We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Costa Rica Love is super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Love is super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The owners are very friendly and speak English. The rooms are clean and the common area is very cosy, feels like your sitting in someones living room instead of a hostel :) You can book a private tour to the Arenal volcano, the owner will take you. Very nice, be sure not to miss it! You will see and swim in the best waterfalls you've ever seen and after you can go in the hot springs. You will also learn about the plants and the birds, you can really tell the owner loves Costa Rica. That's probably why his Hostel is named Costa Rica Love ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson-Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
wow you got in the point of the creation of the name COSTA RICA LOVE good!! and better when people apreciate!! we really have fun and learn together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
29
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pros: This is a fantastic place to stay, as it's very clean, has a great (read: cheap) shuttle system to and from the airport, and has great facilities (full kitchen, internet, free coffee and tea). Also, free pancakes in the morning!!! Grocery store really close by, and a delicious Chinese place within walking distance.

Cons: if you have a back problem, the beds might make it worse, as the bed in the private room was really saggy and made my boyfriend's back hurt. ALso, there was only one bathroom in the entire hostel that I could see (I stayed in a private room). Maybe the dorm rooms had their own bathroom?

Room Tip: Private room has a saggy bed that made my boyfriend's back hurt :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tae_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
we have 2 bathrooms for the share rooms with hot shower and toilet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

In all respects but one, this place is friendly and an excellent value. There was a misunderstanding about breakfast being 'free' and charges were added to my account. Nice people there and a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
free breakfast = 2 panckes per preson +coffe + tee
tipical breakfast = $4
american breakfast = $3

we charge you becouse you request a tipical breakfast

tahnks for the review too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Costa Rica Love Hostel for one night when I arrived in San jose. Nice little house with small rooms, great for an overnight stay. Free shuttle from the airport and back, very friendly staff.They served us a drink when we arrived and free breakfast in the morning. Great place to stay if you're on a budget! The owner even drove us to the bus station the next morning for free :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very convenient hostel in a familiar atmosphere and located in one of the safest places of Costa Rica, near to transportation, restaurants, supermarkets, airport, commerce and shopping. Meylinge & Manfred, the owners, are very polite and lovely. It doesn't exist anything perfect and CR Love is not the exception, but being the most inexpensive hostel in the country makes it hot an very attractive. It really worth the little money we paid. Keep it up your good job & the prices down while you correct the little problems! I Dream an Almost Perfect Hostel!

Room Tip: The private rooms are very good, and we can help to keep the prices down by not wasting electricity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
really thank you and we will do it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I enjoyed the stay in the Costa Rica Love Hostel. It is a small but cosy hostel in a familiar style, inside a normal house in San Jose. I think its the cheapest alternative in San Jose. Its not in the center, but there's a bus to the center just around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zoania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
bus just 10 min to the comercial area...but here you better enjoy ur rivers aand bikes activities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Unfortunately the place was not very clean. The mattress was on the floor and there were roaches. The staff was very pleasant. The area is nice and close to bus stop. There was a basic free breakfast which we did nit partake of so I cannot comment on the quality. Would not return or recommend to any of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tlg552000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricalovehostel, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
was a pleasure to help you giving the best rates and service...
we hope that you do not need to come to us again... we were verry funcional for you but some pople like you do not apreciate as we can read .
the extra bed is a rolling bed that you reques to be all together in the same room,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 76 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#5 of 66 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#22 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garden
The Garden
#3 of 76 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms

Property: Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
Address: Santo Domingo Polideportivo 150 Meters East, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
costa rica love is the best option for backpackers in costa rica, cheap rates, clean rooms, breakfast ,coffe , tee, wi-fi connection free , big tv, terrace and special rates for tours.take your time and visit us...safe money, enjoy the safest area of costa rica, full of nature,rivers, the rain forest just 20min or tucan rescues sloths, coffe tous and many morewe have share dorms, privates rooms with share and privates bathroomsdicouver why people always come back 2,3,4 and many more times ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Love Apartments & Rooms San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing