We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception staff are very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Autentico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Autentico Hotel
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reception staff are very friendly”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The rooms are quite basic (although I've heard there were better rooms) but it was comfortable and secure.

It's about a 30 minute walk town but with so much to see, it doesn't feel that long.

The reception were able to order me taxis and provide a map of San Jose.

Room Tip: Although the road outside isn't a main road, traffic starts at 6 in the morning and was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80Lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    94
    81
    29
    19
See reviews for
32
91
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I was shocked when I read reviews of this place. I think this used to be a cruddy hotel and they are renovating the rooms now. I'm apparently I. One of the new ones because it is absolutely flawless.

Our room is a standard room and it is like an apartment. Very large. Gorgeously decorated. Comfy beds. Modern furnishings.

Wifi is reliable with average speed. Breakfast is more than expected. Quiet. Safe. Pool area is nice. Staff met us outside and helped carry in our luggage. Cleaner than most American hotels. Wow!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is good, nothing extraordinary. The worst part in my opinion was the breakfast which didn't offer anything nice, but it was only 8 USD so...
All in all a good hotel but you shouldn't plan on spending too much time in it. Do stuff instead! Many in the staff are good at English.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VilleNKPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Absolutely awful, shoddy rooms:P
Obviously nothing done with most of the rooms since the 1980s, dirty linen, no fridge and worst of all, no A/C - tortuous for someone with asthma. No safe to put valuables, security consisted of one crummy door lock which could easily be picked; especially unnerving in an unsavoury part of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

CARY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was at the hotel for a ARCR seminar and it did all I needed. It is conveniently located in San Jose on the NW corner convenient to the park and central city. In only costs $5 by taxi to get anywhere. The rooms were clean but not fancy. In fact, some might like the feel and call it traditional. The wireless worked, the restaurant was not cheap but convenient, and the staff was helpful. Nice pool in the middle but I did not use it.

Room Tip: Always stay as far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on the first night and last night of a G Adventure tour. On the first night we were given a standard room (room #1). The room was very basic, in need of a renovation and had shower pressure better suited to a car wash. There was no A/C and with the window open at night the street noise was quite loud.

On the plus side, the lobby and pool areas were quite nice and the staff very friendly.

On the last night of our tour, the hotel was full so we got upgraded to one of their newly renovated suites. Wow, it was like staying in a completely different hotel. Beautifully designed, spacious and A/C. Be warned about the open concept shower, though. I flooded the bathroom when I used it because the slant of the shower floor does not accommodate draining very well. My husband took a strategic approach after my troubles. He had better results but water still spilled into the bathroom. He placed the shower head as close to the drain as possible and kind of blocked the entrance with his body so the water flowed the right way. I've seen this design in a few hotels. It never works. I wish they'd consider function over form.

Again, on the bright side, we asked the staff to mop up the water and they did so immediately.

If you plan to stay in San Jose for longer than a night or two and your budget allows, either book the higher end room or look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We started and ended a g-adventures tour in this hotel. It was a nice place, with a nice pool and restaurant. Had hot water, nice beds and were very accomadating. Front desk was able to answer questions and helped us rent a car. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacts
Hotel Cacts
#48 of 85 in San Jose
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#33 of 85 in San Jose
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autentico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autentico Hotel

Property: Autentico Hotel
Address: Ave 5 and 7 calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Autentico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Hotel offers guests the experience of an oriented values and customs of the Costa Rican people personalized service. With a total of 80 rooms, guests have a wide variety of facilities to meet their different needs. Considering the needs of our guests the authentic Hotel, offers pool areas, restaurant and parking. Authentic Hotel is a destination city, with a family atmosphere that highlights the charisma of Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Autentico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autentico Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing