We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant wait to stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
southborough
1 review
“cant wait to stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

i really liked the adventure inn. I was only there for 2 nights but what a nice place . This was my third time to costa rica . Last year we stayed right near the airport for our last night or two before going home, and the year before that we stayed downtown. I hated both. I couldn't wait to leave. I am so glad to have stayed at adventure inn, i really enjoyed it there. Our room was big , bright and clean. The breakfast is so good. We had dinner 1 night and it was delicious. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Adventure inn has so many tours to offer, There is a mall you can walk to. We felt safe. I am looking forward to staying again on my next trip to costa rica !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    638
    122
    54
    21
See reviews for
633
909
288
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ticowife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

The adventure inn is a quaint, cozy inn with friendly staff. The prices for the very clean and comfortable rooms are very reasonable. As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe and comfortable here. I really appreciated the free, prompt and courteous taxi transfers to and from the airport. The complimentary breakfast was very good and offered many choices from Tico to North American style breakfast. Wifi worked great and 4 computers available free to guests are a lot considering how small the inn is. They are pet friendly for a small extra fee. you could easily make this inn your base for exploring Costa Rica since it is so affordable and they offer a wide selection of Tours. I will definitely return to the Adventure Inn. My only criticism is that I thought for meals other than breakfast, the restaurant prices were very expensive even compared to New York prices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ticowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Very good value, clean room, free one way taxi from airport, free internet.
Wake up call on time. Very helpful staff. Don't get room #28, right by the pool and tons of noise until 9:00PM. We missed the breakfast, left hotel at 4:15AM for airport. With all these positive things, I hate to mention anything negative..... Take away breakfast was Bimbo bread and 2 kinds of fruit. After checking in, we went to the restaurant for a snack, chips and guacamole were not good, but pico de gallo and black beans were very good. Don't order a margarita, very odd tasting, stick with beer. Dinner was also very mediocre, we ordered fish, maybe not the right choice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Canadian owners provide loads of good information when you book, including exactly how to reach the hotel by taxi from the airport - for which the hotel will pay. Location excellent for the airport, less good for the centre of town but that was not a worry for us.
Our room was large and more than adequate (apart from noisy air con). We were upgraded, some of the other rooms I glimpsed looked more cramped. Restaurant modest but very good. The other big plus was that the owners and staff were really knowledgeable and helpful about onward travel in Costa Rica.
Altogether a good stay. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We were greeted in less than 3 minutes, checked in quickly. We did have an early flight, communicated our needs to the receptionist. We had our wake up call on time, had a bellman waiting by our door 10 min. prior to leaving and a Taxi waiting for us at the front door.

I did take note of the carpet runner in the common hallways, this did significantly reduce hall way noise and provided for a quiet stay. The room was large, and clean. The linens were clean and ample in supply for our occupancy. Our bed was comfortable, firm with out lumps. The A/C unit sufficiently cooled our room. The hot water did take a few minutes to come thru the tap, but there were signs explaining this. I ran the hot water while I brushed my teeth and put out my shower supplies. Once the hot water arrived it was sufficient for me (I take a 5 minute shower) and the pressure was adequate.

We did eat in the restaurant, I enjoyed the fish, my husband had the chicken. The service was solid, the food tasty.

We did take advantage of the free WiFi, which was a plus. The management did a great job of posting helpful information in the room. This was a great place to complete our stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

In March 2011 I stayed at Adventure Inn for the first and last nights of a trip to the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica. I stayed here the previous year before heading to Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean coast because it is a stop for Interbus. This year, I was taking a Nature Air flight from Pavas airport to Palmar Sur the next morning. This hotel is in a good location midway between the international airport and Pavas airport where Nature Air is located. It is about 10 minutes from the international airport and 15 minutes from Pavas. Adventure Inn will credit your cab fare from the international airport (about $11) to your hotel bill so they basically pay your cab fare to the hotel. For the last night of my trip, they paid the fare from the hotel back to the international airport. I had to pay the fare to and from Pavas (about $15).

The rooms are basic, but large and clean. There is a small coffee maker along with coffee and sugar for that first cup of coffee in the morning (a nice touch). Breakfast is included in the rate, and is served in their onsite restaurant/bar from 6am to 10am. There is the usual American fare as well as Costa Rican specialties. If you need to leave earlier than 6am, the hotel will pack a sandwich and fruit to go. For lunch or dinner, the restaurant serves a great half-pound cheeseburger and fries for around $9.

The hotel is located in a rather up-scale neighborhood and is within walking distance to the Cariari Mall, restaurants, and grocery stores. After spending a good part of the day in airports and planes, it was nice to be able to get out for a walk. If you just feel like relaxing, there is a new pool and jacuzzi. There is also a computer room with 4 computers available for guests’ use as well as an exercise room. Need a taxi? No problem. Just let the receptionist know, and one will be waiting when you get to the front desk.

Like many hotels in the area, Adventure Inn will let you store your extra luggage until you return. This is a nice service since the local airlines have a 25-pound weight limit.

When I returned for my last night in Costa Rica prior to an early flight home the next morning, I went online and learned that my flight from Costa Rica had been canceled. Nancy at the front desk offered to call the airline office in Costa Rica and find a person who spoke English so I could make alternate arrangements. Not a big deal, but I really appreciated her help.

I wouldn’t hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmh5563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Excellent, friendly and helpful staff from the front desk. Clean, big rooms, with even a coffe maker to taste the nice "café tico".
Delicious free breakfast for every night of your stay. Free ride from or to the airport.
It's near the Cariari Mall where you can find fast food restaurants and a supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tool_lateralus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing