We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here last month for a week hotel was awesome this place was very clean, short walk to anywhere downtown, staff was great extremely helpful, and at a great price this will be my hotel of choice on future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late June, 2013. It is an incredible bargain for a central San Jose Hotel. The rooms are very well kept. The renovation has been done beautifully. They are certainly very clean, as well.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Guy, the manager, is right on top of the slightest hint of a problem. Like any new operation (the renovated hotel opened in January) there are obviously still a few things that need to be brought up to date. However, it is obvious that they are doing it as quickly as possible. For example, they are going through the hotel floor by floor and looking for any dead spots in the Wi-Fi. They have put in about 100 new routers and it is splendid Wi-Fi in most of the hotel now. If it is important to you, as it is with me, simply ask to be put on a floor where they can absolutely guarantee the best Wi-Fi.
The rooms are a terrific bargain. A "standard room"at the Mona Lisa is about $20 or $30 less than the same class of room elsewhere in the central area.
Congratulations to Guy and all of the other staff! I know that I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoda3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Guy , the hotel host, put me in a room with double pain windows, as they all have. QUIET. He booked a massage for me with the hotels LMT, Yorleny. Being in the health care field I get a massage every Thursday for the last 32 years. She is the best LMT I have ever seen. She can do Swedish or deep tissue. If you are from China and like gua sha I found her very capable in this field also. Dr. Mark

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mona Lisa in San Jose Costa Rica. The hotel was a great value. It came highly recommended and I was not disappointed. The rooms were neat. clean, and spacious. The hotel staff was kind and very accomodating. The hotel is centrally located and close to several night life establishments and restaurants. The hotel was very safe. I cant see staying anywhere else while in San Jose. You will definitely enjoy your stay here and want to come back.
I highly recommend it.2

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed five days and had a very comfortable stay. The people were very friendly and very accommodating. I must say that the highlight of my stay was two massages by their in house masseuse. Yorleny is her name and she a licensed massage therapist that is as skilled as any I have experienced.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited the Mona Lisa in May of this year. Thanks to Guy marketing director, and his staff. I had a great time. At one point I had an issue with my room safe it was resolved in 15 minutes.

The room was emaculate. Meals excellent and the staff very accomodating. The atmosphere of the hotel was tourist friendly.

Looking forward for my next trip. Thanks, Guy and staff

Jay Silverstein
Farmingdale, NY

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stay at the Mona Lisa for 8 nights. Outstanding service from the staff and a great value for a hotel in San Jose. The rooms are nice, big and clean. Good breakfast - available all day. Free internet and free phone calls back to the U.S. Excellent staff to make sure you have a pleasurable visit. Anything you need, from recommendations to restaurants to taxis, just ask.

Room Tip: You can choose a room with two full size beds or a king size bed. Take a look and make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Hotel and Casino

Address: Avenida 11 Calle 3 Bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10103, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Mona Lisa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taormina Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taormina Hotel and Casino is strategically located in the historic neighborhood of Barrio Amon in San Jose, Costa Rica near the Financial Center of the Capital. It is close to cultural attractions, entertainment, and only 25 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. The property features 90 magnificent rooms, distributed in a four story building. We're a very inviting hotel with a distinguished Costa Rican style and a friendly bi-lingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taormina Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taormina Hotel And Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing