We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
237
128
100
44
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
128
100
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk costa rica hot water pura vida enjoyed my stay central location viviana lobby downtown
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 546 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

When we pulled up to the Cocoon Hotel we were very worried that the inside would match the outside - it's in a rowdier part of town. Thankfully we were pleasantly surprised, as it was very nice on the inside.

The staff was very nice, and the room was fairly clean. However, because we were in a room that faced the street it was pretty loud. Additionally there was no air conditioning (just an overhead fan) so be forewarned if you need to have a cool room to sleep.

I personally will never stay in San Jose again, but it really had nothing to do with the hotel, I just couldn't get my bearings and it was quite a bit rowdier than I expected it to be.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room that doesn't face the street for a quieter sleep.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast included in the price of the room was delicious and more than adequate. I would also like to compliment the staff at the front desk. Andrea, a beautiful Costa Rican girl was very helpful, as was Victor Garcia. I don't remember all of their names, but they were all very courteous. There are banks and grocery storers within easy walking distance, as is downtown San Jose. There are also traditional Costa Rican eateries very close. These traditional eateries ("sodas") have delicious food at extremely reasonable prices. Overall, the hotel is unbeatable for a price of $42 per night.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are probably a little quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David44207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is clean and very well located ( for those who want to take public bus to the Caribbean coast or the volcanos). We stayed the first night and the last night in this hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. The breakfast is good and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location is not the better in San José, there is risk in the night...Brrr...Booking a room at $50...Ok the bedroom is clean, but without window... I don't understand this design in hotel totally false kitchgreen...Oufff...
Staff very nice...

Room Tip: a room with window ?
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were dubious about staying here after reading some negative reviews, but were pleasantly surprised!

The man behind the front desk was SO helpful and friendly. When our first room's safe didn't have a key, he immediately gave us another room. Rooms are big and beds very comfy. Yes there is noise but you're in the middle of the city, what do you expect?! Only negative was a damp smell to the room, possibly due to the old building/ lack of ventilation in the bathroom, but really, Who cares?For the price and location it's brilliant!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews