We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here”
Review of Casa Girasol

Casa Girasol
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Girasol
Ranked #45 of 65 San Jose B&B and Inns
Arcata, California
1 review
“do not stay here”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you love the strong smell of Bleach and Pall Malls, then this may be the place for you. I stayed for 2 hours and had to leave, the bathroom, the smallest i've ever seen, and quite moldy, despite the reeking smell of bleach everywhere, no cross ventilation in the room except to have the door open which wafted the smells of the owners chain smoking, they said cooking would be ok but the stove was broken and they offered up a toy sized electric skillet to be put outside for the cooking option. The location was in a small stuffy neighborhood and a streetlight which was on 24/7 dominated the view out the window. we paid for the week and was only refunded 1/2 the money when we realized we couldn't stand to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carebouttruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We were slightly apprehensive arriving in San Jose and we could not arrange an airport transfer through the guest house. We decided to book a transfer through a desk inside the airport and although the driver did not know where Casa Girasol was, the directions given to us when we booked we excellent and we had no trouble finding the place.

The guest house is located in a quiet, residential area of town with security guards at the entrance to the street. We felt very safe there and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of central San Jose. The town center was about a 30 minute walk away but there was a few local shops and restaurants nearby and a taxi into town would have only cost a couple of pounds max.

The most memorable aspect of our stay was Pierre, who owns the place, he was a great help to us while we were planning our trip around Costa Rica. He gave us advice on the great places to visit and areas to avoid, he even phoned the bus companies to find out the bus times. Without his help we may not have seen as much as we did. However my boyfriend and I found his over interest quite creepy at times!

The rooms were very nice and homely, however I would not use the word luxury as suggested on Trip Advisor. The first room we had was cramped and not that nice but we were moved into one of the better rooms when we were infested by flying ants!! The three other rooms were a good size and the only criticism we had was that there was no TV on the room. The price of the room included breakfast which consisted of toast, jam, tea and coffee. We were looking forward to trying a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, however we were told that because other guests didn't like it the option was not available. This was sightly disappointing as we feel it would have cost very little extra and would have greatly enhanced our stay.

The only other negative was that there was no internet access as advertised and we had to go to the local internet cafe up the street and pay to use their virus invested computers instead.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The host wrote his own description on the website that we used, and it gives bad directions. It states to turn left at the Italian Restaurant, but it's a Mexican Restaurant. We drove around for more than an hour looking for the hostel by the Italian restaurant. None of the Taxi Drivers knew where it was, and we went to an internet cafe and they tried to call, but there was no answer. Then the host acted annoyed that we were late...we told him that we were checking out at 4:30 am to catch a flight back to the US. Upon check-out at 4:30 am, he tells us that it's cash only. He should have mentioned that before we tried to use up out last colones at the bar around the corner. So we're trying to rush to the airport and he tells us to go to the ATM. And he yelled at us for coming home late. There was no mention of a curfew when we checked-in, either.

On a good note, the place was very clean and on a safe street.

The details need to be printed clearly in the website: specifically, that there's a 10pm curfew and it's cash only. It was a decent place to crash for a few hours before leaving Costa Rica though.

  • Liked — It was very clean and on a nice street
  • Disliked — Poor communication by the host
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripcostarica, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Guests came in from the beach seemed to have consumed alcohol, checked in and said they would go for some drinks returned at 2 in the morning, we were extremely worried because they said they would check out at 4 am to go to the airport and return their rented car. Must have been bad interpretation, we do not scorn at guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

zone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This place is a wonderful little diamond in San Jose. It is a home away from home. I have stayed there several times and prefer it to some of the finer hotels in San Jose. By way of comparison, it is easier to locate, and certainly more comfortable. and it is cleaner than the Hotel Cristina that I had stayed in 3 weeks prior and paid $150 for the room. The rooms are all private and each has it's own bathroom, with Hot water and breakfast is included. Pierre and his wife are very hospitable and helpful. I will stay there each time I visit San Jose if it is available. you should too.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank hesnot4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

This is a wonderfull place, my daughter and I stayed there. This was our first trip to Costa Rica. Pierre, who owns the place is a great host. we arranged with him to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel, which was nice ($12) and worth it, arriving late. We were walcomed with wine and a sat talking about everything and anything until late. the morning you are greeted with coffee, bread and jam. There is a small garden where you can sit and watch birds come to eat. He is a wealth of information and a great person. The atmosphere is like staying with a friend. My bank card did not work at the Banko National and I got a bit worried, Pierre made a phone call and told me which banks my card would work at. Advised us on great inexpensive places to eat, and places to stay and would arrange bookings and give us directions, call taxis. He helped make the trip so enjoiable!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank arty2history
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

The place is small, only 4 rooms. It is the atmosphere that makes it wonderfull the owner that makes it great. He is a fount of information and will help you in anyway he can. It is like staying with a frind rather than staying at a hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank arty2history
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Girasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Girasol

Property: Casa Girasol
Address: Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect home base for backpackers, independent travelers and small groups, unique in its style in San Jose. A place where you can relax, plan your excursions, talk to experienced backpackers and globe-trotters. We speak French, English, Spanish and others languages. For your comfort we have 5 spacious rooms, some with double and some with single beds. They are clean, each with a bathroom with real hot water showers. Double rooms Private en suite (private bathroom). Single rooms Private en suite (private bathroom). We are situated less than 5 minutes from bus terminals serving Costa Rica and Central America, we will be happy to assist you with schedules and directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Girasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Girasol Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing