We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stress-free Costa Rican Vaction”

Costa Rica Expeditions
Ranked #2 of 132 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Expeditions, unique travel experiences since 1978.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed December 26, 2015

We had a wonderful one week trip planned out by Costa Rica Expeditions. We started out in San Jose, then went to Arenal with our naturalist guide Gustavo, who was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife in the area and very friendly. We ended our trip in the Osa Peninsula at Lapa Rios. The trip planned out for us was relaxing, luxurious, and educational all at the same time. Every activity and hotel chosen to match our desires were perfect. This company will plan out a great trip for whatever type of vacation you seek without any of the stress, worries, or language barriers that typically accompany foreign vacations.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear John D,

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us here on Trip Advisor.

When we plan private day trips for a guest, we design each day to be exactly what you want. It can be full of adventure and challenging or relaxing, luxurious and educational. We take the time to fully understand what kind of experiences you are dreaming of and then tailor each private day tour just for you.

In addition to that, you don't have to worry about anything. Vacation time is precious and one of the most important parts is your peace of mind.

Thanks again and Feliz Año Nuevo!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tortuga lodge"
in 79 reviews
"travel planner"
in 44 reviews
"naturalist guide"
in 37 reviews
"monteverde lodge and gardens"
in 13 reviews
"zip lining"
in 47 reviews
"costa rica"
in 254 reviews
"cloud forest"
in 33 reviews
"punta islita"
in 8 reviews
"osa peninsula"
in 19 reviews
"day trip"
in 45 reviews
"corcovado national park"
in 6 reviews
"wish list"
in 10 reviews
"activities planned"
in 6 reviews
"pura vida"
in 37 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 33 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 28 reviews
"manuel antonio"
in 40 reviews
Filter

440 - 444 of 649 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2015

We recently spent 11 days in CR on a worry free vacation full of adventure, nature,and relaxation . We worked with Elena at CR Expeditions and she was very good at email communications and addressing all questions prior to our trip. I have traveled a lot and always enjoyed planning my own trips using trip advisor and Rick Steves but my husband and I had a stressful year and wanted to turn it over to someone else. We were not dissapointed. We were there for 11 days and stayed 2 nights in San Jose, 3 nights in Monteverde and 5 nights in the Gulf of Papagayo. All the hotels were outstanding. We had just the right amount of adventure and relaxation. The tour/nature guides were so nice, fun and knowledgeable. CR Expeditions arranged all the transportation and everyone was always on time and all the drivers added to our incredible experience. While in CR we received frequent communications by email and written notes from CR Expeditions on pick up times. If you can afford the financial splurge using a travel company you will not be dissapointed in CR Expeditions.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Richesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Richesin,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on your Private Day Tours, here on Trip Advisor.

Where we really standout in my view is by providing our guests with peach of mind.

Peace of mind during the planning stages and peace of mind once you are here.

During the planning stages you can sit back and enjoy the process of designing your vacation with your Travel Planner, without the stress of actually having to communicate with every one of the suppliers in the chain.

While you’re here, you don’t have to spend any time worrying about if and when you will be picked up, the quality of your guides, the driving of your drivers and the authenticity and safety of your experiences. We take care of everything and let you know each evening when you need to be ready for your next private day tour and what you need to be prepared for.

Our offices are open 365 days a year from 5:30am – 9pm and we have someone on call 24/7, so if there is any sort of a problem, be that a change of tours, a change of time, illness or even a lost teddy bear, we will take care of it.

We hope that you will come and see us again.

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2015

I really can't say enough good things about Costa Rica Expeditions. I've traveled extensively and rarely use a tour company. However, when researching our first trip to Costa Rica I wasn't really sure which part of this amazing country we wanted to see. The questionnaire that they have on their web site got me hooked. It was so detailed and they really got to the essence of what we wanted to experience. Our trip planner Gustavo did an amazing job, we barely made any changes to his original itinerary.

From beginning to end our trip was perfect. All the transportation was there when they said it would be, the tours were exactly what we wanted and the people were so warm and friendly. We really felt like VIPs the entire time. I'd like to specifically thank Gustavo our trip planner, Mauricio our driver, Stephanie one of our guides, Willis another guide and Diego who we met on the flight from Tortuga Lodge to San Jose.

I highly recommend Costa Rica Expeditions, they are a top-notch organization.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Milesandwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015

Dear Milesandwatson,

We are so happy to hear that your time in Costa Rica and the private day trips that we arranged with us were exactly what you were hoping for.

The form that this guest mentions is what we call our Wish List. If you're interested in having us put together private day trips that are tailor made just for you, you can visit our site and fill out the form.

If you have given us enough information to work with, we will introduce you to a Travel Planner that will work with you until your plan is just right. If we need more information, your Travel Planner will ask you questions about the private day trips that you have in mind and when he or she as all of the information needed, you will get an initial proposal that you can fine tune from there.

We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review in Trip Advisor and for recommending our services. We hope that you enjoyed Costa Rica enough to want to come again!

Felices Fiestas,

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Doing a lot of traveling, we wanted this anniversary trip to be low stress and full of adventure. That... was exactly what we got! Priscilla worked with me to coordinate an 8 day trip, experiencing East cost rain forests, central cloud forest and volcano activities, and ending on the Pacific coast relaxing on the beach and exploring the small towns. It could not have been a better vacation. CRE/Priscilla also added in a special package to our first night in Tortuga Lodge making it super unique, fun, and all the other couples jealous. ;) There is something pretty awesome about the attention we got throughout our trip and the feedback that even our drivers had delighted in the fact that they were working with CRE.

Some highlights:
- Tortuga Lodge - So much good to say about this place and the employees. Drinks getting off the boat, cold towels at dinner, great attentiveness and food. Super location, and beautiful area.
- Historic tour/Turtle tour at Tortuga were fun. We had rain, of course, but the group is readily prepared. We got to see a lot and then drive back in a rainstorm which ended in a nice cool evening cruising the rest of the river.
- Arenal Volcano area - Kioro - Absolutely stunning. There is nothing like waking up in bed, looking out the full windows past your feet at the cloud covered volcano. There are so many activities in that area, and we loved just about everything with them.
- Cloud forest, Nectandra, is a really great place for those that like enveloping yourself in the environment. It felt soooo much like walking in to jurassic park. Even the meal, and information we gained, was amazing.
- Hanging bridges bird watching - Of course it rained a bit, but we saw some cool birds, monkeys, and I got some great environment pics!
- Mountain bikes, well, that was the one tour I would not do again. It was fun, but whew it was hard. :)
- Ecotermales - It was beautiful, peaceful, and a really great way to relax.
- Sky Zipline - OMG how awesome that was! GoPro mounts, so I got some great videos of that trip. So fast and so high... and because of CRE we got an extra harness. Once again the other tour people were jealous!
- Transportation everywhere was almost like a personal tour. Private 4 seater plane, in the bus rides it was just my wife and I, and on the tours sometimes we were the only ones there. It was like a private adventure!!
- Tamarindo, Capitan Suizo, was a great way to end the trip. Very relaxing, wandering around by ourselves, sitting on the beach with a fresh coconut cut open, and walking through town daily.

I cannot give CRE and Priscilla enough praise for this trip. We always felt very safe, had great guides and drivers, and it was almost like a private honeymoon again. Thank you so much!!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Eldros27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015

Dear Eldros27,

WOW, thank you for taking the time to share the diversity of experience that you and your wife enjoyed on all the private day trips that you booked did with us. I'm delighted to hear that your anniversary trip felt like a private honeymoon!

You had a lot do do with this success because you shared your wishes and expectations for your vacation with us. That allows us to really tailor each private day trip so that it's just right for you.

Thank you so much for sharing! It's people like you that make it all worth it!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2015

CRE knows the natural side of Costa Rica & has the professional staff to introduce you to it. Carlos Vasquez led my son & I through a full day & evening of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. His knowledge of the birds, mammals, reptiles & insects was encyclopedic and rivaled only by his kind & generous nature. He is committed to being the finest of guides and providing the most awe inspiring of experience. My son & I walked out of the cloud forest with appreciation for the forest ecosystem & respect for the man that led us there.
Mark Levy

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed our Naturalist Guide, Carlos Vasquez.

Up until recently, Carlos worked as a free lance guide in Monteverde, but we recently have hired him to be with us full time and we are thrilled.

Carlos was born in the city of Quepos, on the central Pacific coast of Costa Rica. His love of the outdoors was transmitted to him by his parents. Some of his earliest childhood memories are of looking for crab and shrimp the forests of Mangrove forests of Quepos and then back at home, his mother's delicious soup.

Carlos' father was a truck driver and for a time Carlos thought he wanted to follow in his footsteps. He then thought of becoming a doctor, but finally as an adult he realized that his true passion is conservation.

Although Carlos does not have a formal degree, he has 18 years of experience as a Naturalist Guide and countless hours in the forests of Costa Rica. After his family his love is nature and conservation. Guiding has given Carlos the opportunity to get to know guests from all over the world and all walks of life.

Not only does he enjoy interpreting the forest, tracking creatures and explaining he environmental phenomena that the world faces today, he also likes to hear of guests lives in other parts of the world and learn about what they are interested in, what they do and what made them decide to visit Monteverde.

When he's not delighting guests on the trails of Monteverde, Carlos enjoys playing soccer and spending time with his wife Martha and their daughter Jimena.

Thank you for sharing how much you and your son enjoyed your time in the cloud forest with Carlos. We hope that you will come and walk with Carlos again.

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Expeditions also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Costa Rica Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing