We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant, genuine spot to visit”

Central Market (Mercado Central)
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.00*
and up
San Jose Beer Tasting Tour
Ranked #11 of 119 things to do in San Jose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This collection of stalls and restaurants contains the country's first ice cream vendor.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vibrant, genuine spot to visit”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As we always do when travelling in Latin America, we headed for the central market for grub. Excellent choice: besides its original atmosphere, this maze of alleys pleasantly filled with people / food / clothes / items / paraphernalia was well worth the 30min we spent browsing and lunching.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sconti555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    182
    72
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good to visit for a taste of San Jose”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Definitely interesting to see from a cultural/anthropological perspective, but was finished exploring the market in about 10 minutes. Don't regret having taken the time to go, however, as it was a good experience for my kids to witness the hustle, bustle, cultural flavour and cramped surroundings. Did not find anything interesting to buy aside from a tortilla pan from one of the many kitchen shops (cheap) that my daughter is excited to try.

We parked in a nearby lot. 800 colones per hour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank justkaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cultural Experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Took my wife and 2 boys, ages 9 and 13, to Mercado Central mostly for the cultural experience. It didn't disappoint, but we didn't want to stay long. They had everything: locally made goods, flowers, spices, restaurants, fruits & vegetables, livestock and raw meats. All of these seemed to be divided into sections and it was like walking through a maze of narrow, dark aisleways. Being our first day in Costa Rica, we didn't entirely feel safe or comfortable here. I am sure it is safe, it was just something very different for us. Definitely an experience I don't regret and won't forget.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank landfalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cultural living”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we wanted to know how the people live. and a good way to learn about that was to visit the central market. we did not eat in the little soda's but were almost transported in time while visiting. except for the sporadic novelty markets it was a good visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aggietraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
718 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Since 1880”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I love going to central markets around the world, they always seem to have the best variety of food at reasonable prices. Every time I visit San Jose I always stop at this market. There are many restaurants, so walk around first to see which one to choose.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market (Mercado Central) also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Central Market (Mercado Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing