We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classy, private, with a touch of HOME...what more could you want!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden
Ranked #21 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy, private, with a touch of HOME...what more could you want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My extended visit to Secret Garden was the best ever! The comforts of home, yet complete privacy made my time there totally priceless. The location was superb. Easy access to restaurants, and downtown area, as well as to and from airport. I felt very safe and secure and the host was most gracious. The breakfast was fabulous. I cannot wait to go back! Incredibly awesome place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkymonkey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ric's Secret Garden B&B is an excellent , convenient , affordable and self contained home away from home place! I have never seen a host so pure and honest , very compassionate to serve every one with his genuine friendly, service minded attitude at all times!
It is close to every thing you think of . We stayed on our way to Cahuita and way back to home. He is a dedicated owner/host with his charming and brilliant rescue dog Snickers, who loves ever one ! This place is very affordable , neat, quiet and very comfortable for every one . I strongly suggest this place .

Room Tip: every room is comfortable but we stayed the one near the back yard and close to the kitchen which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ric is fabulous! So funny and charming. His secret Garden is a hidden gem and hid contacts can show you around San Jose. Best bargain around! I am going back at Christmas time will be my third stay with secret Garden! !!! Breakfast is delicious and you are within walking distance to a great restaurant. You should go!! Ric can hook you up for sight seeing too. The volcano is nearby and the beaches are about three hours away...both Pacific and carribean oceans. The secret Garden website is easy to use.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshaArden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILLBROOK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This sweet oasis in a hectic city is a delight to which I'll travel every time I'm in San Jose. In December I'll return for my fifth stay. Ric is an unique host who quickly eases every guest, if they are open to the experience, into a comfortable vibe that encircles the Secret Garden. And the garden is a delight. I have an entire folder of images on my computer. Comfortable rooms, welcoming genuine folks and a constant smile/laugh always draws me back.

Brian, Canada

Room Tip: If there is space grab it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cangrejo, Panama, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Going to Ric’s Bed and Breakfast, The Secret Garden, is like going to a friend’s house. From the time you arrive, Ric makes you feel like family, and he means it! I have stayed there many times, and it is always a treat. I enjoy sitting in his awesome backyard, especially for breakfast when the sun comes out, it is a special moment. The rooms are great, and the property being situated in a residential area, tranquility is guaranteed! The public bus runs right in front of the property so you can be downtown in about 15 minutes. Ric has now lived in Costa Rica for many years, so he will provide you with all the information you may need to make your trip memorable, and his taxi driver Manuel is a gem. If you ever go to San Jose, the Secret Garden is really the place to stay at, in my own humble opinion. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm afraid if too many people find out about it, he won't have room for me! My trip to Costa Rica for dental work (which might have been miserable) was made wonderful by my stay at Ric's Secret Garden. As a single woman traveling alone, I was looking for a place to stay that was not only close to my dentist, but also where I would be safe. Not only did I feel safe at the Secret Garden, I feel like I have found a second home. At my first dentist appointment, Ric got on the bus with me, rode to my dentist office and showed me where to get off, and made sure I knew how to get back. I was as comfortable riding that bus as I would have been in my home town! This saved me a lot of money in taxi fares. The rooms are spotless, restful and private, and Irma made every effort to accommodate my special diet. Ric, Irma, Ken, and the other guests and friends I met there, (Snicker too!), are now considered family, and I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my first stay at Secret Garden. When I met Ric, I felt like I had known him all my life. He is a great host with wonderful stories and obviously just loves what he does. The room was well appointed and the garden enchanting. Even the dog Snickers is part of the home-like atmosphere. There was an ample traditional breakast in the garden in the morning with plenty of fresh Costa Rican coffee to get your day started. Ric puts you right at ease and you just cannot help but feel comfortable and at home. The neighborhood is quiet and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and downtown is a $5 taxi ride away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#28 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Lima B & B
Casa Lima B & B
#3 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tierra Magica
Tierra Magica
#3 of 16 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laurin B&B
Casa Laurin B&B
#1 of 4 in San Rafael de Escazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: #14 Rohrmoser Blvd | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 2 room bed and breakfast located centrally located to San Jose centre, & Pavas Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing