We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice reasonable place to stay in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocoon Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice reasonable place to stay in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a great time here and the staff is exceptional! Clean rooms. In a busy part of San Jose but I didn't notice much street noise at night. Great breakfast! We will stay again when we visit San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chewi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrador C, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Greetings.. we really appreciate your comments and feel glad for knowing that we could satisfied your needs, it is good to know that you could appreciate our rooms and enjoyned our breakfast. Of course we will keep our doors open with the good service you deserve for any eventual visit. From Cocoon Staff we wish you the best on your further trips and hope to have you again in our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    105
    76
    29
    24
See reviews for
58
140
74
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

When we pulled up to the Cocoon Hotel we were very worried that the inside would match the outside - it's in a rowdier part of town. Thankfully we were pleasantly surprised, as it was very nice on the inside.

The staff was very nice, and the room was fairly clean. However, because we were in a room that faced the street it was pretty loud. Additionally there was no air conditioning (just an overhead fan) so be forewarned if you need to have a cool room to sleep.

I personally will never stay in San Jose again, but it really had nothing to do with the hotel, I just couldn't get my bearings and it was quite a bit rowdier than I expected it to be.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room that doesn't face the street for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast included in the price of the room was delicious and more than adequate. I would also like to compliment the staff at the front desk. Andrea, a beautiful Costa Rican girl was very helpful, as was Victor Garcia. I don't remember all of their names, but they were all very courteous. There are banks and grocery storers within easy walking distance, as is downtown San Jose. There are also traditional Costa Rican eateries very close. These traditional eateries ("sodas") have delicious food at extremely reasonable prices. Overall, the hotel is unbeatable for a price of $42 per night.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David44207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is clean and very well located ( for those who want to take public bus to the Caribbean coast or the volcanos). We stayed the first night and the last night in this hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. The breakfast is good and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location is not the better in San José, there is risk in the night...Brrr...Booking a room at $50...Ok the bedroom is clean, but without window... I don't understand this design in hotel totally false kitchgreen...Oufff...
Staff very nice...

Room Tip: a room with window ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were dubious about staying here after reading some negative reviews, but were pleasantly surprised!

The man behind the front desk was SO helpful and friendly. When our first room's safe didn't have a key, he immediately gave us another room. Rooms are big and beds very comfy. Yes there is noise but you're in the middle of the city, what do you expect?! Only negative was a damp smell to the room, possibly due to the old building/ lack of ventilation in the bathroom, but really, Who cares?For the price and location it's brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great simple place, with very very helpful staff. Good , again very simple, breakfast. Location is not the best , but is only few minutes from centre. And also not so long drive to the airport. Had little issue with hot water. I would def stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: room 106 is without wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#46 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Property: Cocoon Hotel
Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) And The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); Also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing