We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Costa Rica Expeditions
from $646.00
More Info
from $606.00
More Info
from $2,948.00
More Info
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
613
11
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
11
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tortuga lodge travel planner naturalist guide monteverde lodge and gardens costa rica cloud forest zip lining osa peninsula punta islita day trip wish list corcovado national park private dinner activities planned white water rafting pura vida manuel antonio
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 626 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2015

Costa Rica Expeditions, Nadya and the operations group did a fantastic job or planning and executing a fantastic vacation. All of our wishes were considered when designing the itinerary. This included types of locations but also specific travel and diet restrictions. Everything was executed like clockwork with wonderful guides and drivers throughout. I wish they managed tours in other countries for future vacations. I would definitely use them again in Costa Rica. If you have any doubts - don't! This is a premiere travel group who manages all details.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank MollyV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Thank you very much for sharing how much you enjoyed planning your private day tours with our Senior Travel Planner, Nadya Shaw.

When you come to us you get customized planning, arranging and operation of your private day trips. We hand pick the locations, activities, guides and even the menu depending on what you want to do.

If you’d like to work with Nadya, just let us know!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

Elena,
When we began talking, I thought I was giving you an easy assignment: a group trip (group provided) in which everyone would do the same thing each day. Well, it didn't turn out quite that way! With your help, we refined our daily schedule and activities, to be sure, but didn't believe we would be asking you about language school, home stays, arrival on different days and different flights, extensions to the beach...the list is long and you accommodated us all with a smile (at least it always felt as though you were smiling over the phone), excellent communication and it all worked out. Not only that, but you arranged for sweaters and medicine to be returned to owners from one site to another and to provide bags of your own favorite blend of Costa Rican coffee. You are a wizard! Pura vida! Jim S.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank JamesSaltonstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with other people considering our services how much you enjoyed planning your private day tours with our Travel Planner, Elena Monge. I can guarantee you she was smiling on the phone, she is super soft spoken a sign of how sensitive she is to what her guests hope to experience on their private day trips.

Elena is from San Marcos de Tarrazu, a mountainous region in the Costa Rica central highlands that is renowned for its award winning coffee. As a child, Elena spent most of her summers working with her family on their coffee plantation. To this day, she says that she is passionate about all things coffee and one of the things she most enjoys is spending her summer weekends with her faamily picking coffee. It was in the coffee fields that Elena learned to interact from people of all walks of life, from the hard working labors to buyers.

Elena's second passion is languages. Aside from her native Spanish, Elena speaks English, French, some Italian and basic German. Her love of people and languages combined perfectly for her career in the travel business. She has only been with Costa Rica Expeditions since 2010, but she has a total of 15 years of experience as a Travel Planner. When not following up with guests that are in Costa Rica, designing private day trips or surveying the coffee plantation, Elena enjoys music, catching up with friends and dancing.

If you’d like to work with Elena, just let us know!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

We had a complex itinerary as our trip was of four weeks duration and we were anxious to see as much as possible of the different aspects of the country, its flora and fauna and the geography. Costa Rica Expeditions put together an excellent itinerary enabling us to meet our requirements.
The guides, particularly Andrew, and drivers were just so knowledgeable and enthusiastic and, unlike our experiences in other areas, never gave the impression that they had "seen all this stuff before', they always bore in mind that it was all new to us. All those with whom we had any contact did a great job. We would heartily recommend this operator to anyone.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2015

I didn’t have the privilege of meeting these guests personally, but would have loved to; they are such great travelers and hit on so many important points in this review about their private day tours and also their reviews of Monteverde Lodge and Tortuga Lodge here in Trip Advisor.

The point that they touch on here about guides is super important!

“…The guides, particularly Andrew, and drivers were just so knowledgeable and enthusiastic and, unlike our experiences in other areas, never gave the impression that they had "seen all this stuff before', they always bore in mind that it was all new to us…”

You can always tell when a Naturalist Guide is truly passionate about what they do and a professional when they get as excited as our guests about what they are seeing. One thing that we do very different as a company is that our guides don’t do the same thing day after day; we mix it up for them so that they are visiting different locations and guiding different private day trips. We keep it different and interesting making it easier for them to provide an exceptional experience for our guests every day.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015

We had Costa Rica Expeditions arrange a 10-day trip for us (2 couples in our 50's). The entire experience, start to finish, was fantastic. Based on our preferred dates, price range and interests, CRE pulled together a proposed itinerary in a matter of days. We tweaked it a bit, and then put down a deposit. It was incredibly easy, and surprisingly affordable. At every step, our email contact person was courteous, fast, and thorough. But the real proof of the pudding was how great the trip was. Every lodging was fantastic, every transfer was smooth as silk, every guide or driver was full of personality and information. The pacing was also great--we were very active and saw a ton, but were not overwhelmed, and had just enough down time to appreciate that we were on vacation. We even added an activity at the last minute, and the logistics were just as smooth and flawless as the activities we'd scheduled months in advance. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend using CRE to anyone planning a trip--they could clearly and easily tailor a trip to the interests and capacities of any group. We are not typically tour types, but this trip was put together much more efficiently and better than we could have done ourselves, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the experience instead of stressing over the details ourselves.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank JER0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

I really appreciate this guest review; it allows me to expand an important point that we all have to consider when thinking about a vacation and whether to go with a company like Costa Rica Expeditions or try to do things on your own.

This guest said:

“they could clearly and easily tailor a trip to the interests and capacities of any group. We are not typically tour types, but this trip was put together much more efficiently and better than we could have done ourselves, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the experience instead of stressing over the details ourselves.”

The first thing to consider is how much vacation time do you get? We say that all vacation time is precious and in our view that’s true. But for those who don’t have a lot of vacation time or really need to be inspired and rejuvenated it’s especially important. The same goes for people that have had an especially hard year or really need to connect with loved ones. When these are the things that are at stake, the value of the vacation time goes up. In our view, this is why it’s important that someone have your back and set the stage so that you can accomplish your goals. This is when customized planning, arranging and operation of private day tours, is doubly important.

The other thing to consider is, how important is peace of mind to you? Peace of mind while you plan and peace of mind while you’re here. Do you love the planning and researching process? Or does it become another chore that has to be done when you get home from work? When you’re here, are you the kind of traveler that gets a laugh out of a wrong turn resulting in going a couple hours out of your way or a botched reservation or bumped tour? Or are you the kind of traveler that is more anxious and would tend to stress out about these kinds of things. The kind of person that after the first thing went wrong would spend the rest of the time stressing over the next drive, activity or hotel (that’s me)?

Buen Viaje!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015

We've traveled in Costa Rica several times in the past and always planned our own trips. We always enjoyed ourselves and had great trips. BUT this time we decided to try Costa Rica Expeditions and LOVED the wonderful service we got!! All the venues we visited on our private day tours were beautiful and filled with natural beauty - and our naturalist guides and drivers were all stellar! If this sounds too glowing, I assure you I'm not overstating the quality of the venues/guides/drivers provided by CRE. I will absolutely use them again on my next trip to CR - took ALL the worry our of our vacation which made it COMPLETELY relaxing!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank KKamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with others that may be considering us for customized planning, arranging and operation of private day tours.

It’s especially telling that a person that had been to Costa Rica on her own several times decided to travel with us and plans to continue to travel in Costa Rica with us. The big advantage to planning your private day tours with us is that you will have peace of mind while you travel! There will never be something gnawing at you, you can relax, enjoy and spending time with your loved ones knowing that we have it all covered.

Our Naturalist Guides and our Spanish speaking drivers play a huge role in the service that we provide. All are professionals with years of experience delighting guests.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews