We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever!!!”
Review of Sapore Trattoria

Sapore Trattoria
Ranked #9 of 637 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An enchanting restaurant in the very hearth of San Jose, with authentic Italian cuisine and spotless service. Everything is hand made. Try the Festa della Pasta, for a fix price you can try 5 different handmade pastas and the Festa Mista, where you get also fish specialities and meat cuts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have been to Italian restaurants all over the US and my husband has been to them all over the world this one blows them all away! If you find yourself in San Jose CR make a point to eat here. The food was amazing, the staff was impressive and the wine OH the Vino!!! Drink at least one glass of their house specialty! And get dessert!!! Prego!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventuresofmandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    88
    31
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
2,513 reviews
862 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,676 helpful votes
“Poor....I have no other words! ”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We went there based on the recommendation of our hotel staff and the very good reviews on here on Trip Advisor.

Service was excellent but everything else was just not good. I had the prosciutto and mushrooms pizza and was very lacking taste. The dough was not all the way cooked and the prosciutto very salty. My wife had the tomato soup and the stuffed mushrooms. The soup tasted like the tomatoe sauce you put on pizza but creamier. There was only 5 very small mushrooms and they were soaked on tomatoe sauce as well.

So for the small soup, 5 tiny mushrooms, a personal size pizza and two glasses of wine we paid $55!!!! An absolute outrage for the portion and for how the food tasted. I would recommend Limoncello Ristorante instead.

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaporeTrattoria, Owner at Sapore Trattoria, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Steve,

we are happy you appreciate the service, and at the same time we apologize if your food didn't match or exceed your expectations.

With regards to prosciutto we it is one of the few things we don't produce, but we import it form one of the best producer in Italy.

Regarding the Pizza, being a authentic Italian restaurant, we only serve one size, which is the only size you find in Italy, approximately 14 inches, which serves one person.

Prices: Stuffed mushrooms 4.850 colones ($8,5)
Tomato soup: 3.750 ($6,5)
Pizza mushrooms and Parma: 5.950 ($10,5)
Wine by the glass 3.200 ($5,5)

We believe these are more than reasonable prices for an Italian Restaurant which most of the reviews identify as one of the best Italian restaurant in Town.

You mention Limoncello as an alternative: I like the restaurant, although this is not a proper Italian restaurant but a fusion of Italian cuisine, thus not 100% comparable with us.

We warmly invite you to give us another chance anyway, we are sure we'll keep up to our name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply delicious”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

can't miss a night in this very unique restaurant where everything is handmade. We tried a Festa della Pasta menu, 5 tasting of different handmade pastas. simply delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Wonderful first night of our honeymoon”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We came her for the first night of our honeymoon. The restaurant is in an excellent location near the national museum. We were treated royally when the staff learned of our special occasion. We ordered two entrees and an antipasto which was too much food. We easily could have shared a meal. I would especially recommend the risotto with sea bass. We had a fruit flambé for dessert which was fantastic. The staff was extraordinary. The owner came by to check on us and how we liked our food. The restaurant was accommodating to our small romantic evening, a couple with an infant, as well as a large school group and everyone seemed to be having a great time. We would highly recommend to any visitors of San Jose.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaporeTrattoria, Propietario at Sapore Trattoria, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Katie! It was a huge pleasure having you for such an important moment, and we hare so happy we had the chance to add a little bit more to the time of your life! Please send a big hello form Costa Rica to your husband Matthew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Not quite as Italian as I expected”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

San Jose does not look like the sort of city were it is easy to find a good
restaurant. Therefore we decided to consult the recommendations in Tripadvisor
and headed for Sapore, hoping to find decent food served at a reasonable price.

The place looks unremarkable from the outside and reasonably OK from the
inside. We ordered carpaccio with parmesan as a starter, followed by filetto
all'aceto balsamico and a pizza. The main course was fine, although the cheese
on the pizza tasted a bit weird. We drank Italian white wine with the meal. Our
waiter was very polite and encouraged us to try a "limoncello tiramisu" which
unfortunately tasted too sugary, not creamy enough and slightly soggy.

We finished the meal in proper Italian style with two espressi and a grappa.
Total cost was slightly over 55 Euro. According to our waiter the chef is
Italian, therefore I was expecting a little more Italian taste - I know Italian cuisine, since I am Italian....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaporeTrattoria, Propietario at Sapore Trattoria, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear friend, we appreciate your comment and we apologize if we coudn't offer you the experience you were looking for and that you couldn't share the same opinion the great majority of our friends and customers show.
Our aim is providing a first class autenthic italian food, where all our product (bread, pasta, dessert...) is totally hand made.
We will be extremely happy to have you here again, we are sure this time we will meet and exceed your expectation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapore Trattoria also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Sapore Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing