We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, authentic and great food!”
Review of Alma de Cafe

Alma de Cafe
Ranked #4 of 39 Coffee & Tea in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Somos Alma de Café, ubicados en el Teatro Nacional, el lugar ideal para disfrutar de un excelente aperitivo en el Teatro Nacional
Restaurant details
Description: Somos Alma de Café, ubicados en el Teatro Nacional, el lugar ideal para disfrutar de un excelente aperitivo en el Teatro Nacional
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The cafe is in the National Theatre and a great place to have a coffee, some great cakes or small meals. It reminded me of coffee houses in places like Vienna or Prague. Beautiful place. Service is very good, prices are reasonable. Would highly recommend it and for sure combine your visit with the tour of the theatre!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank HellenM671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for lunch after a day of sightseeing. The cafe is located in the theater - and use to be only for men (women ate on the other side of the lobby). Our lunch was tasty - lasagna and crepes - and reasonably priced. Service was also good.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank dvkremk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Alma de Teatro is a café located in the grand Costa Rican national theater in downtown San Jose, and a great production in itself! It offers a range of interesting coffee drinks, tasty sandwiches, and delectable desserts. Everything we had there was both lovely to look at and delicious to eat. And after just one visit, the amiable wait staff recognized us. The only downside? The atmosphere there is so unrushed that it was difficult to get the check at the end of a meal. We highly recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoGal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

We went for a family breakfast. The “Five Regions Costa Rican coffee was fantastic: freshly ground pour-over drip coffee prepared table-side.

The spinach quiche was buttery, flakey and delicious. And the desserts! The last time I recall having such great baked goods was in Vienna. Chocolate cake, a tiramisu Napoleon, and a warm brownie pecan roll topped with ice cream, oh my!

Our service was a bit slow and the waiter spoke no English, but we highly recommend a visit here. The atmosphere is delightful and the food is top-notch.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank EricK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Really really good espresso in a lovely 19th century atmosphere. Trust an Italian. Prices are average for San Josè.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Gianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma de Cafe also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Alma de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing