We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for the price! Won't come back.”

La Estancia Argentina
Ranked #438 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Jose
2 reviews
“Not good for the price! Won't come back.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My first impression was not to honing as there was no one there on a Sunday at 1:30 pm however my family and I ventured inside we ordered an apetizier of Argentinian turnovers they were ok but mine was undercooked and cold inside. Then came the entrees a ribeye and the mixed parillada the portions are generous but the meat was very tough and for me over salted. The potato sides were also undercooked almost raw. In general I do not recommend this restaurant which I believe to be overpriced. If you are looking for a good steak stay clear of la estancia and go to el Novillo Alegre instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonewolf697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay away.will be closed in 1 month”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

live entertainment transvestites pissing behind the telephone pole.,hope you get a parking space in front of the place or risk getting mugged.stay away.(my son asked why is the man wearing a dress and squating down behind the light post on the corner) on a sunday night,not a person in the restaraunt.3 choices for drinks,coke,diet coke or club soda.waiter severd us old,used condiments,(with not a person in the restaraunt we atleast expected fresh)we odered 2 appetizers and main courses,after 45 minutes(not a person in the place) we got tired of waiting with nothing to eat and watching trannys, we cancelled the order and ran as fast as we could to our car and drove away fast.dont waste your tme go to another restaraunt,and it was way overpriced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Massive portions, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the 350g rib eye steak with the greek salad to start with. The steak was cooked as ordered, can't fault it at all. Came with wedges, pineapple slice (steak and pineapple..mmmm.. didn't quite work) and a side salad. Big portions really.

The salad... well.. I had to make a comment that the Feta cheese was indeed not said cheese but some grated american medium soft cheese. They took the feedback onboard, but a reduction in bill price would have been appropriate.

The restaurant itself has real character, a really nice place to enjoy dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Good steak, welcoming service.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived late and quite hungry at our hotel after a six hour bus ride from Cahuita. Our hotel called ahead for us and La Estancia Argentina was willing to still serve us. When we arrived at the restaurant all the other guests had already left. We thought it was very nice of the restaurant to still serve us.
We both had a steak and some glasses of red wine. Steak was nicely cooked and the wine went quite well with the food. Especially enjoyed the grilled veggies on the side. Our waiter was very polite and welcoming. Interior of the restaurant is pleasantly decorated, not overdone.
Having diner at La Estancia Argentina was a nice end of a quite hectic evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
“unfriendly service, bad food & expensive - what more can you ask for?”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place was recommended by our Hotel Holiday Inn during our stay in Costa Rica in late June. The steaks were tough, so tough that they were inedible. The food in general was bad and very expensive - US$30 for one steak. The service was quite unfriendly and our friend's meal was also horrible. Avoid this place completely!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAWUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia Argentina also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Estancia Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing