We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Tour Company”

Costa Rica Expeditions
Ranked #2 of 132 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Expeditions, unique travel experiences since 1978.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 2, 2015

As the "family travel agent" I started planning our trip earlier this year and quickly realized I needed assistance in planning all the activities we wanted to do in Costa Rica. After some researching I found Costa Rica Expeditions. From our initial communication to the end of our trip - all who helped us throughout our journey were fabulous !! Our trip coordinator, Nadya Shaw did a spectacular job in planning our itinerary. We described the experience we wanted and she arranged every detail perfectly. Her response time to any inquiry and attention to deal is exceptional! I would recommend her to do 100% of the trip arrangements. I doubt any personal research can beat her experience or knowledge of Costa Rica, excursion companies or hotels in the country. We took her recommendation on everything except for our final hotel stay and I must say, I wish we would have gone with her recommendation.
With Nadya's help, our trip was completely stress free! We were met at the airport by a private naturalist guide, Jonathan and driver Mauricio. We spotted them right away and the car was waiting to drive us to our first destination. Wonderful to not have to worry about getting transportation! Jonathan served as our naturalist guide until we reached our 2nd destination. He is an absolutely wonderful person and knowledgeable guide. Mauricio did a fantastic job navigating the roads and we felt completely safe in all our transports. (Subsequently, we requested Mauricio for all our transports during our trip.) We spent our first 4 days with Jonathan and Mauricio and their company was splendid! It was so nice to have them with us as we were getting acquainted to the country. We visited 3 cities (Arenal, Tortuguero, and Manuel Antonio). Our excursions included zip lining, waterfall repelling, bike tour, volcano walk, white water rafting, a river cruise through Tortuguero National Park and a coffee plantation tour. Each excursion company was truly first class. COSTA RICA EXPEDITION is TOP NOTCH IN THE BUSINESS OF TOURS AND HOSPITALITY . This was shown by each representative of their company who helped us and all of the excursion companies they contracted for our different activities. From our experience, request Nadya as your travel coordinator , Jonathan as your naturalist guide and Mauricio as your driver .
TRUST YOUR TRAVEL PLANNING TO COSTA RICA EXPEDITION, once you contact them, you won't have to think about anything other than what a great vacation you will have.
THANK YOU CRE! You did a spectacular job !!! All tour companies should use your business model.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Dhruv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Dear Dhruv B,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay in Costa Rica. Nadya has been working with Costa Rica Expeditions since 1991, and her responsiveness and warmth towards our guests is as impressive as her deep knowledge of the country and what it has to offer travelers. All that makes her a great person to help plan out your private day tours.

Thank you again for your review. We are really pleased to read that all the representatives of Costa Rica Expeditions you encountered was able to impress with their service and availability. We’re proud of Nadya and the rest of our team.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tortuga lodge"
in 79 reviews
"travel planner"
in 44 reviews
"naturalist guide"
in 37 reviews
"monteverde lodge and gardens"
in 13 reviews
"zip lining"
in 47 reviews
"costa rica"
in 254 reviews
"cloud forest"
in 33 reviews
"punta islita"
in 8 reviews
"osa peninsula"
in 19 reviews
"day trip"
in 45 reviews
"corcovado national park"
in 6 reviews
"wish list"
in 10 reviews
"activities planned"
in 6 reviews
"pura vida"
in 37 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 33 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 28 reviews
"manuel antonio"
in 40 reviews
Filter

468 - 472 of 654 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2015

We travelled as a couple.Every detail for the trip was taken care starting from day 1 to the last day in CRE.The people that represented CR expedition were very caring to make sure that the trip was going well .They planned our trip with every detail that we had requested.Had a great time and would recomend CR Expedition to anyone wanting to visit CR.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Sheni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2015

Dear Sheni01,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I’m glad that you enjoyed all the people you met on your Costa Rica Expeditions private day tours, and felt that they were taking good care of you. We do everything we can so that our guests recognize early and often that they can relax and leave the details of their vacation to us.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Date of experience: June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

My husband, son and I travel a lot. I usually plan all of the trips myself. However, for Costa Rica, I decided to turn to the experts-Costa Rica Expeditions. We flew in to San Jose and visited the Osa Peninsula and the Arenal Volcano area for 8 days, 7 nights. From beginning to end, it was seamless and so pleasant.

Aside from their supreme planning and attention to detail, Priscilla Jiminez and the entire Costa Rica Expeditions staff is exceptional! Neils greeted us at the San Jose airport and provided us with a great overview of our vacation to come. He was always a welcome sight throughout our trip and a great first introduction to the Costa Rican people.

Both Irma and Mauricio were excellent drivers to and from La Fortuna/Arenal, respectively. I really loved and appreciated the opportunity to practice my Spanish with them on the drive as well as get to know them. They were so pleasant and patient with my Spanglish. Most of all, they both are a wealth of information about the region and Costa Rica in general, giving us a much better understanding of the country and its people.

Having everything so well planned, receiving their reminders about the next day's pick up and activities, and the incredible accommodations at each stage of the trip made Costa Rica one of our best trips to date and we travel extensively. The activities and pace were perfect for our needs and preferences.

I certainly would not hesitate to recommend Costa Rica Expeditions to family and friends. I will definitely use their services again in the future!

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank kpcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Dear Kpcod,

Thank you for taking the time to review Costa Rica Expeditions. Even for experienced trip planners like yourself, it’s good to know that we can serve as a resource for lining up customized private day trip. After all, why should you have to study Costa Rica’s 11 regions, 50 prime lodges, and over 100 possible activities? Not to mention the logistics of transportation between destinations, which if you’ll ask any visitor to Costa Rica are far more daunting than they look on the map!

On a related note, I was pleased to read how comfortable you were with your Costa Rica Expeditions drivers, Irma and Mauricio. Our drivers are certainly fountains of information about the country, and that’s great you got to work on your Spanish! Safe, comfortable and enjoyable transportation between destinations can really make the difference on a trip, and make even time on the road a part of the vacation experience.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We used CRE to plan our 13 night honeymoon in the country. They designed a fantastic itinerary that met our needs and preferences really well, out planner was Luis Cubero (we even bumped into him in one location - such a nice guy!). Our itinerary was the perfect mix of luxury and immersion in the country and culture, we loved every second of it! We stayed in Tortugero, Monterverde, Osa Peninsula and Bajos del Torro, a brilliant mix of climates and experiences. While we were in-country, all our transfers, pick ups, luggage movements etc went like clockwork, we never had to worry about anything, there was always a guide or driver or set of tickets waiting for us exactly when and where they said they would be. All the guides, drivers and staff were helpful, friendly and keen to point out all the interesting flora and fauna along the way. We cannot recommend them highly enough.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank alison_zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Dear alison_zoe,

We’re honored to have helped with your Costa Rican honeymoon. It’s great you got to work with Luis, especially given some of the remote locations you visited on your trip – you truly got off the beaten path and into some beautiful areas of the country. Luis is a former geographer and knows Costa Rica back to front, so he’s the perfect guy to help plan your customized private day tours in places like the Osa Peninsula.

It’s great to read that organization went like clockwork. That’s what we shoot for, as it allows our guests to focus exclusively on enjoying their vacation and discovering Costa Rica.
Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Expeditions also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Costa Rica Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing