We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Taking into account the service, comfort, and decor, this was the best hotel stay my husband and I have ever had.

We ate at the RBG. The food was not fancy. It was good value and well-prepared.

Very helpful front desk, Fernando, we think was his name, was particularly helpful.

Short walk to the downtown, including pedestrian-only streets. We walked about 10 minutes to the bus station to take the public bus to the airport.

Little things we appreciated:

- Fine control over the air system
- Specialty teas in the room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the review!

We are glad to read that you liked Park Inn by Radisson San Jose!
Park inn by Radisson San Jose is looking forward to improve our service, thanks for let us know that the food was not wonderfull, I will send the information to our chef to work to improve this area.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    411
    89
    23
    22
See reviews for
177
379
91
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would like to extend a special "Thank You" to Eduardo (front desk), Arturo (front desk), Vanessa (housekeeping) and Jose (Restaurant). Each of them went above and beyond to answer questions, cater to our needs and ensure our stay was excellent.

My other half and I stayed here for 7 nights. As a Carlson Club Gold member, I was upgraded to a suite upon check in (early check-in to be more specific). I was very pleased with the room...separate living area, spacious, gorgeous bathroom. The room looked exactly like the website. It included a mini-fridge and coffee-maker. We were able to purchase bottled water and other drinks from a convenience store on Paseo Colon. The hotel is new and very clean. When our room was serviced by Vanessa (housekeeping), she made sure our stuff was extra tidy and created an animal figure with the towels.

Customer Service:
Excellent! The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the guests. Eduardo (front desk) always greeted me by name.

Location:
The location is off the beaten path and could be considered remote by some. The surrounding area is “urban.” No problem for us, but it depends on what you are used to. Downtown is about a 20 minute walk. The nearest fast food restaurants (on Paseo Colon) are about a 5-7 minute walk, however, the restaurants deliver to the hotel. We ordered from Pizza Hut, but also had the option to order from fast food chains such as Wendi’s, KFC, etc. We do not speak Spanish, so Arturo (front desk), placed the order for us. I wasn’t aware of any fine dining restaurants in the immediate area.

RBG Grill:
There is a decent selection of food (nothing spectacular). We dined here several times and utilized room service. The breakfast buffet is O.K. , however, the Chef is more than accommodating. There is no omelet bar, but upon my request the chef willingly prepared an omelet to my specifications. Jose was our waiter on several evenings. He was very personable and receptive to any of our questions. Good luck in your advanced English class!

Pool/Gym:
The pool is small and designed for a “quick dip.” Don’t expect hours of relaxing pool side. We utilized the 24 hour gym…nothing fancy, but adequate.

Internet:
We never had a problem connecting in the room or anywhere else in the hotel. The connection speed was great.

Concierge:
The concierge on duty worked for Gray Line Tours. You are able to book tours with Gray Line and purchase your airport departure tax voucher through them (as opposed to waiting in line at the airport). The focus seemed to be on Gray Line’s offerings. I asked the front desk for general info on taxis and the surrounding area.

Airport Transfers:
This was arranged through the hotel for $35 USD (one-way). Pick up at the airport was very efficient. Someone was waiting for us with a sign with our name on it upon arrival. We were than whisked into a taxi van and driven about 30 minutes to the hotel.

Note:
There was no bellman. I am not sure if this is in line with the hotel’s business model. I have stayed at other Park Inns and some have a bellman while others don’t.

If you are looking for a new, clean property with excellent customer service, Park Inn San Jose is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks!

We really enjoy to read your review, we really appreciate that you take the time to write it, I just read it to all the people that you wrote about, and they are really happy because their job was appreciated.

You know that every time you need to stay in San Jose, Park inn San Jose is your home away from home.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@arkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The building is brand new, the staff is helpful and they always have a smile on their face, great food and room service.
Ideally located on the down town area was the perfect pick for me before continuing my CR adventure!
The manager is always around making sure everyone needs are fulfill!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for the review!

We are proud to be one of San Jose favorite hotels, our guests are always looking to come back, maybe because what you said about the service, or our comfortable and spacious rooms, or the delicious food, or maybe just the combination of all those facts.

We keep working to give a better service and more facilities for our guests, so every time you come back, you will see something new to improve your stay at Park inn by Radisson San Jose

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is nothing more to add than what you see on the website: the rooms look just the same. No surprise at your arrival.
Few points need to be raised:
1. if you are planning to stay the entire day at the swimming pool, you might be disappointed since it is quite small.
2. if you are on business trip, you need to know that the internet in the rooms has not the best signal. I solved the problem working from the hotel's restaurant where the waiters gives attention to your needs.
3. Since the hotel is new, few taxi drivers know where it is. I had my share of city tours that week. You should ask the hotel to give you some indications to indicate to the driver where the hotel is.

Overall, a nice stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Sandra H!

We try to show what we are in all our pictures and promotions! I will check the wifi situation with the IT manager, is the first time that we have a problem with the wifi in the hotel.

We hope to see you in our hotel once again

Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel twice while visiting San Jose. On both times we stayed in a handicapped accessible room and we were not disappointed at all. Neither of us are handicapped, but the room layout was spacious. Our rate included breakfast and the food was great. Our breakfast hostess was incredible. She did a fantastic job of training a specially challenged employee and she did it with such genuine and kindness. This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to Downtown. There were several fast food chain restaurants within a 10 minute walk from this hotel. Excellent service from everyone at the hotel; eg, front desk agents, breakfast hostess, bartender, doorman. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks GeminiTraveler

We are glad to read every week posts like yours in our tripadvisor page, we have become one of the favorites hotels in the city, and there is a reason for that, great staff, great rooms, great food and excelent location.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a long overdue review. I stayed at the Park Inn in early August--4 nights at the beginning of my trip and 2 nights at the end. The hotel is new, spotless, nicely furnished and features nice, natural lighting. The mattress was a little firm for my liking but the shower (with consistently hot water) made up for it.

The location is hard to beat. It's a very short walk to the main thoroughfare (Paseo) where buses can be found to reach all areas of the city, yet it's tucked far enough away from Paseo to ensure a quiet night's sleep. For a perspective on location, read other reviews on the very, expensive Gran Oro hotel which is only one block from the Park Inn.

Restaurants, except unsightly U.S. fast-food chains, don't abound within an easy walking distance. A few can be found (i.e. Aqui Es, Gran Oro, and Lubnan) but don't expect great variety without relying on taxis or buses. After long days of sightseeing, we ate dinner at the Park Inn on two occasions. The food was just fine and priced on par with comparable restaurants in San Jose. The complimentary breakfast buffet offers something for everyone: fresh fruit, cheese, baked goods, juice, coffee, gallo pinto, breakfast meats, eggs and a rotation of sides (i.e. potatoes, pancakes, etc.) My only complaint about breakfast was the consistently slow service for coffee refills.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. They helped arrange transportation to the airport, allowed us to park our rental car right by the front door so we could quickly load/unload our bags from/to our room, exchanged small amounts of money each day, and helped us with directions. The most incredible customer service moment, however, was when we returned to the hotel for the second part of our stay. We had a commitment at 11:00 a.m. the morning we returned and had no choice but to deposit our bags at the hotel before that commitment. We didn't expect to be able to check-in but only wanted to leave our bags. When we arrived, they said "No problem" and gave us our room right away! Awesome service!

There is absolutely no doubt that the Park Inn is our permanent hotel of choice when we're in San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Muriel12 !

Is great to read that you had an excelente experience in our hotel, we are always trying to find more ways to please our guests and go an extra mile for every one of our guests.

We are located in a mid escale area of the city that is risign, just this last month 2 upscale restarants open a couple of blocks from the hotel, a European Food Lounge and a Cuban Latin American food.

Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was great and also the service we got from the stuff. The room was very good and clean! We defenatly recommend! The only thing that wasn't 100% was the distance from the center of San Jose... You can get there walking but it's not very close.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks inbarro

We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay with us, every day are more the guests that take Park inn by Radisson San Jose as their new home away from home, and we are always looking forward to improve our service to have even more satisfied guests.

About the distance from Downtown, we are just 2 blocks from Paseo Colon, San Jose Main Avenue, and just 6 blocks from the central avenue, San Jose main shopping district, almost in downtown, so our guests can walk there but still be in a quiet area of the city.

Best Regards

Eduardo Carrasco
Guest Service Manager
Eduardo.carrasco@parkinncostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Property: Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Address: Ave 6, Street 28, San Jose 494-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing