We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, wonderful People”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Lovely Inn, wonderful People”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a beautiful place. Just getting off the plane, tired. They couldn't do enough for us.Had a bit of problem with our bus for next day, they straightened it out for us, even though we did not book through them. I \thankyou.The room was spacious and clean, the decor beautiful. But the most important part the people, very friendly, made u feel you were important to them. The food was delicious. We will be staying on our way back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    656
    124
    54
    21
See reviews for
668
930
300
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

It's a very basic hotel, close to airport but nothing else. I was mislead by all these reviews on trip advisor. If i had known, i would not have chose this hotel for my stay.

If you are looking for a convenient, clean hotel near the airport, then yes. But if you also want to explore San Jose a bit, then a BIG NO.

Things to consider before booking:
1. Far from the center. Yes you can take a bus, but if you want to go to a nice restaurant for dinner and maybe for music, you cannot do that with the bus. Will have to take taxi which costs and takes time (for evening outings).

2. Plumbing problems: water temperature of shower kept changing. Hate that.

3. Noise from the guests upstairs. You can hear people going up and down in their room upstairs.

4. Pool area, restaurant and bar, nothing to brag about. I would't want to spend much time there.

The positives are as people mentioned them in other reviews: free wifi, free int'l phone calls, good service, close to airport, free shuttle etc.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outlaws_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
If these people wanted a hotel right in the center of downtown San Jose, why didn't they stay at one instead of blaming us? It's no secret we are conveniently located half way between central San Jose and the international airport in a relatively safe upscale suburban neighborhood. If you want restaurants, bars, nightlife, etc. there is no need, as these people seem to think, to go into central San Jose with its inherent crime, pollution, traffic, poverty and confusing road system, not to mention its utilitarian architecture. There are dozens of nice upscale restaurants, bars, nightlife, casinos, golf, bowling, a Cineplex, wonderful souvenir stores, grocery stores, numerous banks and three malls all within a ten or fifteen minute walk from Adventure Inn. If you still want to go into central San Jose, convenient buses leave about every five minutes only two pleasant blocks from our front door. But if these people did stay a central San Jose hotel, they would be looking at a $30 taxi fare from or to the international SJO airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent our last night at the Adventure Inn before flying home. The room was very large, beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The desk staff were very helpful with getting us a taxi into town and answering questions we had. The hotel offers one free transportation service either to or from the airport which was one reason we chose this hotel. Our flight left very early in the morning and they had a packed breakfast with juice ready for us at checkout and the transportation was ready for us. This is a great place to start or end your trip to Costa Rica. Would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family of five stayed here on our first night into San Jose on Jan 22. I would definitely come again!! One of the great things is arriving at the airport and having a free car pick you up to take you to the hotel. My kids loved seeing our name held up on a sign!!

The room was pleasant with three large beds. Breakfast included was adequate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA,USA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at the Adventure Inn on January 26 and 27, 2012. Everyone was very courteous and welcoming at the hotel. Our room was large, airy, and very comfortable. At first the bed seemed very hard, but it slept wonderfully. The included breakfast far exceeded any complimentary breakfast I have ever had. This Inn is a great value for a place to stay in San Jose. We plan to be back in 2 days and expect the same wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmer484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at Adventure Inn for 3 nights . The people there greeted me with smiles & loads of help.
The rooms were big and clean , the pool area, bar & restaurant had a lovely Costa Rican feel.
The bus that they had arranged to pick me up late at night had a guy with a sign with may name on it and made it very easy when arriving at a hectic airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Adventure Inn is a good value hotel, it's not a fancy place but it had everything that we needed. With a free taxi to the airport and a free breakfast, and great wifi, where else can you get such a good deal?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing