We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Smartest Hotel Option for San José”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your Smartest Hotel Option for San José”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is simply an excellent hotel to choose if you're in San José, and I stay here every time I come to Costa Rica. The location is perfect (very centric), the tropical landscaping and outdoor pool are wonderful, and the prices are more than reasonable for a hotel of this quality. Above all, the staff is friendly, attentive, and will go out of their way to help you. Those touches really put this place over the top for me and I highly recommend this to any traveler in Costa Rica.

And unlike some other inexperienced customer of this hotel has written, the rooms are exceptionally clean, and all of the facilities in the hotel are sanitary.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
22
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Hello, we checked into the El Sesteo last night after a very long flight from Canada...the staff were nice and though the rooms were pretty worn and tired it would have been okay...except that when my friend and I looked at the mattress we saw little brown bugs in the crevices! We know what bedbugs look like and that's what they were. We immediately removed our suitcases - unfortunately the desk clerk could not see any when we went back - we had left the lights on and the bugs were nowhere to be seen. He did not take this very seriously. I hope they check them again and so something about it. I would hate for someone to stay there and take those things home with them.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aprilnightrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I stayed in Apartotel La Sabana, Apartotel Christina, and El Sesteo. All three hotels are clean, and have a very good customer service. Apartotels La Sabana and Christina located on the north side of La Sabana Park, and El Sesteo located on the south side. Apartotel La Sabana was probably my favorite, I loved a pretty pool area, and strong Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. Apartotel Christina rooms are a little fancier, with a newer furniture; but pool is small, shallow, and not very good looking. El Sesteo has an unbeatable location, just a half block away from the dental offices, and is very popular just for this reason. I stayed in the room with kitchen, facing somewhat busy street, with traffic beeping noises starting early in the morning. I did not have a WiFi connection in my room. There is a single wireless router located by the pool area, and it does not reach to most of the rooms, but they also have three computers for a free use. The beds are not very comfortable, but not horrible. Breakfast is pretty good. McDonald's is only a block away, and there are a few other restaurants near by, try Tacos and fruit plate in Soda by McDonalds, it is very good. Overall, I would stay there again, because of close proximity to the dental office, clean rooms, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

San Jose is a terrible city, avoid it as much as possible. Even if you are able to stay in one of the suburbs just outside the city you will be much better off. However, unfortunatly it is difficult to avoid the city all together since a lot of tours are based out of San jose and if you have business, as we did, then you most likely need to be in the city. This hotel has beautiful grounds and the staff is great. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a little on the sketchy side but I beleive the rest make up for it. Finding a reasonably priced hotel in San jose with a pool can be difficult. This one has a pool, hot tub, lots of free internet, and a great free breakfast. Most people seemed to be business travellers or vacationers using it as a home base. It's perfect for both.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstptravln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floirda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

My friend and I stayed for two weeks at The Apartotel Sesteo. The reason for our visit was for dental work in San Jose. The Hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport. We stayed in one of the rooms with the kitchen & living area. About the Hotel we found the grounds very lovely and very tropical. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, watching HBO in the room & the Wi Fi free internet and not to mention we had constant use of hot water. We found the staff here pleasant and helpful. The neighborhood is safe, taxi’s are plentiful (only use red taxi with yellow triangle on them.) There is also secured covered parking available if you have a rental car. Several restaurants are within walking distance. El Sesteo also provides a free delicious breakfast every morning. We would stay here again if I returned to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I live in Costa Rica and have to go to San Jose on a more-or-less-frequent basis. Whenever I am there I make sure to stay at the El Sesteo - after several bad experiences I've finally found a clean, accessible, friendly and reasonable place to stay in downtown San Jose.
It is located in a quiet area close to the Sabana-Park, still you can even walk to the hustle and bustle of the city-center (it's about 10-15 mins to the Coca Cola Bus terminal) or easily take a taxi - there is a taxi-stop about 100 feet from the hotel entrance.

There are different room categories - more basic ones with private bathroom or apartment-style ones with a separate kitchen area.

The hotel has a pool, secured parking, they will store your luggage and a decent breakfast is included in the room rate.

For the fast-food lovers there is a McDonald's, a Campesino and a chicken place just up the street.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TalitaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

The purpose of my visit was to have dental work done. I chose this property because of its close proximity to the oral surgeon's office, but the location would be convenient enough for others visiting San Jose. There is a small, pretty, lushly landscaped pool area. A good, hearty breakfast is included in the room rate. I had a small standard room. The room - while basic - was impeccably clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I considered this property a great value.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — Really had no meaningful dislikes
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#40 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cacts
Hotel Cacts
#48 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#37 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel

Property: Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel
Address: Sabana sur, 150 meters south from the Libreria Universal, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel offers the service of lodging to companies, institutions and public in general in a familiar atmosphere, executive and secure. You will be able to make your plans of work and personal order. Near to interest places such as: Airports, Banks, commercial zones and at just 5 minutes of San Jose downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel El Sesteo Hotel San Jose
Soluxe El Sesteo Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing