We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place close to the airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Rafael, California
1 review
“Great place close to the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Friendly staff, great food & great location close to the airport. Everyone who worked there was really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    630
    122
    53
    21
See reviews for
623
896
286
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is ok for a one night stop as it needs some upgrading. The rooms were clean, but the bathrooms, bed, bedding, and furniture are in need of replacing. The room also smelled. The restaurant food was good and the service ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertoiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I were very impressed by the staff.
Very courteous and helpful in arranging our tours
and anything else we needed.
All of our meals (breakfast,lunch,and dinner) were outstanding and reasonably priced.
Room was spacious and clean and the property overall was very well kept.

Overall a great value and we will defintely stay with Eric and his fine staff again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXfirefighter581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Excellent and friendly staff. Central San Jose, and can provide tours to all the sites. Staff was friendly and helpful, clean rooms, good food. Fun place.

Room Tip: Near the airport, and can arrange day trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Unfortunately, we had only one night at this delightful boutique hotel. Adventure Inn had a car waiting for us upon arrival at the airport in San Jose which was fantastic.(complimentary)
We arrived at Adventure Inn at 7:00 a.m. after an overnight flight from Colorado. The staff made sure that we got a room just as soon as the maid arrived for work. They stored our luggage and we waited beside the lovely pool until 8:00 for our room. I think it was extraordinary that the staff allowed us such an early check in time. What a great way to start our vacation in Costa Rica. We could take a nap instead of waiting around for a room.
The beds were very, very comfortable. Pillows and linens were high quality. The food was very, very good.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We were staying pre-cruise but if we had more days, Adventure Inn would have set us up with some wonderful tours. We will do that next time. I highly recommend this hotel. Don't bother with the big ones, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My family book-ended our Costa Rica trip at the Adventure Inn. Conveniently located 15 minutes from the airport, the hotel offers a free taxi transfer to and from the hotel. The rooms are large and clean with comfortable beds and a decent hot water shower. Amazingling both local and international calls are free so we could immediately call our daughter at home in Seattle to let her know that we had arrived safely. Staff are friendly and helpful and a full cooked to order breakfast is inlcluded. All for under $100 a room per night! The hotel also secured a taxi to take us the 3 hours to our rental cottage at Monteverde (cost $150 one way). Food in the hotel resturant was good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Adventure Inn was fantastic! The staff helped our family in countless ways. They had rooms waiting near the restaurant and pool as they knew we were travelling with toddlers and they did not want us to have to walk very far to our rooms. They assisted us by refridgerating milk for our babies (twins), and when we had visitors to the hotel (car rental associates, shuttle transfers, etc) they came right to our room to let us know. We stayed at the beginning, and then in the middle and then again at the end of our trip and was welcomed each and everytime. This hotel is expert in making transfers within Costa Rica painless- they have a scale for weighing luggage, they offer free international calls, and they happily offer to translate Spanish for you (one front desk associate even ordered pizza (in Spanish) for us!!!). The breakfast was exceptional and the restuarant was reasonably priced and very tasty for other meals as well. The cleaning staff were always happy and the rooms were spotless. We have travelled throughout Central and South America and this small hotel is now our favorite due to its location, its services and above all its staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylPhippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you Cheryl,

Invariably, the more times and longer people stay with us, giving themselves an opportunity to experience all of our services, the more they appreciate the advantages, location and value of Adventure Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing