We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Excellent value and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 day stay at the Inn with no issues at all. We came from Jaco which is on the coast on a wonderful bus ride which took us thru the rolling countryside and small towns(which took 2 hrs and only cost us 8 dollars).The staff were more than accommodating with crossing the language barrier, information of surrounding shops and tours. At the Moon Glow Restaurant we were served up a delicious variety of meals to suit our taste. The room was a spacious, very clean upper corner suite included with a small fridge which we stocked with some food from the market just 2 blocks away. We also went to a shopping mall 2 blocks past the market. It was just minutes to and from the airport and a to go bag with fruit, juice and a sandwich for early departures. This would be a great central hub for exploring Cost Rica and any of the tours available thru the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    630
    122
    53
    21
See reviews for
622
896
286
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

In my Short stay in Costa Rica, i spend 2 days in this hotel and it was wonderful, the staff was very helpful by telling me bus stops and guide me to see the city, another good thing to this hotel, and i think NONE those 5 stars hotel in the city, adventure inn offer FREE international call to anywhere in the world, and the WIFI was good in my roon. for breakfast i had the TICO choice and was very delicious, small dish but very good, i had to leave very early in the morning and they even prepare for me a TO GO breakfast.

those little things that they do for US, the guest are what make people come back and again.


only one concern more like recommendation is a bigger proportions of breakfast, it was delicious but more but be nice

one more thing, my arrival to the hotel was very early 9 30 am and they arrange to clean my room in 30 minutes, very fast.

my recommendation to all the people who is seeking for a good hotel nothing expensive but with quality go to this hotel.

Room Tip: my room was in the first floor, just a little noise nothing to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the kind review. Our breakfasts are all you care to eat. First you visit our buffet with several varieties of regular as well as exotic fruits, Costa Rica white cheese, home-made banana bread, two fresh made juices, cereals and porridge, toast and jam, and piping hot Costa Rican coffee. Then order from our hot menu what you want; three eggs, four pancakes, five slices of bacon, gallo pinto, French toast, fried potatoes, order an omelette, whatever you want, and if you still didn't get enough, order seconds, don't be shy! Even though we give all the table scraps to a pig farmer, if we overfill every plate, and you don't eat it all, it is a real waste in a country like Costa Rica where many people, especially children, don't have enough to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a month in Costa Rica and Adventure Inn in San José turned out to be an ideal base to come and go several times. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly and helpful, they will help you arrange anything in no time. The food is good. When leaving early, breakfast will be prepared to take with you. You can count on it that they will do everything to please their guests. It is close to the international airport and they arrange transportation for free. To Tobias Bolaños (national flights) is $ 15. The hotel is very well maintained. The walls are filled with jungle paintings and when we visited the hotel for the last time, it was nice to see how they were painted by a female artist. Nice job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groenepepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Adventure Inn at the end of our vacation before our flight home. It is not an intimate bed & breakfast, but a busy small hotel in a pretty active area by the airport. Its location is very convenient for air travel as it is only about 10 minutes to the airport but if you are looking for anything else to do before or after your flight, you really need some sort of transportation since there is not much in walking distance. The mall and a big souvenir shop are a pretty long walk away.

The hotel staff is nice and helpful. The hotel offers free transportation for international flights which was great for us. We left at 5am and our shuttle was ready and waiting for us. The staff will give you tickets for the included breakfast and if you are leaving too early for breakfast, they will prepare something for you to take with you. We had sandwiches, two big servings of mixed fruit, and juice boxes. It is a nice touch since most hotels do not do this.

The decor is colorful and the walls are filled with paintings of traditional Costa Rican scenery. There is an indoor koi pond and we always saw people cleaning inside and outside of the property. The only bad part was that we had a bunch of ants in our room, but our stay was so short we could live with that. The pool area looks very pretty although we did not use it. There were several common areas that had chairs and couches for work or relaxing. Outside of our room we had a view of what looked like a pretty nice residential area. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing and it took a bit of time to figure out the different ways to get around.

The hotel offers free internet service which was great because for the 5 previous days of our trip we were unable to use computers at all. We had a chance to confirm our flight online and catch up on emails before our trip home. There is also a small gym.

We had lunch at the onsite restaurant and were pleased with the service and our dishes. From the traditional casados to spaghetti with meatballs, there are enough choices to please many tastes.

All in all, the Adventure Inn was a good value and I would recommend it as a nice place to start or finish your trip for a day or two.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Krys N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We used Adventure Inn as a base for when we first arrived in Costa Rica, and as a place to take tours from before flying out of CR again.

For the price you pay, the hotel represents amazing value for money. Complementary taxis to and from the airport all worked like clockwork and were no problems at all. We used the laundry service which was so cheap ($12 for an entire bag!) and super efficient (put the laundry in around 9am and it was back in our room, washed and pressed within a few hours!!)

The owner, Eric, responded quickly to our questions via email before we'd arrived in CR and this was really appreciated - thanks!

We did the Toucan Ranch and Rainforest Adventure tour from the list of tours on the Adventure Inn website. Both were great - really recommended :)

If you fancy a short walk then there is a small shopping complex just down the road from the hotel (turn left out of the front) where there's an ATM, a well stocked modern supermarket, a Mexican restaurant, pizza restaurant, and a few other things.

All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and super efficient - we had a great time with no stress. Still can't get over the value for money that Adventure Inn offers!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Adventure Inn on the last night of our Costa Rican vacation. We arrived in the evening a bit harried because of our long drive from the Caribbean coast and found the Inn to be a perfect spot to relax and get organized for our flight home the next day. We took advantage of the restaurant on site and greatly enjoyed the food and the service. The next morning we were back for the complimentary breakfast as well and it was outstanding.
The decor of the hotel is very attractive and interesting and our room was large enough for our family of four and spotlessly clean. There is a nice grocery store with an ATM that is a short walk away. Before we left we even had time to enjoy the swimming pool. We took advantage of the free airport taxi service and it was handled smoothly.
This hotel is perfect for your last night, or nights, in Costa Rica, and I imagine that it would also be a great place to start a trip. The place is very well run and extremely friendly. Everyone from the front desk staff to the restaurant personelcould not have been nicer or more helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Adventure Inn is a great hotel for good connections to the airport arriving or departing. There was no problems leaving for the airport with their free shuttle service at 4:45 am, too early for the breakfast. There is nothing in the neighborhood accessible on foot. The location is OK if you have a car or are planning on using it for a base and taking tours which will pick up at the hotel. The room itself was very nice, as good as any I have had for the price anywhere . The staff was helpful with reasonable English skills. As I had no car and was only there one night I tried the bar and restaurant. The beer was reasonably priced and the food was not bad. BTW, Interbus is an excellent service providing hotel to hotel transportation between cities in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Often people who are with us for a quick stay don't realize all that our location offers. True, we are in a very safe and tranquil area but take a nice walk past the duck ponds to discover the well-appointed homes spread around the exclusive Cariari golf course, we have two nearby casinos, a large souvenir store, a new bowling alley, a small mall with an upscale Fresh Market and ATM, a large mall for shopping, banking and a Cineplex, and several eating establishments all within walking distance. We are a ten or fifteen minute bus or $12 taxi ride to central San Jose with its Central Market, pedestrian boulevard, museums, shopping and nightlife. But after your San Jose experience, I am sure you will appreciate returning to the safer, cleaner, quieter, less congested neighbourhood of Adventure Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing