We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Posada del Sol
Ranked #26 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Given the price of this hotel, it's not such a bad deal overall. The staff were mixed but the breakfast was tasty. Having said this, the room we stayed in wasn't the nicest and didn't seem to reflect the photos online.

In terms of location, we struggled to find any reasonably priced restaurants nearby which left us wandering uncomfortably at night; however, there seemed to be more options during the day.

Unfortunately we were awoken by the sound of a cat jumping around on the roof which was rather disturbing until we figured out what it was!

Also, the bedroom had an unusual layout with a toilet behind a magnetic door on one side of the room and a shower on the other side which made it seem less like a hotel and more like a prison cell...

Nonetheless, you get what you pay for and overall it could have been a lot worse!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pros: This hotel is located right in the center of San Jose. The rooms have television. The breakfast is very good. Good room for the price. There are some pretty good restaurants nearby.

Cons: It's about a $20-$30 taxi from the airport. Restaurants in the vicinity close early.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dpp41386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Posada del Sol was fantastic for our quick two night stay in San Jose. The staff were extremely friendly, sweet and attentive.
It's really clean, cosy and has a deliciously filling breakfast!
There is a nice outdoor patio in the backyard and the place has free wifi. In addition, it's safe and secure. We stayed in a private double and would definitely reccommend this place to anyone passing through San Jose.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

i was there 1 month ago and i really have a good time is a very friendly place, the breakfast was excellent and the staff was like my family they always help you in everything and all was very clean, i will recommend this hotel to everyone was a very good hotel and was close to everything

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada d, Gerente at Hotel la Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

First of all Thank you for your time.
Hotel Posada del Sol them hello, and thank you for your kind comments about the hotel.
We hope to have a visit on another occasion and that his opinion regarding the cleanliness, service and the treatment I provide is maintained, Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends. At the Hotel Posada del Sol, you will always have the satisfaction of feeling at home. thankss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First of all the Roms are really beautiful. The Hotel consists of 5 double rooms, which have a big comfortable bed and at least 2 fans. The bathroom was very clean and the whole interior was setup with a special look for the details.

There was a safe in the room and in Front of each room you can enjoy a nap in the comfortable hammock. The whole Areal was very quiet and you were awaken by the birds in the trees.

Laetitia the owner was one of the nicest persons we met in Costa Rica and assisted very kindly in all of our questions.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TheFunkmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada d, Gerente at Hotel la Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We appreciate your valuable comments and the time you use to write this comment.

We are happy to know you enjoy our rooms and Hotel cleaning in general.

Our staff is always looking to provide the best service and is for that reason that our guests feel at home away home.

We hope to serve you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Posada del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zorimanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank France C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Echavarria
Casa Echavarria
#13 of 68 in San Jose
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#3 of 68 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#4 of 68 in San Jose
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
#39 of 68 in San Jose
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Posada del Sol

Address: Avenue 6 Street 21 and 25, House # 2194, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $16 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel la Posada del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada del Sol offers free Continental breakfast, Wi-Fi connection throughout and is located in central San Jose. The hostel has gardens, hammock area, and lockers.The rooms feature private bathrooms with free toiletries. They are simply decorated, have a ceiling fan and cable TV.Posada del Sol has a kitchen that all guests can use, and the on-site restaurant serves only breakfast. Just 200 metres from the property is an oriental-style restaurant.San Pedro Mall is 130 metres from Posada del Sol, and the bus station is 100 metres away. The Costa Rican art craft market is 300 metres and San Jose International Airport is 20 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel la Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada Del Sol Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing