We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restaurant, Spectacular Views, Classy and Chic, Great Music and Entertainment, Delicious Food”

8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #118 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 8ctavo Rooftop offers a combination of premium cuisine using only fresh and local ingredients, amazing views of the Central Valley and great music nightly.
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Restaurant, Spectacular Views, Classy and Chic, Great Music and Entertainment, Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining and taking part in the nightlife at 8vo various times and I LOVE it. I am always greeted with warm smiles, great service and delicious food. Sometimes I go for lunch and combine a little computer work with the pleasure of the atmosphere and food and other times I go for dinner and stay after for drinks and great music.
I have met people from all over the world and locals alike.
Whatever experience your looking for, your sure to find it here!
I give it a "love" not just a "like!"
Cheers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    25
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my top 5 favorite spots in San Jose!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

By far one of the coolest social scenes in San Jose, from the ambience to the music to the food, 8ctavo rooftop is one of my favorite places to hang out when I'm in the city. The views from the rooftop are spectacular and the music and bar scene at night reminds me of some of my favorite restaurants and lounge clubs in SF, LA, Miami and NYC.

INSIDER TIP: If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, the Sheraton Hotel offers special weekend rates of $100 per night (double occupancy w/ breakfast included) for Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. My expat friends and I will come up to San Jose, spend the night at the hotel and hang out at 8ctavo upstairs.. and we don't have to drive anywhere to get the best of both worlds, stay in a super swank hotel and dine and party at a super hip restaurant/bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarlowSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food not as Great as Restaurant Design”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Looking at the restaurant design and the location I expected better quality food. The menu description sounds delicious, but the food was greasy and I could make myself a better dinner at home. Definitely not worth the price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great due,great food,great ambiance”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The fusion food and the view are getting together to offer a special experience at 8vo rooftop,
service and ambiance takes you to an another experience ..¡

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Swank lounge with amazing food and spectacular view of the Central Valley"”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Top shelf experience, impressive on every level. Great service here. Went for dinner and drinks on a Saturday evening and headed to the 8ctavo rooftop. It was a gorgeous night and the vibe was great! It's a very classy place. As you walk from the elevator bank into the main dining/bar area you feel like you're transported to another place. They were playing a good mix of music, people were sitting and chatting. The crowd was great. The food amazing and the vibe - hip, chic, swank. Highly recommended on the "to do" list of San Jose.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineFeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing