We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple, clean and very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1492

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 1492
Ranked #13 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Simple, clean and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at hotel 1492 with my family (5) during our trip to Costa Rica, we were very pleased by the service, the warm welcome and the support for transfers, advises... The hotel was nice, authentic, colonial style, clean, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les_Lololoumalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
26
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's small and the owner and his wife are almost always around to be super helpful and kind.

My partner and I are vegetarian. When we asked about a restaurant on the first night that might be safe to walk to, the owner's wife said she'd give us a ride as she was headed that way anyway. In the car she gave us the best local's orientation possible! On another night the owner walked us down the block to point out a place he thought we would like. Also when it was time to leave they called and confirmed a cab for us! This kind of hospitality and professionalism made a major difference in our whole vacation! We can't express enough gratitude.

On top of all that it's in a nice quiet neighborhood. We met other visitors who complained that San Jose was loud and crowded, but staying here that was not at all our experience. We loved morning breakfast, not only was it fresh but their courtyard is lush a beautiful--perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The price is right for this hotel but the breakfast selection is fairly average. It was, though, a nice introduction to the 'tipico' Costa Rican breakfast. The hotel is located closer to the east side of San Jose and some taxi drivers do not appear to know where it is. Driving from here to the highway out of San Jose (toward the Pacific) is a challenge. Hotel staff is helpful (especially Nils). We did not even know that trains were running (we stayed from Friday to Sunday night).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel about 5 times over my trip and loved it nice and quiet - there are trains but they didnt really keep me awake
the garden is really cute and there are lovely paintings everywhere
the area is a short walk into san jose
good restarants around here as well
olio, mediterraneo and limoncello
the staff here are fantastic really helpful- i would reccommend this place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunagh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this place.
The building is very charming at first, but the noisy train at 6am to 10:30pm can ruin it all! Also walls are too thin and you can hear everything is going on next door.
The breakfast is very poor - comparing to other options in San Jose for the same price.
Tiny room, difficult to stay longer if you are not alone in there.
We planned to stay there a week but canceled in the 2nd night.
We went to Costa Verde Inn; it's in Escazú, a bit far away from the center, but at least we could sleep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

A hidden gem! Quiet, relaxed, clean,, good breakfast and coffee, internet, secure. Very comfortable, airy, sunlight, Lots of living room, well decorated. Bi-lingual staff, quiet and safe/beautiful neighborhood. I am a businessman from USA and an experienced Central American traveler, having lived in Belize, Nicaragua, and San Jose.
The value is great. I love this pace!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dino017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Agree with previous reviewer about noise of train. That said, and on the basis of a three-night stay there, I will look here first next time I an in town. Good location, atmosphere, service, and cleanliness. We were offered a nice glass of wine when we came in after spending each day touring.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1492? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1492

Property: Hotel 1492
Address: Calle 31-33, Avenida Primera, #2985 | Barrio Escalante, 300 metros al este del parqueo trasero del Cine Magaly, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 1492 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 1492 is a cozy hotel near downtown San José, with only 10 rooms you will feel this experience as if you are in your own house. Located in a safe residential area "Barrio Escalante", one of the first neighborhoods in the 1940's, with parking lot ideal for the passengers traveling with car, it is close to San Jose, downtown. Three words discribes our Hotel 1492 Peaceful, Art and History - come and stay with us!!! 12 excellent nearby restaurants, cinemas and shopping centers. Ideal for executives who visit Costa Rica for business or vacationing families. 10 conmfortable rooms that include cable TV, Wi-Fi, private bathroom with hot water, full a la carta breakfast served in the Typical Ranch surrounded by a beautiful green garden. Due to the very nice weather of San Jose, it is not needed the air conditioner, all our rooms have ceiling fans instead, hairdryer, phone, cable TV, security box. We coordinate transportation airport-hotel / hotel-airport car rental and tours for your enjoyment. We offer corporate rates for longer stays. We accept credit and debit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 1492 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1492 Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing