We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Rooms--inconsistent front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Rooms--inconsistent front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Immediately upon check-in I was informed by the "night clerk" that the hotel would HAVE TO charge me for the taxi that did NOT pick me up--my flight was cancelled in Nicaragua--and also for my "city tour" which I did not attend. MY best advice--DON'T BOOK ANYTHING AHEAD OF TIME AT THIS HOTEL!! After haggling with a very gracious head reservations lady, Ester, the next morning, I was gratified to learn that the hotel would NOT be charging me for those lost services, but only after a restless night of worrying and fretting about this unwanted expense.

This hotel is one of those that looks spectacular on the outside with very nice, comfortable, well-appointed rooms. Enjoy the breakfast, but skip the evening restaurant and eat somewhere else; it's not worth the wait or the price. I should have had fair warning when there was only ONE occupied table and it's too dark to read anything, much less the menu!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Guest Relations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are really sorry to read that you have an inconvenience during your stay at the hotel, I will personally check what happened and give you the follow up of your situation,I would like to offer you an apology from all our staff, we are recognize for our excellent service and personalized stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    362
    81
    21
    15
See reviews for
162
339
80
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from a week in Costa Rica. Our last night was spent in thePark Inn. We wanted a nice place to relax in San Jose before our flight back home. Park Inn was a great place to unwind before our flight. The rooms were combfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is quite beautiful, and every employee we came across was helpful.

A few negatives, not to nitpick, but I want to give an honest review. The waitstaff seemed to forget about us. Midway through our meal we ended up with a new waiter, and our dessert order never came. Not a huge deal, as we werent charged for it. He likely just didn't hear us order it. Most of our group worked in hospitality, so we just rolled with it.

The rooms had no coffee. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee. We called the front desk and asked for some, but it never arrived. Ended up just getting our coffee downstairs. Again, not a huge deal.

Last thing, the hallway on the fourth floor had all of the smoke detectors removed. I'm a firefighter, I have a habit of looking for things like that when I enter a building (emergency exits, things of that nature). Get that rectified. That's inexcusable in any hotel, no matter what country. There were spots for the detectors, but they were all removed. There were detectors in the rooms however. Little solice though if there is smoke pouring down the halls and your guests have no means of escape.

All in all the hotel is very beautiful, and we would gladly return on our next trip to Costa RIca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisV7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Director General at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are pleased that you like the property and that you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica.
I want to give you my sincere apologies for the inconveniences occurred during your stay. We work every day to improve our service throughout the hotel and we appreciate your sincere comments that allow us to identify and correct errors, to ensure that they will not happen again. Regarding the smoke detectors I assure you that we are already working on the issue.
We Hope to see welcome you again at Park Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The building is nice.. but the service is not great. I had room service dishes outside my room all day. It took several minutes for the hot water in my shower to come. Worse, I stayed there wanting to sit by the pool, but they closed it for business conferences. Additionally, the pool area doesn't have a towel area and they were brought out as needed. Thethe jacuzzi water was occasionally cold.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsbunnysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Director General at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
I apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We are known for offering a first class and personalized service, and we are concerned for your discontent. We will work on the issue to assure you and our guests a trouble free service on every stay.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here one night before catching a flight out of Costa Rica. After a week in eco lodges, the California King sized bed with crisp bedding and a plasma TV seemed extra luxurious. Kevin at the front desk went above and beyond, helping us make reservations and arranging for taxis. When our first choice for dinner was booked, he recommended another restaurant (Estacion Atocha) which was one of the best meals of the trip. And the noon check out was great for sleeping in before a long day of travel. Great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Day by day we work to provide personalized service, and I am pleased to know that Kevin and our entire staff made ​​your stay pleasant and enjoyable.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your night in San Jose and we hope to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with our three children in two rooms with a connecting door. Rooms are spacoius, staff is attendant and helping, breakfast was diverse enough, the ovrall was wonderful. If I must mention something bad, there are no glasses for brushing your teeth, guess that is because they were opened just one month ago. It was a good start for our CostaRica tour.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the new Park Inn San José, and we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Park inn. Nice, clean, great location, close to everything, Friendly and always willing to help staff, always tried to make us feel like home. Great breakfast with plenty of delicious food. We loved the pool and hot tub with a pina colada from Graffiti Bar, after a work out at the gym. We enjoyed cooffee and tea at the rooms. Park inn in the best place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciacreagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is brand new and the staff is great. Front desk polite and helpful.
Room have a regular size and everything seems fresh.
The highlight is the food. With reasonable prices and very nice attention from restaurant team. They handle very well food allergies. They also bought Lactose Free milk for me during the stay and manage to provide Gluten Free Food. Special thanks to the KITCHEN staff.
Another tip is to have dinner at Gran de Oro restaurant, just across the street with amazing food experience!

Room Tip: If you have food allergies, let them know and they will definitely they care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EduardoStruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia G, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, and our nice views and spacious rooms.
We hope to welcome you very soon at home in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Property: Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Address: Ave 6, Street 28, San Jose 494-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Carlson, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing