our group of five really enjoyed staying at Adventure Inn, both for the convenience to SJO airport and because it was outside of San Jose (we wanted to avoid driving in the city). We stayed there for three non-consecutive nights and each experience was great. The room was spacious and clean, no major noise problems while we were there, and a decent, large breakfast was included with the stay. We ate at the hotel's restaurant for dinner as well, which was not the best but it was convenient. The staff members were friendly and helpful. We also rented a car through the hotel which worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash-nicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    654
    124
    54
    21
See reviews for
661
927
300
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After searching tripadvisor for decent accommodations in San Jose saw that adventure inn was listed as #2, and for the price, it looked like a good value. We originally were supposed to stay our first and last nights at the Adventure Inn, but after a major snafu with Delta airlines we ended up getting routed through Nicaragua and had to spend our first night in Managua. Mike and Eric were extremely accommodating with our travel issues, and still arranged for us to meet the rental car company the next day at the San Jose airport. I must mention that I ended up renting a car through Adventure Inn, which worked out so well because we only had 6 days in Costa Rica and we like to be able to come and go as we want. We also found our hotel in Manuel Antonio through their website.
So for the hotel itself, they clearly have done a great job to add some American comforts to the ecological philosophy that is a common theme throughout Costa Rica. The decor is comfortable and thoughtful, despite what another review had said. The pool was the highlight for our six year old, and the jacuzzi was much appreciated by my husband after our travelso
through the country. The staff were all very helpful from the moment we entered. Bathrooms are easily accessible in all areas. Our room was located in the main corridor so I suppose we were spared some of the noise from the pool and restaurant area that I read in other reviews. I would imagine that the white noise from the AC would block out most outside noises anyway. Our AC worked great. I was also so thankful for the extra pillows on the beds and the hand towels, since we had been traveling in the ecological manner for the last week. That can often be a challenge with the messes a 6 year old can create. The beds were great, and as we requested we had our 4:15am wake up call and a breakfast waiting for us when we checked out. That was so nice of them, because it really did make a difference once we arrived at the airport. The taxi was early for the airport, and I was very glad we decided to rent the car through them so that we did not have to return a rental car and worry about arriving for our flight on time.
There was really only one downside to our stay, and even this was not a major thing since there are other nearby restaurants. The Moon Glow offers an array of American and Costa Rican dishes. We opted for something easy by ordering nachos, a chicken sandwich and a hamburger. Service was a bit on the slow side, even though our server was very sweet. There was complimentary garlic bread served, but it was burned and looked to have either margarine or oil poured over it after it had been toasted. We normally think of garlic toast being toasted after the oil and seasonings have been applied. One of the staff then told us that the hamburgers were still frozen (this a faux-pas in restaurants- no one wants to know they are ordering a frozen piece of meat - just say you are out of hamburgers!) and so we substituted for spaghetti. Our food was served, and I was a little surprised by the tiny salad that came in a ramikan. The French fries appeared to be homemade, although a little soggy, but nothing some salt and mayo couldn't help. My husbands nachos were soggy and the appearance was not esthetic. I should mention that my husband is an ex-chef, so food does not go unnoticed by him. It was my suggestion to try to make things easy since we had to get up before the crack of dawn. The chicken sandwich was not too bad. I am curious if the Costa Rican dishes are better. The strawberry daiquiri was pretty good, and as I mentioned because we had a lot of other pluses like the pool, cable, Internet, great beds, towels, in room coffee, etc. I can forgive the poor meal, and it was not overly expensive. In fact, my husband will extend an invitation for consulting services for the kitchen, as he thinks that is a missed opportunity for such a great hotel!
Overall, we would recommend this hotel and if we travel to San Jose again we will stay again. We really want to thank the staff for accommodating us, especially with all of our travel changes.

Room Tip: It sounds like one may need to list a preference of where they want their room located, especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eberhardtdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed one night before moving on in Costa Rica. Hotel was charming, clean and perfect for a night or two. Due to location near airport and not in downtown San Jose, would not recommend it for a long stay since there is so much to see and more beautiful locations in Costa Rica. Restaurant was good, and this was an all-around perfect place to go on the way to or from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEB470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments. The Adventure Inn is easy to find, in a safe, convenient location midway between the city centre and airport in the picturesque mountainous outskirts of San Jose. We are in Los Arcos, Ciudad Cariari, an exclusive neighborhood of elegant homes, parks, restaurants, shopping, four and five star hotels, casinos, bowling and a large upscale mall with a CineMax. Our location is in the heart of tour country offering one day tours such as canopy zip-lines, rafting, hot springs, volcanos, butterfly farms, coffee and waterfall tours, etc. Central San Jose is just a convenient and short public bus or taxi ride away. However if you do go into San Jose at night, it is best to use taxis to get around. They are generally safe, reliable, plentiful and inexpensive. After experiencing the action of San Jose day or night, most people are happy to return to our safe, quiet, unpolluted, and uncongested Adventure Inn neighborhood for a restful nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I would normally give this a rating of 3 but I would have given a 5 based on service alone. I needed a place for just the night as I had an early flight the next morning. They responded to my concerned emails that they are open 24/7 and so late check-ins are not a problem. Their email correspondence is excellent and the last email i got was several pages long, loaded with great general travel information regarding different topics from general safety to money and insects which I found very helpful.

As for the rooms, I was not crazy about the room I got which is facing the interior atrium (I think it is enclosed at the top) because the only windows faced this courtyard and you could hear the restaurant across the way and the jalousied windows in the bathroom felt a little too close for comfort with anyone able to walk by. All of this is solvable by shutting the windows and drawing the blinds and then turning on the ac for a little white noise. I later read in TripAdvisor to request a room facing the back or second level which is a great idea. I asked for the most economical room so maybe that was part of the problem. The walls were hand-painted with trees and birds which I thought felt a little more appropriate for children, which I realized might have been done to make up for the lack of a view. I was not crazy about the bedding or sheets but otherwise, the room was clean and neat and had a convenient desk area and had wonderful coffee available in a large tin. The tv reception was awful but there was plenty of wifi and you can even make free calls to the US and Canada which i thought was great but was too tired to take advantage of. I did not have the energy to check out the rest of the hotel - bar, restaurant, pool, gym.

In general, the hotel was much bigger than I had expected. It is a homey and cheery overall. I would not hesitate to stay here again as it offers a wealth of convenience, such as the free taxi to the airport at 5:45 in the morning with a small breakfast to go!

Room Tip: I read that rooms facing the back are quieter but not necessarily facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
The two storey solarium, that some of our rooms face into, is open at the top to allow breezes through, and it is transparent to allow natural light, yet keep the rain out. Many people prefer these rooms as they have a minimum of outside noise that may disturb some light sleepers, plus they have close access to the pool, ideal for kids.

All of our beds are less than a year old, queen-size semi-orthopedic hotel quality beds, not sure what we could have done there. We have cable TV, perhaps there was a loose connection, too bad the reviewer didn't bring it to our attention at the time. We presently have an artist painting most of the walls throughout the hotel in a Mayan jungle theme, and have about fifty statues throughout the hotel made by actual Mayan craftsmen, which I guess could be interpreted as childish if you know little about their ancient culture.

The reviewer was too tired to call home with our free international calls, nor did he or she have the energy to check out the bar, restaurant, pool and gym, so I am not sure why the review was even written with only limited knowledge of the hotel. It seems the longer people stay with us, the more they discover why they like us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The first time my husband & I stayed here we were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations & service; so much so that we have stayed 3 more times and will definitely stay again. The rooms are very spacious, clean & comfortable. The staff (front desk, restaurant and at the bar) have always been friendly and helpful. We have had dinner here every time we have stayed and find the food is always delicious - really love the fried tortilla's with guacamole & picco de gallo with a cold cervaza (or two) sitting outdoors by the pool. The pool & outdoor area has always been clean & inviting. We were also pleasantly surprised that we were able to call back to Canada for FREE - as often as we liked while staying at Adventure Inn. There is a small work-out room - haven't used it but it has at least a treadmill & bike (may be other things in there but I can't remember). There are also 4 computers available for guests to use as well there is WiFi (didn't work in our room (not sure why not) but it worked in the bar). The price of the room includes a full breakfast - I asked for a three egg-white omelet with veggies - and that is what I got - again delicious. If you have to check-out before they start serving breakfast they will make you a meal to go - sandwich, drink & freshfruit. They offer free shuttle service to the airport (they may offer pick-up at the airport - we have never required this service).

While in Costa Rica we stayed at a rather expensive hotel in Manuel Antonio - we much preferred our stay & accommodation at Adventure Inn - it is a great deal - I really don't think you will be disappointed.

We plan to be back to Costa Rica in 2013 and we know we will be staying at Adventure Inn again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodles99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way out of Costa Rica recently.

The hotel itself is a little difficult to find, being on a side street parallel to a highway, and we got lost in some of the gated communities nearby trying to get to it initially. Once we were there, things were fine. There is parking on site, but at times of peak occupancy, not all visitors will be able to get a parking spot.

The rooms are basic and large, clean and comfortable. It can be a bit noisy here if there are large groups staying, but that isn't really a problem when considered in light of the noise that is so prevalent in San Jose. The decor and appliances are somewhat dated, but fully functional.

We didn't quite get the same warmth from the staff that others here have reported - perhaps we didn't quite 'get it' because we are not from North America. We certainly were never made to feel unwelcome; it's just that we didn't quite get the homely feeling that other reviewers have described.

The hotel rate includes transport to the airport, however, it isn't an in-house shuttle, rather they pay for a taxi to get you there. It wasn't a problem for us, but I can imagine that at times of peak demand, this could potentially be an issue for some.

It's a good value hotel, and if you want a no fuss place to stay, then this place fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Adventure Inn at the start and end of our week long vacation in Costa Rica. We arrived after a long day of flying. The hotel provides transportation from the airport. We walked right outside and found our van driver with a sign with my name on it. After getting our bags into the van, the drive to the hotel was about 20 mins. Check in went fast and smooth. The restaurant was about to close, but they were nice enough to make us dinner. The room was spotless and the beds very comfortable. We all got a great nights sleep. Breakfast was included with the price and was very good. They offered about 6 different choices. I highly recommend the Adventure Inn. A wonderful, small, boutique inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayBay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing